We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean hotel. Decent continental breakfast.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   455 South Camino del Rio, Durango, CO 81303   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 30 hotels in Durango
Lincoln
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice clean hotel. Decent continental breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The hotel room was clean. The hotel was recently updated. Pool area was clean, but pool was very cloudy, really heavy on chlorine. Kids had fun in the pool regardless. First hotel I have been to in a long, long while that won't allow anyone under 12 in the hot tub. Breakfast was a good continental breakfast. About what we expected. There was always 1 or 2 ladies restocking items, so it was always fresh. Elevators move at a snails pace. Use the stairs if you need to get anywhere. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Had some relatives stay at a couple other hotels. They weren't as nice as ours and they cost just as much. Only minor gripe was we were in town for a wedding and this was one of the few hotels that did not offer a discount for wedding guests. Still, it was a nicer hotel that where other's stayed for similar money.

Room Tip: Stay away from the core area of the hotel. Ice machine, elevator and stairs are all located there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay.
I am very glad you enjoyed our clean, comfortable and resonable priced accomodations.
Our hotel staff all take pride in their work and it shows when we receive such a nice review.
I hope you will stay with us again soon.
Thank you,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    158
    71
    16
    9
See reviews for
142
150
26
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

As typical for the Choice line of hotels, this Comfort Inn was very representative. The hotel staff was nice + helpful. The rooms were generic but clean, comfortable, and reasonably priced. Location a little out there but you can get to the heart of downtown in about 10 minutes. Good variety for breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our hotel. I am so glad you enjoyed our clean, heated pool. I am sorry that you were disppointed with our age policy on our hot tub. We try very hard to please all our guests and for safety reasons the state guidelines do not recommend child usage of a hot tub that is between 100-104 degrees. Our breakfast staff does a great job with our complimentary hot breakfast and so I am pleased you enjoyed it.
Thank you again for your kind comments about our staff and I hope you will stay with us again in the near future!
Sincerily,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east sussex
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

Clean comfortable room. Only stay one night would have liked to stay longer as we enjoyed Durango.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your nice review!
Hopefully you will return soon to Durango and be able to stay longer to enjoy all the wonderful things our town has to offer.
Best Regards,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We noticed that there are many options in Durango and decided to give the Comfort Inn a try. Upon checking in, we were very happy with how we were treated by front desk staff! They were all very nice and helpful, especially Heather! Lobby opens to a big breakfast area which featured a big selection of quality items for breakfast. Pool was fine but nothing special. Facilities seemed to be in good condition and we were pleased. Location is really easy to get to historic Durango and within walking distance of the railroad excursion. Rooms were spacious and the beds were comfortable. Updated fridge and microwave was nice and bathroom was updated. We will return!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am so pleased to hear how enjoyable your stay with us was. I am very glad that our staff provided such a pleasurable checkin experience and you were able to enjoy all the amenities we offer.
I am also pleased that you will be staying with us again the next time you are in beautiful Duranago, CO.
Thank you,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed a the Comfort Inn Durango in May during a two day visit in Durango.

