We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everyone here greets you with a smile!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 South Camino del Rio, Durango, CO 81303   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 30 hotels in Durango
Arlington Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Everyone here greets you with a smile!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I really loved this hotel. The breakfast was typical but with extras and the lady that fixed breakfast was always chipper and made sure eveything was clean and stocked. The beds are super comfy with down comforters and extra pillows. This hotel was super clean, super friendly and every single person was really helpful. I had ask for a great place to take some pics and the front desk lady admitted she had only been there for 3 weeks but by the time I loaded my bags and turned in my key she had some suggestions that turned out great for me. The walls are a little thin so if you have loud neighbors....for me kids, you can hear them. However I really liked this hotel and will return again.

Room Tip: I might ask to have a room that is not next to one with a baby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your recent comments on your stay with us.
We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything from our friendly staff to our super clean rooms. We strive to be the best and it is very rewarding when our guests tell us we have succeeded. Thank you for your compliments and I will be sure to share your satisfaction with all our staff.
We are glad you will stay with us again and look forward to continually providing you with outstanding service and accommodations.
Best regards,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    141
    65
    16
    7
See reviews for
130
137
24
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I've been living in hotels for the last six weeks. Half of them were below par but Comfort Inn in Durango had clean rooms, big rooms!, and modern amenities. I was very happy with the price for what you get. I stayed at several hotels in Durango and to be honest this hotel delivered more for the dollar than any of them. Staff was professional and courteous. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: I don't know what rooms were better. I was on the main highway and it was very quite at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are so pleased to hear that your stay with us was so enjoyable. Our professional and courteous staff take great pride in making everyone's stay the best it can possibly be and your kind compliments are encouragement to them that they are doing a good job.
We hope that you will stay with us again soon and allow us to continue to provide you with the great service you experienced the first time.
Thank you,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mosca, CO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We were very disappointed a second year staying at this hotel because of the indoor pool being closed for "chemical issues". Last year in March we stayed here and were told the pool was closed because of chemical problems. Otherwise the staff was very nice and the property was clean, so we booked again this year for a December stay. When we arrived, there was a sign at the front desk, which was not simply a temporary type sign, saying the pool was closed until further notice. The clerk said the problem was due to chemicals. We had specifically booked a hotel with an indoor pool and would have stayed elsewhere had we been advised prior to our stay. Later in the evening, we encountered workers staining the deck of the pool (and the odor was tremendous). Very disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent visit. Please accept my most sincere apologies for your disappointment. We try very hard to do upgrades and repairs to the property as quickly as possible to avoid disappointment by our guests. Being open 365 days a year, I'm sure you can understand that these things do have to be done sometime. It is very unfortunate that both times you visited you had to encounter work being done on our pool area.
We did recently put in new cement and plaster finish on our pool and we did need to have it out of service to allow time for the work and then time for the chemicals to be brought back to the proper levels before opening it to our guests.
I am very sorry for the inconvenience to you and your family.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future, so that we can offer you a better stay next time.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Room was very clean. My only complaint is the strong smell of paint initially but everything is nice looking. Beds were ok. Not the most comfortable but better then most. Very friendly staff and a beautiful view of some mountains out our window. Clean... good breakfast bar too

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice comments regarding your recent stay.
We try very hard to make everyone's stay enjoyable. We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced regarding the slight paint smell, but hope that the resulting improvements make up for it.
Our friendly, courteous staff look forward to serving you again on your next stay in beautiful Durango!
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Good place to stay for the price. Nice overall style, new soft beds, nice indoor pool. Staff could be more friendly and housekeeping could be a tad bit better but overall, good place to stay for family fun.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback on areas we need to improve on.
We will strive to make your next visit even better.
Thank you,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I had a great 6 days stay at Comfort inn & Suites, Everyone at the hotel was fantastic all new bedding ,new mattresses and excellent breakfast all you can ask for it.
its a very clean hotel, so many amenities for a business and family and get treated like a king.i would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review. We very much appreciate and value your feedback.
Your compliments will serve as encouragement to all of our staff. It is with great pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay . Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I have stayed here once, and it was fine. Like any other standard run of the mill generic American hotel room.

I was scheduled to do business in the area when the Government decided to shut down. Because congress did not get their act together in time, the trip I was scheduled for was cancelled. I cancelled my hotel room here the day of the reservation. I cancelled and was told I would be charged a portion of the amount of the room. This was acceptable as the room was held for me. They did not state it would be 100% of the room cost.

What was not acceptable was the $105 I was charged. When I called about this the first time, nobody returned my call to address my concern. After calling a second time, I was told that this was their policy - to charge the full amount despite the fact I did not stay at the location.I turned the complaint over to the Better Business Bureau. The BBB attempted multiple contacts without any response.

The company has unethical business practices and would not recommend the place to anyone. I feel this money was stolen from me without apology.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Please allow me to apologize for the lack of a timely response regarding your concerns. It is very important for us to acknowledge and respond to all our guests regardless of complaint or compliment and so I am sorry that you were dissatisfied with the response time you received.
While I understand your frustration with our policy of a 24 hour cancellation, I would like you to understand that like most hotels we must have a form of guarantee that the guest will show up and pay for the room that we are holding for them. The amount charged was no more than the rate at which you booked your room. I am very sorry that there was a misunderstanding about the amount you would be charged. On our website where your reservation was booked, it states that if you do not cancel your reservation by the cancellation deadline, your credit card will be charged one night's stay. This guarantee policy must be checked that you understand and agree to the terms before you can confirm your reservation.
I understand that the GM has been in contact with you to resolve this issue and we extend our wishes for you to stay with us on your next visit to Durango and allow us to provide you with exceptional service and great accommodations.
Thank you,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado

Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Durango, Colorado Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn And Suites Durango, Colorado Hotel
Comfort Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
Durango Comfort Inn
Address: 455 South Camino del Rio, Durango, CO 81303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW POOL, FINNISH SAUNA & RENOVATED ROOMS. Welcome to the Award Winning Comfort Inn & Suites Hotel located in picturesque Durango. Those searching for Durango Hotels choose the Comfort Inn & Suites because of our warm accommodations, friendly service and all the beautiful Durango attractions which are nearby such as the historical town center offering a wide array of dining, shopping, the famous D&S Narrow Gauge Railroad, and the Animas River Walk. Durango is a town rich in history with breathtaking views of the San Juan Mountains. Winter activities are abundant at the Durango Mountain Purgatory ski area. Durango was recently voted Best Colorado Ski Big Town. Durango is famous for its fantastic summer recreation such as hiking, mountain biking, river rafting, jeep tours, horseback riding, and fishing. Durango was also recently voted Best River Town in America. Other nearby points of interest are the Mesa Verde National Park (a UNESCO World Heritage Site), Sky Ute Casino and Fort Lewis College. Our Durango hotel is a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2013, 2012, & 2011. The Durango Lift stops within 200 feet of the hotel for easy and convenient access throughout Durango. Full-service hotel amenities and features include the following: • NEW Indoor heated pool & SAUNA • Free high-speed Internet access • Free local calls • Business center • Air conditioned exercise facility Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! Business travelers staying at this Durango, CO hotel will find the Business Center with copy and fax services useful. All spacious guest rooms are equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and 32-inch televisions with cable, including movie channels. A guest laundry facility is located on the premises for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.