We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smooth Details” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 South Camino del Rio, Durango, CO 81303   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 30 hotels in Durango
Durango, Colorado
1 review
“Smooth Details”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

From the well-lit parking lot forward, this property has been a completely smooth experience. The front desk receptionist Marley, was clear-eyed and focused, adjusting to my request for change in my reservation without a hesitation while the lobby filled with the evening's guests. The room was spacious and the air fresh. The business center was equipped with arthritic computers, but everything worked, and there were the small necessities that I am always looking for.... post-its, paper clips and stapler ready at hand. This hotel made business in Durango very seamless.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. We are so very pleased that everything from our friendly, knowledgeable staff; fresh, spacious rooms and complimentary well stocked business center met all of your needs and made your stay smooth and enjoyable.
We hope you will stay with us again the next time you are in beautiful Durango Colorado on business or for pleasure.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

406 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    158
    71
    16
    9
See reviews for
143
150
26
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marysville, Washington
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Due mainly to a combination of price and trip advisor ratings, plus a little bit of consideration to location, I chose this hotel for our stay in Durango while we went on the Durango and Silverton.

I went to check in and met of the friendly desk staff, Marley, if I remember correctly. She was polite, efficient and friendly. As she was quickly checking me in, a sports team, I am assuming football, pulled up in 2 busses from Colorado Mesa University. "Oh-no," I thought. I had flashbacks to my horrible experience of college students taking over the Holiday Inn Riverview in Charleston, South Carolina.

We went up too our nicely lit room. The sink had a nice counter top. The shower flow was interesting. A low flow setting that was inadequate. Another odd setting, and then a blast in a stream. It wasn't horrible, but I have had better. No problem to get hot water. The room was big. It had a microwave, fridge and tons of electrical outlets. The edges of the room needed better vacuuming, as evidence by detritis and nail clippings.

The pool is quite small. I was disappointed the hot tub was apparently out of service. The pool area was dark.

They had coffee out at night and we spoke a little more with the friendly check in lady.

In the morning we enjoyed the hot breakfast with biscuits and gravy, eggs, waffles, yogurt, etc..

What a relieve and thanks to the Colorado Mesa University team that they were quiet respectful guests that did nothing to deter from our stay.

I alerted the front desk men to the need for better vacuuming in the room. I received an apology. I told them no apology was needed, but I would appreciate if the maid service could please take care of the issue.

We returned from our trip on the Durango and Silverton narrow gage RR and the room still needed a good vacuuming.

Another girls sports team had taken up residence which clogged the breakfast area.

Check out was quick the following day.

A cleaner room would have rated this place an above average rating. For the price, I was a little disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review and comments. We appreciate your willingness to share your experience and allow us to use your feedback to address any problems.
Please accept my most sincere apologies for any issues you encountered with housekeeping. We have addressed this with our staff and will work on making it top priority for a 100% clean and fresh room for each and every one of our guests.
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast and were able to provide you with a quiet and restful stay even though we were quite busy at that time with large groups. We strive to make every stay enjoyable so please be assured that we will do our best to rectify the issues you encountered. We hope you will choose us again on your next stay in Durango.
Thank you,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Located just outside of downtown so near the train station and downtown eating. Our room was clean and comfortable. The handicap room for our relatives was small but the bathroom was large and easy access to the parking lot. The motel looked newer which was also nice.

Room Tip: We had an upper level room at the back of the motel so nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thanks very much for taking the time to let us and others know about your recent stay. We are so glad you found your room to be clean and comfortable. Our convenient location does allow all our guests to enjoy the downtown atmosphere and dining while still far enough away to enjoy a peaceful, quiet night.
We hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

