We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travel agent views on the Durango Residence Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Durango to your Saves list
Residence Inn Durango
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21691 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Cleo Springs, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Travel agent views on the Durango Residence Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2009

Don't really know why people complain like they do. This hotel was perfect in every way. We stayed during spring break for 4 nights. We reserved the 2 bedroom suite. It was 2 seperate bedrooms with 1 king bed in each with a bathroom and seperate vanity area. Full kitchen with sink, microwave, oven and some appliances along with dishes silverware, glasses. LIving area with pull out double sofa. Yes, the kitchen supplies were limited, but what do people expect. Unless you are a chef preparing gourmet meals, you'll be fine. Great for just some 1 skillet jobs. Or a frozen pizza. Full size fridge was great! Grocery store down the road a bit to buy what you may need.

After a long day of skiing and arriving at the hotel just in time for the Managers recepition-awsome. Kids could'nt wait to check out the complimentary snacks, baked fresh choc. chip cookies and drinks, and of course for the Mom's the complimentary beer and wine was great! First night was taquitos and poppers, 2nd night was chicken noodle soup, 3rd night was hot wings and last night was frito chili pie. Breakfast was ample with eggs, sausage or bacon with make-your-own waffle, yogurts, fruits, oatmeal, pasties, bagels with all the toppings. One morning they had biscuits and gravy...Great!. Overall experience was great with no complaints. The distance from the hotel to downtown is not really a walkable distance , but could be done. Busy highway and interections to cross. We drove!.. Indoor Pool and hot tub were great!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    80
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
89
58
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2009

Just returned from Spring Break (Utah, Grand Canyon, Colorado) and spent the last 2 nights of our trip at the Residence Inn, thinking it would be a nice suite for our last 2 nights. We were shocked at the condition of the room! We reserved a two bedroom suite and although the suite was a nice size (bedrooms a little tight though), the suite was about the dirtiest I've seen. If we were paying $59.00 a night at a motel, I would expect this type of service, but at almost $200.00 a night, and carrying the Residence Inn name, it was a joke! The couch was covered with crumbs....and I mean so many crumbs that we couldn't even sit down until we cleaned it up. Gross! Next, the bathroom sink had hair all over it and the sink and mirror appeared as though they hadn't been cleaned. The bathroom floor had hair all over it,as well, and the shower was clogged, leaving us to stand in a lot of water while trying to shower. Since we checked in late, after a long day on the road, we thought we'd "just suck it up". Then, when I went to get a glass off of the bathroom counter (which was tipped upside down on a coaster, as though it were clean), I was SHOCKED!!! The glass was filthy... lipstick marks all around the top, white milky-looking stains on the inside. Need I say more? We then discovered that our 10 year old's bathroom was also furnished with a dirty glass, upside down on a coaster! I then notified the front desk, who said they'd let the manager know the next day, since he wasn't in. No response from the manager. So, the following day we tried again...no manager. We then spoke to the Housekeeping Supervisor (who was very sweet and apologetic) yet she was never notified of the problems by the manager or anyone else. She said she hoped we wouldn't hold it against their hotel and said she'd have the manager contact me when he returned Monday (today). No word from him yet. We'll see what happens. Seriously, when the Manager isn't in, most hotels have an Asst. Manager or a Front Desk Manager who can assist with concerns. Not this hotel. Additionally, it appeared as though the dinnerware and silverware that were stocked in the kitchen were not clean either. They smelled funny, yet smelled fine after we ran everything through the dishwasher. Call me crazy, but when I pay for a suite, I expect it to be stocked with CLEAN utensils and kitchenware! Although we requested the highest floor possible, we were on the second floor with an incredibly noisy family above us. Kids jumping off of beds at 2am and racing back and forth, which all could be heard in our room. Not the hotel's fault, of course, but rooms weren't insulated for sound as much as one would hope. On a positive note, the staff that we encountered were friendly and the breakfast had a number of hot and cold selections, including eggs, sausage and belgian waffles. The location was nice being further from the train depot so that we didn't have to be woken up at 7am by the train, as we have in the past staying "right in town".

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
149 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2009

We spent five nights in hotels I picked from Tripadvisor, which seldom has let me down. The Residence Inn in Durango was the best of a very good lot. We had a friendly reception with a hospitality hour drink and snack when we arrived. We had a two beddroom suite for my wife and me and four teenagers. It had pleanty of room for us. The indoor pool and spa looked wonderful, but being in a winter location we did not bring suits. The wireless internet worked well and was free. The breakfast was ample, with something for everyone. The staff were very good. The only drawback was that it was a few blocks across a busy highway to the train station, but it had much nicer accommodations than the downtown properties.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willis, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2009

I stayed for a week with my kids while in town for a spring break ski trip. The room was nice, updated and clean with flat panel tv's in the living and bed rooms. The room was quiet and we happen to have a nice view of the mountain across the highway. Looks like the only rooms that would have any view would be the 3rd floor, highway facing rooms. The hot breakfast buffet was very good and many more choices than your typical continental breakfast. My only disappointment was the kitchen (which was one of the main reasons I selected this place). We had planned to cook a few meals in to save on some expenses. The utensils, pots and pan selection were limited and very poor quality. So poor that after one use, I didn't try to use them again. And the front desk told me that was all they had. So if you are not planning on cooking, then everything else was very nice.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
105 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2009

Stayed here on vacation with my husband during a ski trip. Nice, newer hotel with friendly staff, clean and quiet rooms, and nice ambiance overall. Good price for a resort area. I often stay at Residence Inns on business trips because of the perks they offer such as free breakfast, free internet, kitchen, and spacious rooms. This one did not disappoint. Only drawback was that housekeeping was a bit sloppy and did not vacuum our room or take away the trash. Very close to downtown Durango and restaurants and sights. About 30 minutes to the Durango ski area. I would recommend this place to friends.

  • Liked — Newer hotel and prompt check in, free internet and breakfast
  • Disliked — Housekeeping slackers
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indio, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2008

We had a king suite, and it was terrific. Very roomy. Very clean. Not much of a view, but who cared. Nice furnishings. Comfortable bed. Large bathroom area with outside vanity/sink. Huge closet. Well stocked kitchen. Great plasma TV.

The breakfast bar was wonderful. Hot items: oatmeal, eggs, sausage, potatoes, biscuits, gravy...cold cereal and breads, too.

Heated indoor pool and a nicely stocked fitness room.

  • Liked — the large suites
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fruita, Colorado
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

We recently returned from a four day trip to Durango and were very impressed with our accomodations at the Residence Inn. It is conveniently located about one half mile from the Durango and Silverton Railraod depot and the heart of downtown. Our ground floor room was huge with a complete kitchenette, large sitting area, very comfortable king sized bed and a flat screen TV, the latter of which was very enjoyable after an all day train ride to Silverton on our first day and a foray into New Mexico to visit the Salmon Ruin the following day. If you have a nostalgic twinge for things gone by, do ride the Durango and Silverton Railroad. We had ridden this train 21 years ago and actually enjoyed it more the second time around. Perhaps choosing the comfort of the Alamosa parlor car enhanced our enjoyment, In any event, it is an experience never to be forgotten. Back to the Residence Inn. They offer a full complimentary breakfast which was as good as any we have previously experienced (the scrambled eggs were actually delicious, a rarity in our experience) and the motel rates high marks for service, courtesy and cleanliness. For $121 a night, it has to be the best deal in Durango and we will likely stay there again next time around.

  • Liked — just about everything
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#8 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Durango

Address: 21691 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Durango
#10 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Durango 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Marriott so you can book your Residence Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Durango Hotel Durango
Durango Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.