We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel slightly out of the way of downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Durango to your Saves list
Residence Inn Durango
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21691 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Maplewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good hotel slightly out of the way of downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

This hotel is conveniently located close, but not too close, to downtown Durango. I stayed here one night on business and found the room spacious and comfortable. The free breakfast and dinner were much appreciated. I would stay here again.

The bathroom was clean. The staff were very friendly. The hotel doesn't have too much character, but it is located right next to the Animas River.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrucknerPacific
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Arizona
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

This hotel is perfectly clean, but perfectly characterless. From the cheap plastic shower to the fake-wood cabinets in the kitchenette, it is clear it was built cheaply.

That's fine, if that's what you think you are getting, but we saw it advertised as a three-star hotel, on par with the local favorite Doubletree. That is far superior--lovely marble showers, pleasing rooms, nice details--for about the same price. Go for Doubletree instead if you can. We will next time for sure.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blackmesaArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land
Level Contributor
384 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

our family of six (kids ages 7-12) had an excellent experience at the Residence Inn in Durango. Our two bedroom/2 bathroom suite was spacious, with 3 flat screen TVs and a nice decor. Breakfast was typical-waffles, eggs, sausage, cereal, bagels, etc., but it was nice to have salsa, chiles, & cheese sauce. Our breakfast server was excellent. The location was very convenient for downtown Durango and on the way to Mesa Verde, but it would take at least 35 minutes to get to the ski lift. We would definitely stay here again. One small complaint-we could hear our neighbors cheering for their football game on TV, so it's not the most romantic spot.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sugarlandmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Very good hotel and excellent location being only a few blocks from historic downtown Durango. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is very good, breakfast room is very cozy. Would definitely recommend this hotel, and/or be back there if ever in Durango again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Witch60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placitas, New Mexico
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

My hubby and I stayed at the RI for two nights on the first leg of our (NPS) roadtrip. Nice hotel, clean room, easy to get to, and convenient. We liked it because it wasn't in downtown (close to the crowds) Durango, but close enough to get to for dinner, the train, etc. Our room was on the 3rd floor looking back onto the hillslope. We like RI's because of the refrigerator (for our wine :), the large rooms, and the ability to move around the room with comfort. This RI didn't disappoint. The morning breakfast was warm, friendly service (probably the best service we've had at a RI), very filling...ok, it wasn't an exceptional morning breakfast, but it served it's purpose for us. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brit63izzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Durango. The room was a suite, separate bedroom and kitchen, which after 2 weeks in motels seemed almost like being back at home. During the week there is a "social hour" where nibbles and drinks are served. Free breakfast was also a plus. Room was cleaned daily, and the dishwasher put on for me (good, cos I didn't know how to do it!) . Albertsons less than 5 mins drive away so saved some money by eating in a couple of times. Downtown about a 15 min walk, no problem. Quite a lively downtown even at the end of the season. Didn't know about the bus from the hotel which I've just read about on other reviews, so it would have been nice if the desk had mentioned it.
We did the Durango & Silverton railroad trip - in the first class Alamosa Parlor Car. Brilliant. Expensive, but one of the highlights of my holiday. Also visited Mesa Verde National Park.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kath99_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson, az
Level Contributor
57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

My 2 friends and I stayed here this Sept. This hotel was great!!! The rooms were large and spotless. We stayed in the 1 bdrm. and it was plenty big for 3 adults. Two shared the bed and 1 slept on the sofabed.

The breakfast buffet was great- eggs, potatoes, breakfast meats and also cereal, muffins, fruit, and juices. Each room has a full sized kitchen. It's 1/2 mile walk to town or a 1 min. drive. There's also a trolly out front, but it runs hourly. They also has happy hour munchies and fresh baked cookies.

The staff was very helpful and this property was well kept. We will definitely stay here again. Also, pets are allowed but require a huge deposit.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariadosTucson_Az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#6 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#2 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Durango

Address: 21691 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Durango
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Durango 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotwire, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Durango Hotel Durango
Durango Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing