We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some Confusion, But A Good Night's Sleep” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Durango to your Saves list
Residence Inn Durango
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21691 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Oneonta, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Some Confusion, But A Good Night's Sleep”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Just passing through, needed a good night's sleep. Friendly staff, but the night clerk got the time of breakfast wrong, which fouled up my schedule. Also, couldn't use my Marriott free night, but this was probably a corporate/computer problem she could do nothing about (this is a recurring problem with Marriott Rewards). Clean, comfortable, quiet, which is all I needed.

Room Tip: Room 111 has a very bright parking lot light right outside both windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    81
    20
    6
    2
See reviews for
91
61
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Level Contributor
194 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We checked into the hotel on a cold, snowy evening and was greeted by a smiley face. The entry, halls and rooms were very clean. Nice clean bathrooms and kitchen area. Breakfast was good. There was a lot of selection with fruit, yogurt, many cereals, waffles with lots of toppings and a different meat/egg selection every day. We had scrambled one day, a wonderful spinach eggs benedict another. Nice servers, as they clean up your plates as soon as you are finished. There also is a managers welcome in the lobby every night. We never met him/her but the food was very good. A light dinner if you want to call it that. There were appetizers, soup, salad, pasta, etc the different nights we were there. Also, wine, beer, and pop, besides the tea, hot chocolate and coffee that was always out. AND it was FREE!!!! You do park in a shadow of a small mountain so your car in the morning will be cold and frosty. It is a bit tricky pulling out of the hotel onto the highway in the morning as the traffic is constant and heavy. We would have no problem staying here again and probably will!

Room Tip: Back room on the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitewater, Colorado
Level Contributor
115 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We requested a top floor room, away from the busy highway by phone, more than a week before we arrived. We received a top floor room, but it was the CLOSEST room to the highway that they had. It was VERY noisy and disrupted our sleep somewhat.

Aside from this unfortunate mistake, we loved the room, the bed, the breakfast and the overall hotel. I must mention that the hotel manager took care of us when he learned of the mistake. I'm grateful for his email and folio credit--that was GREATLY appreciated!

The complimentary dinner entrée was not what was listed on the calendar in the room. It was supposed to be pot roast, but turned out to be canned beef stew. It looked and tasted like Dinty Moore, but might have been surplus Army rations--very salty and not too tasty--something to avoid if offered again. However, the cookies and peaches were great!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the highway WILL be noisy. Highway 160 is the main highway between Durango and Cortez...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

It's tucked into a hillside, so the hallway layout's a bit maze-like, but the hotel overall was typical R Inn, but probably a new facility than most. The breakfast was good and the pool area was pretty large. It's walkable to downtown, maybe 10 minutes to the depot. The front desk was friendly and accommodated our request to switch to a room off of the highway, and it was perfectly quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Hotel is conveniently located less than 1 mile west from downtown Durango on Highway 160. Property is well-maintained and attractive from the street.

Staff at check-in was friendly, welcoming and prompt. We had our room keys in just a few minutes along with information on the hotel and town.

Our room was a one bedroom suite. Bedroom contained a king sized bed, TV, and four drawer bureau. The bathroom contained a tub/shower combo and toilet. The sink area was outside of the bathroom. Of note, the lighting around the sink was very bright.

The living room and kitchen area were one large room. Living room contained a sectional couch (included hideaway bed), TV, and business desk with chair. Kitchen had a table with two chairs, refrigerator, stove, microwave, and coffee maker. The cupboards and cabinets were well stocked with pots, pans, and flatware.

Residence Inn does have a “Happy Hour” most nights of the week. The night we were there they were serving hot dogs, hamburgers, side items, and drinks. In the morning, a nice selection of breakfast items were available – scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, yogurt, cereal and more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka
Level Contributor
150 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Residence Inn in Durango. It's close to downtown. The morning breakfast was very good. The front desk staff were knowledgeable. The rooms were nice and the hotel was quiet. Our kids enjoyed the pool. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and will be back again the next time we are in Durango.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
67 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We decided to stay here for 5 nights after reading the positive reviews on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed! This is a nice hotel within an easy 15 minute walk to downtown Durango. If you decided to drive downtown be sure to keep a pocketful of quarters in your pocket as you will have to feed the meters where ever you park downtown until 6PM. We had a king bed room and it was huge. We requested a top floor room away from the elevator and got it. Also, ask for the backside of the hotel as it is much quieter then the street side. Our room had free microwave popcorn, teas and coffee, along with shampoo and conditioner. The free morning breakfast were good. Scrambled eggs (with several topping options: cheese, salsa, etc.), sausage, potatoes, oatmeal, cereals, muffins, fresh fruit, juices and coffees (and more). The menu changed each morning but consistently good. Nice big area to eat. The afternoon free Happy Hour with food was really a nice touch. You really don't have to eat out after you enjoy this. There is an indoor pool (choose not to go in as it was full of little kids and questioned just how sanitary the water was by the afternoon) and an outside fenced basketball court and net to play tennis. I think it would be hard to find another hotel in Durango that could beat this place. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want your room cleaned before 3PM be sure to let the maid know when you are leaving so she ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
2.3 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
0.6 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#1 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Durango

Address: 21691 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Durango
#7 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Durango 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Residence Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Durango Hotel Durango
Durango Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.