We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, But Not Worth $200 A Night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Durango to your Saves list
Residence Inn Durango
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21691 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Durango
New Mexico
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice, But Not Worth $200 A Night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

We spent two nights at the Residence Inn, and we had a very pleasant stay. The breakfast crew is very wonderful....attentive and very friendly. The front desk people were nice and helpful as well. The breakfast itself was typical Residence Inn fare with waffles, eggs, sausage, bacon, etc. which is nice. The pool is very clean and front desk staff would immediately stock the towels should the need arise.

I have a couple of complaints: The price and the noise. The floors are very flimsy and thin, and it sounds like a herd of elephants is walking above you if you are on the first or second floor. The price was a bit steep, and the suite itself was very small, barely room for the bed in the bedroom and the sofa bed in the living room area. All in all, a pretty nice stay but pricey.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    74
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
81
53
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, TN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2009

Paid $279 for 2BR unit...clean with very comfortable king beds. Indoor pool was nice. Breakfast staff was accommodating and friendly. Thought the room was too expensive, but this is a resort area during peak summer travel time.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2009

Stayed 2 nights with priceline winning bid of $99/night. The best price I could get with AAA membership was $219/night, so that made me happy. Rooms are well appointed with sectional sofa, flat screen t.v., full kitchen, king size bed. Breakfast varied, but was very good both mornings - much better than the usual continental offered. Both evenings we stayed they had complimentary snacks from 5:00 p.m. - 7:00 p.m. We walked to Denny's for supper one night which is near the Durango/Silverton railroad, but we drove to the train station in the morning because it was raining. Otherwise, it is within walking distance. Would recommend - Comfort Inn and Super 8 were in the $99 price range, and this is FAR superior - thank you Priceline!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights and were able to get a great rate. The room was like a small apartment. You could stay there for weeks. Full kitchen, living room area and very comfortable king size bed. It is only minutes from Durango Silverton railroad (a 10 minute walk) and the downtown area. The breakfast was more than adequate and served hot dishes as well. We would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

We stayed at the Residence Inn for 4 nights. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, and I really liked that we were in walking distance to the downtown area (maybe 1/2 mile). The kids enjoyed playing both basketball and tennis, and it was great that the equipment was provided by the hotel. We also enjoyed the happy hour and warm breakfast in the morning. The only complaint that I have is that there was some black stuff all around our vent in the bedroom. I'm not sure if it was dirt or mold??? Anyway, we had a great time.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2009

Our stay here could not have been better....except maybe for a friendlier female desk clerk! The accomodations were outstanding and perfect for our family. We had the 2 room suite and we are sold on Residence Inn in every way! Great breakfasts and evening snacks, nice pool and hot tub, immaculate and quiet rooms, free internet, 3 large flat screen TV's, and perfect location to downtown Durango and the Animas river. We were originally booked for 4 nights, but didn't want to leave, so were able to extend an extra night. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

Wonderful hotel. The suite rooms are so roomy with a kitchen and living room which was great. The free breakfast was very good with a hot waffle maker and there was a manager's reception the night before. The bed was so comfortable. Front desk very accommodating. The hotel is very close to center of town (via car) with many places to eat. Durango was a cute place to visit for one night.

Loved this hotel so much that I wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Durango

Address: 21691 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Durango
#9 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Durango 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Durango Hotel Durango
Durango Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.