We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairly new and close to downtown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Durango to your Saves list
Residence Inn Durango
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21691 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
74 hotel reviews
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fairly new and close to downtown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

It's tucked into a hillside, so the hallway layout's a bit maze-like, but the hotel overall was typical R Inn, but probably a new facility than most. The breakfast was good and the pool area was pretty large. It's walkable to downtown, maybe 10 minutes to the depot. The front desk was friendly and accommodated our request to switch to a room off of the highway, and it was perfectly quiet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    78
    19
    6
    2
See reviews for
86
56
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
64 hotel reviews
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Hotel is conveniently located less than 1 mile west from downtown Durango on Highway 160. Property is well-maintained and attractive from the street.

Staff at check-in was friendly, welcoming and prompt. We had our room keys in just a few minutes along with information on the hotel and town.

Our room was a one bedroom suite. Bedroom contained a king sized bed, TV, and four drawer bureau. The bathroom contained a tub/shower combo and toilet. The sink area was outside of the bathroom. Of note, the lighting around the sink was very bright.

The living room and kitchen area were one large room. Living room contained a sectional couch (included hideaway bed), TV, and business desk with chair. Kitchen had a table with two chairs, refrigerator, stove, microwave, and coffee maker. The cupboards and cabinets were well stocked with pots, pans, and flatware.

Residence Inn does have a “Happy Hour” most nights of the week. The night we were there they were serving hot dogs, hamburgers, side items, and drinks. In the morning, a nice selection of breakfast items were available – scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, yogurt, cereal and more.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
46 hotel reviews
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Residence Inn in Durango. It's close to downtown. The morning breakfast was very good. The front desk staff were knowledgeable. The rooms were nice and the hotel was quiet. Our kids enjoyed the pool. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and will be back again the next time we are in Durango.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 hotel reviews
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We decided to stay here for 5 nights after reading the positive reviews on Tripadvisor and were not disappointed! This is a nice hotel within an easy 15 minute walk to downtown Durango. If you decided to drive downtown be sure to keep a pocketful of quarters in your pocket as you will have to feed the meters where ever you park downtown until 6PM. We had a king bed room and it was huge. We requested a top floor room away from the elevator and got it. Also, ask for the backside of the hotel as it is much quieter then the street side. Our room had free microwave popcorn, teas and coffee, along with shampoo and conditioner. The free morning breakfast were good. Scrambled eggs (with several topping options: cheese, salsa, etc.), sausage, potatoes, oatmeal, cereals, muffins, fresh fruit, juices and coffees (and more). The menu changed each morning but consistently good. Nice big area to eat. The afternoon free Happy Hour with food was really a nice touch. You really don't have to eat out after you enjoy this. There is an indoor pool (choose not to go in as it was full of little kids and questioned just how sanitary the water was by the afternoon) and an outside fenced basketball court and net to play tennis. I think it would be hard to find another hotel in Durango that could beat this place. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you want your room cleaned before 3PM be sure to let the maid know when you are leaving so she ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We will stay here again... it’s a great place on 160 just off 550 (on the other side of the hill from the Animas River & Doubletree Inn. We stayed for the better part of a week in July.

We booked a King studio which consisted of a king size bed & a full size sleeper sofa. Since there were three of us, it would have been ideal to have a one bedroom but the studio worked fine. There was a full kitchen (well equipped – fridge, stove, oven, microwave, full size dishwasher, bar size sink) and a bath with the vanity separate from the toilet & shower area (which, when orchestrating “getting ready” among three people, helps a lot! We were missing a pillow for the sofa bed (which, quite honestly, wasn’t comfy – 2 queens would have been better) but since we were on a road trip, we were able to cover the pillow shortage (plus, I’d much rather use my own pillow anyway). The extra bedding for the sofa bed was a bit interesting as well – the mattress cover appeared to be for a twin bed (maybe just to cover the sofa cushion) but the sheets & blanket were intended, minimally, for a queen size bed. There was a small table for eating sitting against the wall – two chairs. Also, along the window wall was a long desk which had a large flat screen TV (swivel base) between the “living” and bed area and storage drawers on the other end. And we were given a ground floor, close to outdoor access, as requested.

The facility was clean, and appeared to be recently updated. The laundry facilities were on the 2nd floor with two washers & two dryers (remember to take your key for access into the laundry facility… and bring quarters, $1 per wash & per dry cycle). There's an indoor pool (we didn't use) and a small work out room.

We typically book a condo in Durango but everything was full since we decided last minute to visit, however, the “extras” that Residence Inn offers actually worked better for us this time. For breakfast every morning you were greeted by a friendly staff who appreciated the rare tip they received. On the hot side there was always a meat (sausage patty, Canadian bacon or one morning was sausage gravy for biscuits), eggs (except for biscuit & gravy day), new potatoes & a bread (croissant, biscuit or French toast). For waffle eaters there was a waffle machine that was always busy with sides of fruit, whipped topping and, of course, syrup. There was also hot oatmeal with various toppings offered. In the chiller was yogurt, milk and granola parfait and sometimes packaged fruit. There was a selection of 5 different cereals, fresh fruit & muffins, donuts and bread, bagels and English muffins available to toast & warm in the microwave. And of course, there were juices & hot coffee and water (plus tea selections). And real plates, bowls & utensils (though you would want to use the Styrofoam plate for the waffle as it didn’t fit on the regular plate… though I overhead an experienced waffle connoisseur ask his wife to “put it on a real plate, the knife cuts through the Styrofoam.” ) This is probably the best “complimentary” breakfast offering we have had.

In the evenings (Monday through Thursday) the hotel offers a “Happy Hour” with soft drinks, lemonade, iced tea, bottle beer & house wines (merlot, chardonnay & white zin). As if that wasn’t nice enough, you also had a food offering which ranged (during our visit) from nachos to hamburgers & hot dogs to green chili stew (which, surprisingly, was very good). This service used Styrofoam plates & bowls (the latter which we could have sworn were glued together) but if you didn’t feel like going out or needed a quick bite before you had to be somewhere (which we did), it was a great convenience & could suffice for your evening meal. There were always chips of some type & carrots, celery and packaged dressing for dip.

We thought we would miss the roominess of a 2/2 condo of which we’d been accustomed but, if we visit again, we’d have to seriously weigh the benefits of the Residence Inn!

PS – no ice machines at this property in case you’re driving; they suggest you make ice in the ice maker of your fridge.

PPS – other reviewers are right, the wifi, not so good. Thank you 4G (and unlimited data)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holbrook, New York
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
33 hotel reviews
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

I was disappointed in the quality of this hotel. Our air conditioning in our room didn't work and the manager had the gall to blame us saying that we froze the system. In addition the room that we were later moved into had air conditioning working but one of the members of our party complained that the room smelled of dog. The management could have been better an I would recommend a change.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, MD
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here for five nights. The staff was helpful, the rooms are spacious, clean and adequately stocked and we thought the location was nice. Away from the bustle of downtown, but close enough for convenience. The breakfasts were very good and the staff is considerate. The internet is spotty. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residence Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Durango

Address: 21691 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Durango
#10 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Durango 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Durango Hotel Durango
Durango Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.