We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“handy and good.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado to your Saves list
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 South Camino del Rio, Durango, CO 81303   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Iowa City
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“handy and good.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Right on Hwy 50/550. They gave me a super quiet room on the west side of the hotel. Good staff, clean rooms and hot tub(nice after hiking Mesa Verde). Average breakfast in a beautiful large rm-cozy and quiet.

Room Tip: Ask for the back(west)side rm, unless you have barking kids and screaming dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff J, Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is always rewarding to hear that we are doing a good job of offering the service guests need. Thank you for your compliments and we hope you will stay with us again soon when visiting beautiful Durango Colorado!
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    184
    84
    25
    13
See reviews for
178
191
30
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, Indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

First visit to Durango and found the motel to be centraly located compared to the others. Only a short distance to the train station and close to shopping. Rooms were both clean and very quiet. Breakfast was typical Comfort Inn fare; however, the breakfast room was large compared to similar Comfort Inns. Did not experience any problems during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff J, Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review. I am very pleased to hear that your stay with us was so pleasant. We appreciate your kind compliments and that you were so satisfied with our location, cleanliness, quiet and breakfast.
We hope you will visit us again very soon!
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We felt the staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean, quiet, and well located in Durango. This hotel would have received an excellent from us, except that the "free" breakfast was below other hotel standards (for a free breakfast).

Room Tip: Go out for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff J, Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

It is rewarding to hear that your recent stay with us was so pleasant. Thank you for your kind compliments toward our staff, and housekeepers.
I am sorry that you did not like the complimentary breakfast we provide. We do offer many choices including scrambled eggs, sausage or biscuits and sausage gravy, 3 kinds of cold cereal, 3 flavors of hot oatmeal, danishes, donuts, bagels, 3 kinds of fresh fruit, and two flavors of hot make-your-own waffles. Our breakfast staff are friendly and efficient. Hopefully, all you future stays at Choice Hotels will be enjoyable and we hope you will visit us again here soon in Durango.
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southborough, Massachusetts USA
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We gave the Comfort Inn a top rating not because it was a high end resort but because it met all of our needs perfectly. We stayed there at the halfway point of our two week trip to Colorado so it was laundry day. Their facilities were excellent. We were taking the Durango Silverton narrow gauge railroad and we had a somewhat early time we needed to be there so we didn't want to be far from the railroad. The beds were very comfortable and the room was a good size. They had an excellent breakfast with lots of choices. They also had a smallish swimming pool but we did not use it.

It is not right downtown so you can't walk out the front door and explore Durango. You would need to drive a few minutes first.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff J, Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your recent review. We are so pleased that we were able to meet all of your needs perfectly. Our goal is to do that every day for every guest and it is rewarding to learn that we have succeeded with you!
We hope that you will return very soon to Durango and the hotel!
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

A bit disappointing.

The staff were a mixed bunch - some seemed to be OK but several were very lackadaisical and really didn't know what they were doing. The young lady who checked me in stood motionless and unspeaking in front of her computer for so long I asked if there was a problem and visibly startled her into activity - she then went ahead and checked me in. I checked in after a long drive and had already worked out there was nowhere close by to eat that I fancied, so asked if there was a delivery service they recommended. The receptionist took ages to find a pizza delivery phone number, then handed me my room keycard - with the very same service advertising all over it! Reception should have known what was on its own keycards.

It is too far to walk to an eatery in Durango itself and parking there is very difficult. There is nothing much locally.

The motel seems to be VERY popular with tour groups and sports teams. This clogs up reception (see comment above about the tendency of the staff to go into suspended animation) and makes for a noisy venue. The first night a team of schoolboy soccer players from Ohio stomped around their rooms above me for hours - when they were not playing 'Can I beat the lift by running up/down the stairs'. A room on the top floor would perhaps cut down the noise as they would not have been crashing about shaking my ceiling. The staffs' comment to why did no one quiet them down - an incomprehensible 'It's a public hotel'.

When I left the breakfast room on my last morning (after a good breakfast) there was no one on reception and a card saying the agent would return shortly. I put my bags in the car, returned to my room and checked it. Brought down my hand luggage. Still no one - and a growing queue. Eventually a very casually dressed lady (in bedraggled track suit) appeared and slowly worked through the backlog. I wasn't at all impressed.

