We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very happy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado to your Saves list
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 South Camino del Rio, Durango, CO 81303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very happy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

Room was very clean. My only complaint is the strong smell of paint initially but everything is nice looking. Beds were ok. Not the most comfortable but better then most. Very friendly staff and a beautiful view of some mountains out our window. Clean... good breakfast bar too

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice comments regarding your recent stay.
We try very hard to make everyone's stay enjoyable. We do apologize for the inconvenience you experienced regarding the slight paint smell, but hope that the resulting improvements make up for it.
Our friendly, courteous staff look forward to serving you again on your next stay in beautiful Durango!
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

505 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    182
    84
    23
    13
See reviews for
178
187
30
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, Colorado, Usa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Good place to stay for the price. Nice overall style, new soft beds, nice indoor pool. Staff could be more friendly and housekeeping could be a tad bit better but overall, good place to stay for family fun.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent visit to our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciate your feedback on areas we need to improve on.
We will strive to make your next visit even better.
Thank you,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

I had a great 6 days stay at Comfort inn & Suites, Everyone at the hotel was fantastic all new bedding ,new mattresses and excellent breakfast all you can ask for it.
its a very clean hotel, so many amenities for a business and family and get treated like a king.i would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review. We very much appreciate and value your feedback.
Your compliments will serve as encouragement to all of our staff. It is with great pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay . Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be even more pleasant than the previous one.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

I have stayed here once, and it was fine. Like any other standard run of the mill generic American hotel room.

I was scheduled to do business in the area when the Government decided to shut down. Because congress did not get their act together in time, the trip I was scheduled for was cancelled. I cancelled my hotel room here the day of the reservation. I cancelled and was told I would be charged a portion of the amount of the room. This was acceptable as the room was held for me. They did not state it would be 100% of the room cost.

What was not acceptable was the $105 I was charged. When I called about this the first time, nobody returned my call to address my concern. After calling a second time, I was told that this was their policy - to charge the full amount despite the fact I did not stay at the location.I turned the complaint over to the Better Business Bureau. The BBB attempted multiple contacts without any response.

The company has unethical business practices and would not recommend the place to anyone. I feel this money was stolen from me without apology.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest,
Please allow me to apologize for the lack of a timely response regarding your concerns. It is very important for us to acknowledge and respond to all our guests regardless of complaint or compliment and so I am sorry that you were dissatisfied with the response time you received.
While I understand your frustration with our policy of a 24 hour cancellation, I would like you to understand that like most hotels we must have a form of guarantee that the guest will show up and pay for the room that we are holding for them. The amount charged was no more than the rate at which you booked your room. I am very sorry that there was a misunderstanding about the amount you would be charged. On our website where your reservation was booked, it states that if you do not cancel your reservation by the cancellation deadline, your credit card will be charged one night's stay. This guarantee policy must be checked that you understand and agree to the terms before you can confirm your reservation.
I understand that the GM has been in contact with you to resolve this issue and we extend our wishes for you to stay with us on your next visit to Durango and allow us to provide you with exceptional service and great accommodations.
Thank you,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busselton
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed three nights and on check-in found the greeting to be friendly and helpful,the room
was clean and comfortable.the was below expectations Location is great for travel to Mesa Verde,
Silverton and Durango

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review. We are very pleased that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful and enjoyed our clean, comfortable rooms.
We hope that you will stay with us again on your next visit to beautiful Durango Colorado.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightwood, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Average may a bit generous. I gave the Comfort Inn & Suites a second chance after a disappointing stay 5 months ago. The details being not tended, are in upkeep. 1 maintenance guy with a screwdriver and some putty could do a lot of good here. The shower curtain was sagging so the bathroom door would not open all the way and had now bent the rod. The door stop for the room door was missing leaving a sharp edged metal plate exposed. There were unfilled screw anchors in the wall from some abandoned something. The mini fridge was so loud and whiny that I had to unplug it to sleep. The side entry door, the one nearest my room had the electric lock fail. I reported this to the desk at 6 am and left for the day returning at 6 pm certain that twelve hours was enough time to correct it. Wrong. Told the same employee at the desk it was still not working and he just then went to check on it. It was corrected shortly after so it was a simple fix. The hot tub listed as an amenity....is gone. It has been removed t install a sauna in it's place. The hotel info should state this NOW as I would not have booked had I known this. And the food at the breakfast buffet which reported has being bad back in June, has not improved. The sausage is rubbery, the gravy is gray and the coffee pump pots have been replaced with a machine that is not an improvement. The free breakfast is so bad that I opt to go pay for one at one of the many fine breakfast spots in town. There is also now a card on the desk threatening a charge if linens are missing. Since the bath towels have the feel of those course sand paper towels we had in high school gym, I can't believe many are being stolen. And speaking of the desk, many hotels now have a desk style adjustable swivel chair for using a computer at a comfortable height. Not here. There are many better places to stay in Durango.

