We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado to your Saves list
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 South Camino del Rio, Durango, CO 81303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel is located in a very convenient to get to location, right outside of town. The room was very nice, clean, and comfortable. They have a very nice pool and hot tub. Hot tub was very enjoyable. Good breakfast. Would have given it a 5 star rating, but the price was high for our early October stay. One night was $30 more than the other one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for telling us about your stay at our hotel. It is great to hear that you enjoyed our clean comfortable rooms, great hot tub and complimentary hot breakfast. The staff do a great job and to receive your praise is very rewarding.
We hope that you will visit us again in the near future so that we can provide the same outstanding service.
Thank you,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    176
    80
    20
    13
See reviews for
164
172
27
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ruidoso, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Clean, roomy, comfortable...great mattress. Very quiet, even with overhead guests. Excellent breakfast...REAL EGGS and sausage every a.m., plus waffles (prepared by staff) and all of the other foods you expect with a buffet. Pool and hot tub are good. Location is south of most attractions, but within 15-10 minutes from any place you would want to go in Durango...other than the ski slopes. Several restaurants are nearby, as is a Super WalMart, a great movie theater and the mall (all less than 5 minutes). All employees that I dealt with were very helpful, polite and friendly. I visit my daughter often who lives in Durango. I have never stayed at this hotel, but will stay here from now forward! All motels in Durango are overpriced...but you get your money's worth at the Comfort Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms away from highway are very quiet. I prefer the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay. I am so glad that every aspect of our amenities and services were pleasing to you and contributed to make your stay a success! It is great to hear that you were happy with our staff and location. We look forward to being your number one choice for all your future stays in Durango!
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creede, Colorado
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed last night at the Comfort Inn in Durango, Colorado. It was a nice stay, the AC unit was a little loud but other than that everything was just fine. The employees were just great and their breakfast was very nice.

Room Tip: The Durango Comfort Inn is worth staying at if you are visiting Durango.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your recent review. We are so pleased that you had a nice stay and found everything to be just fine.
We certainly hope we will see you again on your next trip to beautiful Durango!
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taos new mexico
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Enjoyed my stay at this hotel and the guest front desk staff was fabulous.
I had a real issue with the choice hotel advertised free stay after 2 consecutive stays plus another stay that was suppose to offer the third stay free..a total rip off and was not happy with their deceptive advertising...was told had to wait 72 hours for the last stay to post on their computers..The front desk staff couldn't have been more kind and understanding and tried to explain this all to me..Beware of the Choice Hotels..will never stay at one their hotels again..
Julie Harris,assistant general manager and CC were patient and give them 5 stars..
Room was very clean and beds lovely..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our hotel and staff.
I am very sorry you were disappointed and displeased with the Choice Privileges reward program. It is advertised and mandated by the Franchise and can be somewhat confusing unless you know all the details. We at the hotel level try our best to explain the promotions to our guests, but they are not always happy with the stipulations. I am very glad that our Co-GM Julie Harris was able to help you understand these policies.
We appreciate your kind praise and your 5 star rating. It means a great deal to us that we were able to make your stay a success!
I am sorry to hear you will not stay with other Choice Hotel properties in the future, as each hotel, though part of the Franchise, is independently owned and can offer the same great service you received from us at the hotel level.
We certainly hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to beautiful Durango Colorado!
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Unfortunately we only got to stay here one night. Partly, I would have liked to stay longer because Durango is such a beautiful town that you´re going to want to take some time in, and partly because I really loved our hotel! Our room was big, clean (except for the windows, but on the other hand, the windows opened, which is a big plus) and beautifully decorated, breakfast was excellent as well (scrambled eggs!!), and there are a pool and a jacuzzi for the guests (I didn´t bring my bathing suit...). I also liked the motel a lot from the outside, and it´s conveniently located, only a couple of minutes drive from downtown Durango. The only thing that was a little annoying at times was the wifi that didn´t work too well - we had to disconnect and reconnect every couple of minutes, but seriously, who cares? Thank you for making our stay so pleasant!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay.
We are so happy you enjoyed our clean, beautifully decorated hotel. All our departments take great pride in making every guest feel comfortable and content.
I am very sorry you experienced some issues with our wi-fi during your visit. We have really great hi speed wireless internet and get very few complaints. I am not sure why you experienced a problem, but hopefully you contacted the staff so we could immediately attempt to help you with it. I am glad that it did not hinder you from enjoying your stay.
We all hope you will return very soon to our beautiful town and hotel!
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was our first time in Durango and we loved every minute of it! The hotel was extremely clean and everyone was so friendly! We ate breakfast each morning at the hotel because they offer a great continental breakfast included in the price of the room..... a real money saver and delicious! The breakfast staff was also super cheery and talked with everyone. The pool and spa were also very clean and great to soak in after a long day of walking around seeing the sights. Great hotel to stay at if you plan, which you should, to travel to Durango!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so glad that our hotel was such a great part of your first visit to Durango, CO.
Every staff member appreciates your praise and satisfaction!
We hope you will visit us again very soon.
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland, USA
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights late April, at a great price of $62+tax. Room with a king bed was h-u-g-e!! Bed, closet with door (!), refrig/mow, coffee maker, desk, and sitting area with chair. Smallish bathroom, with sink/vanity in with the tub/shower. Very clean. Friendly front desk staff. Convenient location. Fantastic hot breakfast which was kept well-stocked and continually-serviced whether the crowd was large or not.

Look no further!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are so pleased that your recent stay with us was such a success!
Thank you for your kind words of praise. Our staff works very hard to make every stay the best it can be, it is always rewarding to hear that we were successful.
We certainly hope you will visit our beautiful town again and allow us to accommodate you in the same manner!
Thank you,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado

Address: 455 South Camino del Rio, Durango, CO 81303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Durango
#9 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#10 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW POOL, FINNISH SAUNA & RENOVATED ROOMS. Welcome to the Award Winning Comfort Inn & Suites Hotel located in picturesque Durango. Those searching for Durango Hotels choose the Comfort Inn & Suites because of our warm accommodations, friendly service and all the beautiful Durango attractions which are nearby such as the historical town center offering a wide array of dining, shopping, the famous D&S Narrow Gauge Railroad, and the Animas River Walk. Durango is a town rich in history with breathtaking views of the San Juan Mountains. Winter activities are abundant at the Durango Mountain Purgatory ski area. Durango was recently voted Best Colorado Ski Big Town. Durango is famous for its fantastic summer recreation such as hiking, mountain biking, river rafting, jeep tours, horseback riding, and fishing. Durango was also recently voted Best River Town in America. Other nearby points of interest are the Mesa Verde National Park (a UNESCO World Heritage Site), Sky Ute Casino and Fort Lewis College. Our Durango hotel is a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2014, 2013, 2012, & 2011. The Durango Lift stops within 200 feet of the hotel for easy and convenient access throughout Durango. Full-service hotel amenities and features include the following: Newly Installed State of the Art Dual Band WiFi System with a fast 100/20 3 ISP Broadband Connection. • NEW Indoor heated pool & SAUNA • Free high-speed Internet access • Free local calls • Business center • Air conditioned exercise facility Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle and pancake flavors! Business travelers staying at this Durango, CO hotel will find the Business Center with copy and fax services useful. All spacious guest rooms are equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and 32-inch televisions with cable, including movie channels. A guest laundry facility is located on the premises for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Durango, Colorado Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
Durango Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.