The hotel was ok, rooms were clean, staff was very nice and the breakfast was fine, too.
It only takes about 5 min by car from the Comfort Inn to the railway station for those who plan on taking the Durango Silverton railroad, and there are plenty of parking lots directly next to the station.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your recent review. I am glad you were pleased with our rooms, staff and breakfast. We take great pride in all of our departments, so it is rewarding to learn that you were satisfyed with our service.
I hope you will visit us again very soon!
Sincerily,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We recently had a one-night stay here (6/21/12). The room was clean and comfortable, as was the whole building. The front desk staff was very helpful to us, we needed to get to a park outside of town and we had no idea where to find it. They checked online and printed us a map. The food at breakfast was delicious and plentiful, and the staff was attentive to cleaning tables and keeping the food area clean and restocked. This is just what I would expect, however lately it seems like this is not the norm. I would highly recommend this hotel and will be staying here the next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your great review of your recent stay! I am so pleased to hear that you had such a plesant experience with us and enjoyed all aspects of our accomodations.
I am glad you recommend us to others and will be staying with us again!
We look forward to your next visit to Durango and the Comfort Inn & Suites!
Sincerily,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband & I stayed here this past Monday night (6/18). We chose this hotel because we had stayed at a Comfort Inn in Pratt KS the night before and it was "spotless" according to my husband. Upon finding our room, we noticed our door was opened; no one was inside but we thought it strange. The mirrors were dirty, the windows filthy, bathroom floor not clean, and just overall disappointing! We mentioned all this to the desk clerk and asked in the morning for a comment card; we were told they did not have one. He said he would tell the appropriate people. In Pratt we paid $54.00 LESS than in Durango! Unbelievable. Nothing was done for us to adjust price.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Dear Guest,
I am writing in response to your recent review of our hotel.
First, I want to thank you for your comments and apologize that you had a less than satisfactory stay with us.
We strive very hard to ensure every guests satisfaction through each and every department from check in to check out.
Our housekeeping staff does an outstanding job and we get very few negative comments on our cleanliness. I am very sorry if your room was not cleaned to the standards that we make every effort to acheive.
I have a very attentive and caring staff that make every effort to accomodate and ensure the satisfaction of our guests, so it is dissappointing to hear that you were unhappy with the result of your conversation with our desk staff. We do everything in our power to ensure guest satisfaction when a valid issue is brought to our attention in a timely manner. We are always happy to clean, move or repair any issues that our guests may encounter when they check into a room and inform us of them. We have 24 hour staff to accomodate you at any hour with any issue.
We are located in an area that has peak and slow seasons so it is common for our hotel to be lower or higher in rate than other Choice properties depending on the time of year and location. Each hotel's rates are based on their market area. Our rates are very comparable to other similar properties in the Durango area. I am sorry that you were disappointed in the rate you paid for this area.
I thank you again for your comments as they help us determine what we are doing right and what we can work on to ensure all guests are happy. Thank you for sharing your concerns with us.

Sincerily,
Comfort Inn & Suites Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado

Address: 455 South Camino del Rio, Durango, CO 81303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
#6 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#8 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW POOL, FINNISH SAUNA & RENOVATED ROOMS. Welcome to the Award Winning Comfort Inn & Suites Hotel located in picturesque Durango. Those searching for Durango Hotels choose the Comfort Inn & Suites because of our warm accommodations, friendly service and all the beautiful Durango attractions which are nearby such as the historical town center offering a wide array of dining, shopping, the famous D&S Narrow Gauge Railroad, and the Animas River Walk. Durango is a town rich in history with breathtaking views of the San Juan Mountains. Winter activities are abundant at the Durango Mountain Purgatory ski area. Durango was recently voted Best Colorado Ski Big Town. Durango is famous for its fantastic summer recreation such as hiking, mountain biking, river rafting, jeep tours, horseback riding, and fishing. Durango was also recently voted Best River Town in America. Other nearby points of interest are the Mesa Verde National Park (a UNESCO World Heritage Site), Sky Ute Casino and Fort Lewis College. Our Durango hotel is a Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence Award Winner 2013, 2012, & 2011. The Durango Lift stops within 200 feet of the hotel for easy and convenient access throughout Durango. Full-service hotel amenities and features include the following: • NEW Indoor heated pool & SAUNA • Free high-speed Internet access • Free local calls • Business center • Air conditioned exercise facility Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors! Business travelers staying at this Durango, CO hotel will find the Business Center with copy and fax services useful. All spacious guest rooms are equipped with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers, hair dryers, irons, ironing boards and 32-inch televisions with cable, including movie channels. A guest laundry facility is located on the premises for convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Durango, Colorado Hotel Durango
Comfort Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
Durango Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.