We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Service for a good price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado to your Saves list
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 South Camino del Rio, Durango, CO 81303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good Service for a good price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Check in was easy. They had a crock pot with Hot chicken noodle soup. It really hit the spot coming in at 8pm. They upgraded my room. Breakfast was good, nothing to get to excited about. Overall it's a very nice stat. I'll go their in the off season. That's because rates go down in the $50's. My work only pays for $70...

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We try very hard to make each guest's stay satisfying. The hot soup is appreciated by most of our guests who arrive on a cold evening and do not want to go back out to grab a bite. I am glad you enjoyed it.
Thank you for your kind review and I am happy to hear you will stay with us again.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    177
    81
    20
    13
See reviews for
169
175
27
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We took a month-long road trip recently. This was the ONLY hotel which gets a 100% satisfaction review from us!

The people were kind and helpful. The bed was comfortable and clean. The carpet was clean, The lights worked, the remote control worked flawlessly. The TV worked beautifully. The towels were clean and plentiful. The toilet and tub were WHITE! The floor was immaculate!

The pool was a perfect temperature and clean! The jacuzzi was perfectly hot and the jets worked just as they were designed! The hand rails were strong and clean!

There were even plenty of nice, clean, stacked towels in the pool area. Whooppee!

The breakfast was delicious and there was a sweet lady working very hard to keep it clean and stocked up. There was butter and syrup RIGHT BY THE WAFFLES! (go figure!) All the condiments were right where you would use them. (I think this is a first!)

Where could it go wrong? NOWHERE!

PERFECT - thank you to all the people who made it that way!

Room Tip: Choose this hotel. Anyplace is perfect here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. Taking care of hundreds of guests can be long hours and hard work, so it is extremely satisfying for our staff to receive a review that shows a guests appreciation for their efforts!
We are very glad you were completely satisfied with your stay and hope that you will make the Durango Comfort Inn your home away from home when you pass through our beautiful town again.
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maricopa, Arizona
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We paid for a room on September 22, 2012. Desk personnel were rude and uncooperative to requests. Would not recommend this motel and do not plan to stay at Choice Hotels in the future based on our poor experience here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
I want to apologize for the poor experience you claim you encountered at our hotel.
I am very sorry if you experienced anything other than the friendly, helpful staff that are described in the many other reviews on this site.
Our staff are trained to be accommodating, friendly and go beyond guests expectations, so it is disappointing to hear you did not experience this.
Your review does not specify what requests our staff were uncooperative about, but I assure you we do everything we can within reason to make each and every guests staff enjoyable.
Again, please accept my apologies for any inconvenience you may have encountered.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed 3 nights and was very impressed. Quiet hotel, breakfast was good, bed was comfortable. Great if you have business south of Durango (as I did) as you get to skip the in town traffic, but was close enough that it was an easy drive to go eat. The only complaint I had was the pillows were not firm, but that is more of a preference on my part and not a problem on their part. Great place to stay! AAA rate on the room was very cheap too.

Room Tip: Room on the back side of the hotel probably helped with the traffic noise on 550 so try to get one t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your great review of our hotel. We are so pleased that you were impressed and enjoyed your stay.
We work hard to accommodate many guests each day, and it is always rewarding to hear that our efforts paid off.
We hope that you will stay with us again in the near future.
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here for two days. Conveniently located just outside of town. Friendly staff. A well-maintained property. Room was quite spacious and breakfast is what one expects from most hotel chains that serve breakfast (After all, this isn't Cracker Barrel or Bob's Evans). Would definitely recommend and stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti R, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. I am glad to hear that you felt our accommodations were convenient to your needs. Our staff takes great pride in providing a clean, well maintained property and we appreciate your praise.
It is great to hear you will stay with us again and recommend us to your friends.
We look forward to serving you in the future!
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Ontario
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a fairly nice unit that is a few miles outside of the downtown historic district and the train station. We stayed two nights and the purpose of our visit was the Durango and Silverton NGR trip. We concluded that it is overpriced by at least $20 per night (we paid $135 a night).
The elevator was very very slow and we could walk up much faster.
The room was very good and clean. Breakfast was also typical Comfort Inn but not exceptional.
Pool and spa on the main floor and very handy.
Parking spaces seemed to be narrower than others making for a tight fit.

Room Tip: Our room was on the north side and that limited noise overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff J, Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review. I am glad that your room was good and clean and that you enjoyed our complimentary breakfast.
We feel that the value you receive at the Comfort Inn is in keeping with the price paid and hope that your stay was enjoyable and you had a nice time on the train and in all you experienced in beautiful Durango Colorado!
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Socorro, New Mexico
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed two nights in July 2012 at the senior rate of $116.10 plus tax. This seems about normal cost for Durango.

This hotel is approximately 2 miles south of the train depot on US160. The room was spacious and comfortable. The staff was pleasant and helpful. Check-in was speedy. The hot breakfast was fine but, depending on when you go, it may be very busy in the breakfast area. There is no near by restaurant.

If you are riding the train, allow ample time for breakfast and travel to the train parking area.

We will likely stay here again when we visit Durango.

Room Tip: Select a room away from the lobby and ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff J, Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am very happy to read your recent review. It is rewarding to hear that your stay was so pleasant. I am glad that you felt your room was spacious and comfortable, our staff was pleasant and helpful and that you enjoyed our complimentary hot breakfast!
Please visit us again soon!
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado

Address: 455 South Camino del Rio, Durango, CO 81303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Durango
#8 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#9 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW POOL, FINNISH SAUNA & RENOVATED ROOMS. Welcome to the Award Winning Comfort Inn & Suites Hotel located in picturesque Durango. Those searching for Durango Hotels choose the Comfort Inn & Suites because of our warm accommodations, friendly service and all the beautiful Durango attractions which are nearby such as the historical town center offering a wide array of dining, shopping, the famous D&S Narrow Gauge Railroad, and the Animas River Walk. Durango is a town rich in history with breathtaking views of the San Juan Mountains. Winter activities are abundant at the Durango Mountain Purgatory ski area. Durango was recently voted Best Colorado Ski Big Town. Durango is famous for its fantastic summer recreation such as hiking, mountain biking, river rafting, jeep tours, horseback riding, and fishing. Durango was also recently voted Best River Town in America. Other nearby points of interest are the Mesa Verde National Park (a UNESCO World Heritage Site), Sky Ute Casino and Fort Lewis College. Our Durango hotel is a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2014, 2013, 2012, & 2011. The Durango Lift stops within 200 feet of the hotel for easy and convenient access throughout Durango. Full-service hotel amenities and features include the following: Newly Installed State of the Art Dual Band WiFi System with a fast 100/20 3 ISP Broadband Connection. • NEW Indoor heated pool & SAUNA • Free high-speed Internet access • Free local calls • Business center • Air conditioned exercise facility Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle and pancake flavors! Business travelers staying at this Durango, CO hotel will find the Business Center with copy and fax services useful. All spacious guest rooms are equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and 32-inch televisions with cable, including movie channels. A guest laundry facility is located on the premises for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Durango, Colorado Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
Durango Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.