We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What did you expect?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 South Camino del Rio, Durango, CO 81303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Durango
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What did you expect?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

It's the Comfort Inn. I got exactly what I expected: clean, dependable. It was super quiet (bonus!); we'd booked a room on the top floor. The breakfast was commendable. The pool was creepy. Did they have to put it in a room with one window? A tall, narrow room with one window? Imagine yourself to be a small bug in a bathtub that's in a room with one window and you got it. Other than the pool (and hot tub) it was fine. But for the same price, I'd try one of those old Wild West hotels "downtown" next time. I had booked for convenience to the airport, but downtown is three minutes away.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We are very glad you found us to be clean and dependable. We are also glad you found our complimentary hot breakfast to be commendable. I am very sorry you were disappointed in our indoor heated pool and spa room. The room is designed to be very open and can be viewed from the hotel lobby as well as the second floor due to the front consisting of all windows above and 2 large windows that look out into the lobby area below. The back side also has 3 very large windows above to let in lots of sunshine and light. There are some great pictures of our pool room on our website.
We are glad you enjoyed the convenience of our location and hope that you will stay with us again on your next trip to beautiful Durango Colorado.
Thank you,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    165
    78
    20
    10
See reviews for
158
160
26
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fillmore, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Hotels is great front desk Jeaaica and Lexi is very friendly check in is quik and fast Manager Julie is excellent clean room,comforttable bed and hot breakfast. Downtown is very closed recommendations for restaurant in durango.

Room Tip: Stay again
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your gracious review of our hotel and staff. Everyone here takes great pride in providing a great stay to each and every one of our guests. We appreciate your praise and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope you will visit us again very soon!
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigham City, UT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We ended up arriving to check in very late and was surprised to be greeted by such enthusiastic and helpful staff. The room was very comfortable and clean. The bed was very comfortable and the pillows were amazing. There location is very conveniently located and easy to find. I will be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your complimentary review of your recent stay at our hotel. Our staff try very hard to make everyone feel welcome and at home. It is very rewarding to hear from our guests that they are doing a good job. We are glad you enjoyed our clean rooms and comfortable bedding. The best compliment that we can receive is the affirmation that you will stay with us again, so thank you and we look forward to providing you with the same great service on your next stay!
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo West, Colorado
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here when we were in Durango to take the Durango-Silverton train ride and to visit Mesa Verde National Park. It was a modern hotel with clean rooms, comfortable beds, an indoor pool, and a hot breakfast. It is a short drive to downtown, and is also close to Hwy 160 (highway to Mesa Verde). The room rate was much higher than we normally pay for a Comfort Inn, but it was a summer weekend and every other hotel was high priced as well. We stayed a night in Ouray as well. Prices were more reasonable and the town was very quaint. The drive between Ouray and Durango is spectacular!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the nice review of your recent stay. We are so very pleased that you enjoyed our modern decorated hotel with our clean, comfortable rooms. Our complimentary amenities help to make everyone's stay enjoyable. The beautiful scenery and many fun activities and attractions, make Durango the perfect place for a long vacation or a short trip. We hope to see you again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookfield, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Check in went smoothly although we had to wait in a cramped small lobby due to checking in at the same time as a number of out-of-town high school baseball teams. Staff were friendly and offered recommendations for restaurants in Durango. The room was fine. We didn't test out the pool, but it looked small. The continental breakfast was also fine. Overall we really enjoyed Durango having never been there before. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are pleased to receive your complimentary review of our hotel. I am glad our staff were able to efficiently check you in even on a busy evening. We are glad you enjoyed our accommodations and breakfast. There is so much to do and see in our beautiful town. We hope you will return again soon and stay with us on your next trip to Durango.
Thank you,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is a very nice hotel just a mile from downtown Durango. It's located the highway so walking downtown is not possible.

The staff were friendly and efficient at check in. The room was very clean and had a fridge and microwave. Wi-Fi worked great. The breakfast was above average for continental breakfasts, The attendant made our waffles rather than my having to do it myself!

We stayed in a handicapped room on the first floor. Hotel was full but it was quiet in our room and we had a pleasant and restful stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. We appreciate your compliments to our friendly and efficient staff as well as out outstanding housekeeping staff who do such a great job of keeping out hotel so clean.
We are so happy you enjoyed our wonderful breakfast and appreciate our high speed wi-fi. We hope that you will visit us again soon and enjoy another pleasant and restful stay at the Durango Comfort Inn.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This place was a jewel, as a hotel manager myself I was really impressed on how friendly the staff was from the front desk to the housekeepers, to the public works individuals. They really made our stay enjoyable. Rooms were nice and clean, and breakfast that was provided was great. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Durango on visiting , business or vacation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay.
It is always great to hear that our guest's enjoy their stay with us and even more rewarding when we hear from a fellow Hospitality employee. You know how hard everyone works in the industry and so it is especially rewarding when we are able to impress someone who knows the ins and outs of the job! We are all very glad to hear you will recommend us to others traveling to Durango and hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado

Address: 455 South Camino del Rio, Durango, CO 81303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Durango
#8 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#9 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW POOL, FINNISH SAUNA & RENOVATED ROOMS. Welcome to the Award Winning Comfort Inn & Suites Hotel located in picturesque Durango. Those searching for Durango Hotels choose the Comfort Inn & Suites because of our warm accommodations, friendly service and all the beautiful Durango attractions which are nearby such as the historical town center offering a wide array of dining, shopping, the famous D&S Narrow Gauge Railroad, and the Animas River Walk. Durango is a town rich in history with breathtaking views of the San Juan Mountains. Winter activities are abundant at the Durango Mountain Purgatory ski area. Durango was recently voted Best Colorado Ski Big Town. Durango is famous for its fantastic summer recreation such as hiking, mountain biking, river rafting, jeep tours, horseback riding, and fishing. Durango was also recently voted Best River Town in America. Other nearby points of interest are the Mesa Verde National Park (a UNESCO World Heritage Site), Sky Ute Casino and Fort Lewis College. Our Durango hotel is a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2014, 2013, 2012, & 2011. The Durango Lift stops within 200 feet of the hotel for easy and convenient access throughout Durango. Full-service hotel amenities and features include the following: Newly Installed State of the Art Dual Band WiFi System with a fast 100/20 3 ISP Broadband Connection. • NEW Indoor heated pool & SAUNA • Free high-speed Internet access • Free local calls • Business center • Air conditioned exercise facility Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle and pancake flavors! Business travelers staying at this Durango, CO hotel will find the Business Center with copy and fax services useful. All spacious guest rooms are equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and 32-inch televisions with cable, including movie channels. A guest laundry facility is located on the premises for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Durango, Colorado Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
Durango Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.