Room Tip: Ask for the top floor - your neighbours may be noisy but they won't be shaking your ceiling, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff J, Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. We appreciate all comments as they help us to make every guest's stay better.
We take great pride in our customer service and so it is disappointing to learn that you were unhappy with your experience. Please allow me to apologize for your frustration. We do have new staff at our front desk who are still in training and I am very sorry if you experienced anything other than a professional and speedy check-in.
We want all our guests to experience a caring, knowledgeable staff and will do everything possible to make sure adequate training is provided so that all our guests receive the attention and service they deserve.
We hope that you will visit us again, so that we can prove to you how good we can really be!
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We arrived here, after a very long drive from Denver International Airport, at 8pm. We found that there was nowhere obvious to eat apart from some sort of bar nearby which did not appeal to us. Exhausted, we had to get back in the car and drive into the town centre, about 2 miles away, where there were plenty of decent restaurants and a Maccy Ds. The motel itself was clean, the rooms were ok, bed was too soft or worn out for my back. The air conditioning units were noisy but essential in the heat, but the noise made it difficult to sleep. The breakfast was nothing special, adequate for a Comfort inn. Can't say I felt particularly safe in the car park at night, poor lighting didn't help. We were there for the Durango to Silverton steam railway trip, which was brilliant, and Mesa Verde, which was amazing! This motel was ok for a 2 night stopover, but we thought it was expensive for the level of the room accommodation provided. Also, the position was so far out of the centre of Durango, it made it necessary to use the car all the time we were there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff J, Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel.
We are defined by the service and value we provide and so your input is greatly appreciated.
I am sorry you felt our location was not to your liking. We are located only 1 1/2 miles from the downtown historic area of Durango. It is a short 5 minute drive, where many great restaurants and activities are offered. Many guests feel it is a perfect distance to be away from the lights and action when they want peace and quiet, but close enough to enjoy what Durango has to offer.
Thank you for your compliments about our cleanliness. We do take great pride in our excellent housekeeping staff.
I hope that all your future stays at Choice Hotels will be pleasurable!
Sincerely,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coquitlam, Canada
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was the best place I stayed during my 10 day Southwest Tour (also the most expensive). I really liked the Suite, it was well appointed with a King Bed, and a separate TV area with a comfy sofa and coffee table. There was shutter doors to isolate the two sleeping areas. Nice appliances but the Bed was a little saggy, I had to shuffle to the center. The Bathroom was OK but needs maintenance. The grout and sealing was poor and this will lead to issues. Overall a very comfortable stay with good value for pricey Durango and I enjoyed the staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff J, Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Guest,
I want to thank you for your recent review and let you know how pleased I am that your stay was so enjoyable. We take great pride in all departments and so we appreciate your comments and advice. We cannot make the hotel even better without our guests input, so yours is valued.
We will have our maintenance staff check all of our rooms for grouting issues to ensure that every room is in top condition.
We hope you will return soon to beautiful Durango Colorado!
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado

Address: 455 South Camino del Rio, Durango, CO 81303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Durango
#8 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#8 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado 2.5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW POOL, FINNISH SAUNA & RENOVATED ROOMS. Welcome to the Award Winning Comfort Inn & Suites Hotel located in picturesque Durango. Those searching for Durango Hotels choose the Comfort Inn & Suites because of our warm accommodations, friendly service and all the beautiful Durango attractions which are nearby such as the historical town center offering a wide array of dining, shopping, the famous D&S Narrow Gauge Railroad, and the Animas River Walk. Durango is a town rich in history with breathtaking views of the San Juan Mountains. Winter activities are abundant at the Durango Mountain Purgatory ski area. Durango was recently voted Best Colorado Ski Big Town. Durango is famous for its fantastic summer recreation such as hiking, mountain biking, river rafting, jeep tours, horseback riding, and fishing. Durango was also recently voted Best River Town in America. Other nearby points of interest are the Mesa Verde National Park (a UNESCO World Heritage Site), Sky Ute Casino and Fort Lewis College. Our Durango hotel is a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2014, 2013, 2012, & 2011. The Durango Lift stops within 200 feet of the hotel for easy and convenient access throughout Durango. Full-service hotel amenities and features include the following: Newly Installed State of the Art Dual Band WiFi System with a fast 100/20 3 ISP Broadband Connection. • NEW Indoor heated pool & SAUNA • Free high-speed Internet access • Free local calls • Business center • Air conditioned exercise facility Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle and pancake flavors! Business travelers staying at this Durango, CO hotel will find the Business Center with copy and fax services useful. All spacious guest rooms are equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and 32-inch televisions with cable, including movie channels. A guest laundry facility is located on the premises for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Durango, Colorado Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
Durango Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.