Room Tip: Choose one somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am very distressed that you were so disappointed in your recent stay with us.
On behalf of our entire staff I want to offer my apologies for the issues you encountered that caused your dissatisfaction.
Our maintenance department is usually very prompt in attending to any issues that arise and so I am very sorry that there was a lack of communication between the FD and that department regarding your request. We always try our best to address these problems in a timely manner and you should not have had to be inconvenienced by this error on our part.
In regards to our hot tub, we are upgrading our pool room with a new, roomy, modern sauna in the place of the hot tub. All mention of and advertising for the hot tub has been removed from our website and has been gone for several months. No mention of a hot tub as an amenity is listed anywhere on our Choice Hotel site, so I apologize if you did not realize this had changed since your last visit.
Most of our guests really enjoy our hot complimentary breakfast as we offer many choices to please everyone. I am very sorry you did not enjoy it.
Thank you again for your opinions and comments. We will use your feedback to work on areas where we need to improve.
I hope all your future travels are satisfactory.
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

i paid for my room in advance on the choice hotel website, and when I got to the location they took my card for incidentals. I said on Friday & Saturday night, the 8 & 9 of November. On November 12 they ran my debit card again and basically double charged me. I politily called them which took several days of calling to get to the general manager Acbar. I finally spoke to him on Nov 15 and said he would call me back this was a Friday. Then on Tuesday of the following week I was advised by his front desk manager to call Choice Hotels Corp and file a compliant. The hotel would have three days to call me. He did not call but sent an email that did not address the issue, and then he said basically because the were nice they would we refund me one nights stay. YOU WILL GET THE RUN AROUND. Besides that the hotel smelled like clorine through out from the pool. They did not come clean my room until about 3:30 on Saturday. Price was cheap but you get what you paid for. DON"T USE A CREDIT CARD

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to alert us to the situation you recently encountered at our hotel.
While we do attempt to make everyone's stay as smooth and flawless as possible, sometimes we do make errors as we are only human.
Please accept my apologies for the inconveniences you encountered and your disappointment with the responses you received.
I am very sorry for the problems you encountered when using your debit card for your stay. The second charge to your card appears to have been for a second reservation in our system that was not cancelled. I understand that this was an error and no fault of yours, so I apologize again that that second charge appeared and you did not receive a timely resolution to this error.
I understand that the charge has now been reversed and I hope you will accept our sincere apologies for all the trouble this may have caused you. This is not the norm for us and we hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future to allow us to serve you better.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado

Address: 455 South Camino del Rio, Durango, CO 81303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durango
#8 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#8 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW POOL, FINNISH SAUNA & RENOVATED ROOMS. Welcome to the Award Winning Comfort Inn & Suites Hotel located in picturesque Durango. Those searching for Durango Hotels choose the Comfort Inn & Suites because of our warm accommodations, friendly service and all the beautiful Durango attractions which are nearby such as the historical town center offering a wide array of dining, shopping, the famous D&S Narrow Gauge Railroad, and the Animas River Walk. Durango is a town rich in history with breathtaking views of the San Juan Mountains. Winter activities are abundant at the Durango Mountain Purgatory ski area. Durango was recently voted Best Colorado Ski Big Town. Durango is famous for its fantastic summer recreation such as hiking, mountain biking, river rafting, jeep tours, horseback riding, and fishing. Durango was also recently voted Best River Town in America. Other nearby points of interest are the Mesa Verde National Park (a UNESCO World Heritage Site), Sky Ute Casino and Fort Lewis College. Our Durango hotel is a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2014, 2013, 2012, & 2011. The Durango Lift stops within 200 feet of the hotel for easy and convenient access throughout Durango. Full-service hotel amenities and features include the following: Newly Installed State of the Art Dual Band WiFi System with a fast 100/20 3 ISP Broadband Connection. • NEW Indoor heated pool & SAUNA • Free high-speed Internet access • Free local calls • Business center • Air conditioned exercise facility Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle and pancake flavors! Business travelers staying at this Durango, CO hotel will find the Business Center with copy and fax services useful. All spacious guest rooms are equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and 32-inch televisions with cable, including movie channels. A guest laundry facility is located on the premises for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Durango, Colorado Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
Durango Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.