This hotel was very nice. Minor problem at check-in...was told two of my rooms were adjoining, but they were not. Offer was made for other rooms that were adjoining but they were on second floor, so opted to stay in original room (116). One light fixture did not work...oops, forgot to tell them. Breakfast was good, but no meat. Remedied that by buying microwave sausage and bringing it to the breakfast room. Location was about a mile from town, but a very easy drive. Hotel was attractive and clean. Enjoyed using the breakfast room for game/card playing in the evenings with family. Hot tub was closed. Felt completely safe. Would definitely choose this hotel again. Friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your recent stay. We appreciate your compliments and comments. We will use your valued opinion to address any issues noted as well as compliment our friendly, helpful staff for providing such great service. It is rewarding to hear that you enjoyed our attractive and clean hotel and our complimentary hot breakfast. We are glad you felt completely safe and will choose our hotel again for your next stay in beautiful Durango Colorado.
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have stayed at this motel before, that is the reason we stayed this time. Motel is clean, rooms are nice, beds are comfortable and the breakfast is great. I'm sure we will stay here again on our next trip to Durango.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is great to receive your review about your recent stay at our hotel. We are so pleased that you are a repeat guest and that your satisfaction and praise of our clean rooms, comfortable beds and great hot breakfast will keep you coming back.
We appreciate your continued business and look forward to serving you in the future!
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. We couldn't have been more pleased with our stay. Ordell, at the front desk, was there 2 of the 3 nights. He was AWESOME!! The first night we got there, it was quite busy. Ordell was working fast paced and efficiently and was sure to be sure everybody was being taken care of. He achieved this! I know he was doing his" job", but it really is hard to find good help these days. And even harder to find people that care :) We talked to Ordells manager the next day, the general manager. He is very pleasant and a Hard worker.. He is there ALL of the time. We saw him several times, morning and night. I believe after talking with the general manager, they are striving to be the best stay in town. They have our vote! We will definitely be back!!!
*The third night, the gentleman at the desk was also friendly, didn't catch his name.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us and others know about your recent stay at our hotel. It is wonderful to hear from our customers that we are doing a good job and appreciate your kind words of praise. We are so happy to hear that we have your vote for the best stay in Durango and look forward to serving you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Great staff! Jessica the assistant manager is AWESOME! She works really hard to accommodate nit pickers who are NEVER happy! (You know who you are!) Donna who takes care of breakfast is the best I've ever seen! The new manager, Akbar is working hard to update and improve everything! I recommend this place highly and I'm NOT on the payroll.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your recent review of our hotel. It is with great pleasure that we receive your appreciation and compliments to our managers and staff. We work very hard to provide every guest with a wonderful stay and on behalf of everyone here at the Durango Comfort Inn, we thank you for your recognition.
We look forward to your next stay!
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado

Address: 455 South Camino del Rio, Durango, CO 81303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
#6 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#8 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW POOL, FINNISH SAUNA & RENOVATED ROOMS. Welcome to the Award Winning Comfort Inn & Suites Hotel located in picturesque Durango. Those searching for Durango Hotels choose the Comfort Inn & Suites because of our warm accommodations, friendly service and all the beautiful Durango attractions which are nearby such as the historical town center offering a wide array of dining, shopping, the famous D&S Narrow Gauge Railroad, and the Animas River Walk. Durango is a town rich in history with breathtaking views of the San Juan Mountains. Winter activities are abundant at the Durango Mountain Purgatory ski area. Durango was recently voted Best Colorado Ski Big Town. Durango is famous for its fantastic summer recreation such as hiking, mountain biking, river rafting, jeep tours, horseback riding, and fishing. Durango was also recently voted Best River Town in America. Other nearby points of interest are the Mesa Verde National Park (a UNESCO World Heritage Site), Sky Ute Casino and Fort Lewis College. Our Durango hotel is a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2013, 2012, & 2011. The Durango Lift stops within 200 feet of the hotel for easy and convenient access throughout Durango. Full-service hotel amenities and features include the following: • NEW Indoor heated pool & SAUNA • Free high-speed Internet access • Free local calls • Business center • Air conditioned exercise facility Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! Business travelers staying at this Durango, CO hotel will find the Business Center with copy and fax services useful. All spacious guest rooms are equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and 32-inch televisions with cable, including movie channels. A guest laundry facility is located on the premises for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Durango, Colorado Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
Durango Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.