We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel slightly out of the way of downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Durango

Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Durango to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Durango
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21691 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 30 hotels in Durango
Maplewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good hotel slightly out of the way of downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

This hotel is conveniently located close, but not too close, to downtown Durango. I stayed here one night on business and found the room spacious and comfortable. The free breakfast and dinner were much appreciated. I would stay here again.

The bathroom was clean. The staff were very friendly. The hotel doesn't have too much character, but it is located right next to the Animas River.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    70
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
77
47
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

This hotel is perfectly clean, but perfectly characterless. From the cheap plastic shower to the fake-wood cabinets in the kitchenette, it is clear it was built cheaply.

That's fine, if that's what you think you are getting, but we saw it advertised as a three-star hotel, on par with the local favorite Doubletree. That is far superior--lovely marble showers, pleasing rooms, nice details--for about the same price. Go for Doubletree instead if you can. We will next time for sure.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land
Top Contributor
364 reviews 364 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
291 helpful votes 291 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

our family of six (kids ages 7-12) had an excellent experience at the Residence Inn in Durango. Our two bedroom/2 bathroom suite was spacious, with 3 flat screen TVs and a nice decor. Breakfast was typical-waffles, eggs, sausage, cereal, bagels, etc., but it was nice to have salsa, chiles, & cheese sauce. Our breakfast server was excellent. The location was very convenient for downtown Durango and on the way to Mesa Verde, but it would take at least 35 minutes to get to the ski lift. We would definitely stay here again. One small complaint-we could hear our neighbors cheering for their football game on TV, so it's not the most romantic spot.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Very good hotel and excellent location being only a few blocks from historic downtown Durango. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is very good, breakfast room is very cozy. Would definitely recommend this hotel, and/or be back there if ever in Durango again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Placitas, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

My hubby and I stayed at the RI for two nights on the first leg of our (NPS) roadtrip. Nice hotel, clean room, easy to get to, and convenient. We liked it because it wasn't in downtown (close to the crowds) Durango, but close enough to get to for dinner, the train, etc. Our room was on the 3rd floor looking back onto the hillslope. We like RI's because of the refrigerator (for our wine :), the large rooms, and the ability to move around the room with comfort. This RI didn't disappoint. The morning breakfast was warm, friendly service (probably the best service we've had at a RI), very filling...ok, it wasn't an exceptional morning breakfast, but it served it's purpose for us. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Durango. The room was a suite, separate bedroom and kitchen, which after 2 weeks in motels seemed almost like being back at home. During the week there is a "social hour" where nibbles and drinks are served. Free breakfast was also a plus. Room was cleaned daily, and the dishwasher put on for me (good, cos I didn't know how to do it!) . Albertsons less than 5 mins drive away so saved some money by eating in a couple of times. Downtown about a 15 min walk, no problem. Quite a lively downtown even at the end of the season. Didn't know about the bus from the hotel which I've just read about on other reviews, so it would have been nice if the desk had mentioned it.
We did the Durango & Silverton railroad trip - in the first class Alamosa Parlor Car. Brilliant. Expensive, but one of the highlights of my holiday. Also visited Mesa Verde National Park.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson, az
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

My 2 friends and I stayed here this Sept. This hotel was great!!! The rooms were large and spotless. We stayed in the 1 bdrm. and it was plenty big for 3 adults. Two shared the bed and 1 slept on the sofabed.

The breakfast buffet was great- eggs, potatoes, breakfast meats and also cereal, muffins, fruit, and juices. Each room has a full sized kitchen. It's 1/2 mile walk to town or a 1 min. drive. There's also a trolly out front, but it runs hourly. They also has happy hour munchies and fresh baked cookies.

The staff was very helpful and this property was well kept. We will definitely stay here again. Also, pets are allowed but require a huge deposit.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Durango

Address: 21691 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Durango
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Durango 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Residence Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Durango Hotel Durango
Durango Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;