We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious room!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 South Camino del Rio, Durango, CO 81303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Sapulpa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Spacious room!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

A king room with tub/shower, microwave, refrigerator and good wireless. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. Housekeeping was good; the front desk friendly and helpful and the breakfast was ok. The attendant in the breakfast area tried hard and was friendly. It was a little pricey ($100 plus wirh discount). Probably would look for something a little different if we stayed a few days again. Just passing through I would stay here again. Location is good.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay. We are so pleased that you found the spacious room you stayed in to have all of the amenities needed to enjoy your visit. All of our helpful and friendly staff do their best to make your stay effortless and enjoyable. Thank you for acknowledging their efforts as it is always nice to be recognized for a job well done. We are also glad to hear that you will stay with us again when passing this way. We hope to be able to serve you again soon.
Thank you,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    165
    78
    20
    10
See reviews for
158
160
26
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Aspen, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This Comfort Inn is totally non smoking and levees a stiff $150.00 penalty for any smoking infractions. The property is well located 1.5 miles from downtown and is quiet as well. The included breakfast was a real eggs and biscuits, feral, fruit, yogurt, cereal and pastry breakfast. Staff was helpful and overall, I would stay there again. Pool is mediocre.

Room Tip: Stayed on the backside, no road noise, but parking lot view not so great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review. We are very glad you enjoyed our 100% smoke free hotel. We feel that the fee we must impose for infractions is a effective deterrent to some who do not want to follow the rules. Our guests pay for a smoke free room and we want to ensure a clean, fresh room to each and every one.
We are happy you found our quiet hotel conveniently located from downtown and enjoyed our wonderful complimentary hot breakfast. I am sorry to hear that you did not feel our pool was adequate for your needs. We do offer an indoor heated pool that is open each day from 9 am to 10 pm. Many of our guests enjoy a refreshing swim before or after the days activities. We hope you will visit us again in the near future.
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Mo
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed here three days. It is near downtown, near the park along the river where many are eating or running the path, near the road to Mesa Verde as well as San Juan Parkway to Silverton. It is a large hotel. Our room was on 3rd floor in the back. Although the view was nothing, it was quiet and we slept well. The room was clean and had refrigerator and microwave and large bathroom. Our breakfast was ample daily and some different items each day. The clerks were so helpful with places to eat and directions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your recent review. We are thrilled to receive your 5 star rating and so happy that all of our accommodations including our clean, quiet rooms, amenities, complimentary hot breakfast and our close location to all of Durango's great attractions met all of your needs. We are very proud of our friendly and knowledgeable staff who take pride in their work.
We hope that you will return to Durango soon and allow us to serve you again.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was fine with large rooms and comfortable beds and it was very quiet so I had an excellent nights sleep. However the breakfast was nothing special(I have had better at an econolodge) and it was far from town and impossible to walk anywhere from.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our comfortable, quiet hotel and had an excellent nights sleep. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy our complimentary hot breakfast. We get many great compliments on our breakfast as we provide a large variety of hot and cold items to choose from and usually pleases everyone's tastes. We are conveniently located a little over a mile from the downtown historic area of Durango and within walking or driving distance to most of the areas main attractions. We have many guest who enjoy the "River Walk" that begins near the hotel and goes almost all the way through the town of Durango. We hope that you will visit beautiful Durango Colorado again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were here for 3 nights and found the place clean, comfortable and front desk staff were very friendly. The pool and hot tub were a bonus after a day out walking and touring. The walk in to town was great running along side the river. Only downside is the size and layout of the breakfast area - just a bit small. The lady (didn't get her name) who was on duty in the breakfast area on the Wednesday morning (9/25) was a breath of fresh air with her friendliness and smiles

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so pleased to receive your very nice review of our hotel. It is very rewarding to hear that you enjoyed all we offer including our clean, comfortable rooms and friendly staff. I am glad you appreciated and enjoyed the walk to downtown Durango as it is a beautiful and refreshing River Walk. Our wonderful complimentary hot breakfast is served by a caring and attentive staff and we are glad you were able to experience their dedication. Thank you for mentioning them as it is always nice to be praised for a job well done.
We look forward to your next stay.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

You're 2 minutes from the road to Mesa Verde National Park. The rooms here are clean, breakfast is what you'd expect, service is good. It's a 5-10 minute drive into old town Durango, with many interesting shops & restaurants. The elevator & room doors are indoors.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back get less road noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review. We are so pleased that you found our rooms to be clean and enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast and great customer service. Durango offers a wide variety of fun activities and attractions and we are conveniently located near everything including the road to beautiful Mesa Verde National Park.
We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.
Thank you,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

From the moment we arrived we knew we were in the right place. Ordell and Lexi helped us with our accommodations (though there were only 2 rooms left). Both of them were gracious beyond words. The spa and pool were refreshing and the room was spotless! When we went to the front desk to ask a few more questions - Ordell really helped us navigate the area. I highly recommend this hotel. It is quiet and comfortable. Looking forward to what looks to be an amazing hot breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review and kind compliments to our gracious and caring staff. We appreciate you taking the time to let us know that you enjoyed your stay and were happy with our spotless rooms, pool & spa and I have no doubt you enjoyed our wonderful complimentary hot breakfast as well.
We hope you will stay with us again very soon and give us the opportunity to continue to provide you with the outstanding service you received the first time.
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado

Address: 455 South Camino del Rio, Durango, CO 81303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Durango
#9 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#9 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW POOL, FINNISH SAUNA & RENOVATED ROOMS. Welcome to the Award Winning Comfort Inn & Suites Hotel located in picturesque Durango. Those searching for Durango Hotels choose the Comfort Inn & Suites because of our warm accommodations, friendly service and all the beautiful Durango attractions which are nearby such as the historical town center offering a wide array of dining, shopping, the famous D&S Narrow Gauge Railroad, and the Animas River Walk. Durango is a town rich in history with breathtaking views of the San Juan Mountains. Winter activities are abundant at the Durango Mountain Purgatory ski area. Durango was recently voted Best Colorado Ski Big Town. Durango is famous for its fantastic summer recreation such as hiking, mountain biking, river rafting, jeep tours, horseback riding, and fishing. Durango was also recently voted Best River Town in America. Other nearby points of interest are the Mesa Verde National Park (a UNESCO World Heritage Site), Sky Ute Casino and Fort Lewis College. Our Durango hotel is a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2014, 2013, 2012, & 2011. The Durango Lift stops within 200 feet of the hotel for easy and convenient access throughout Durango. Full-service hotel amenities and features include the following: Newly Installed State of the Art Dual Band WiFi System with a fast 100/20 3 ISP Broadband Connection. • NEW Indoor heated pool & SAUNA • Free high-speed Internet access • Free local calls • Business center • Air conditioned exercise facility Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle and pancake flavors! Business travelers staying at this Durango, CO hotel will find the Business Center with copy and fax services useful. All spacious guest rooms are equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and 32-inch televisions with cable, including movie channels. A guest laundry facility is located on the premises for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Durango, Colorado Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
Durango Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.