We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in Durango!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Durango to your Saves list
Residence Inn Durango
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21691 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #8 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Redondo Beach, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay in Durango!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Typical Residence Inn quality! Location is about half a mile from the historic downtown. Easy to get in and out of.

Our room was clean and nicely set up. We stayed on the third floor to avoid the noise. Equipped with full kitchen and two flatscreen tvs.

The pool area was very nice, much larger than your average marriott pool. Pools are a must for us with two kids so they can get out their energy!

Front desk was courteous but nothing special. Best part of the stay was the friendly breakfast staff. Very accomodating and made sure the food was hot and ready.

All in all it is what you should expect from a Residence Inn.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for the 3rd floor to avoid hearing the footsteps above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    73
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
81
52
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Koodos to this establishment. It was really clean, well decorated, with an awesome kitchen. I really respect places that allow dogs. They charge 75 bucks pet fee for any length of stay, and any number of dogs. I have 3 dogs. The cheapo strip motel next door wanted 65 bucks plus 10 dollars per dog-, per night- thus $95 a night. For a little extra, we got a great room with a full kitchen, free wifi and a 40 inch flat screen. We are planning a return trip to Durango cause this place was so good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

What this hotel lacks in ideal location, it more than makes up for with their happy hour. From 5:30p to 7:30p they serve a complementary selection of beers and wines and light food. Also, they also have a good breakfast selection and the service was great. I'd highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Utah
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I love Residence Inn. Nice, quiet construction, friendly staff. The breakfast staff were exceptionally friendly at RI Durango, catering to the international ski crowd in town. I travel for business and love the oversize desks, abundance of outlets, high quality furnishings and dishes. The full-size fridge and range were useful and allowed some variety in meals. I didn't use a lot of the stuff I bought at the near-by grocery store. A hearty breakfast in the morning and a more-than-adequate evening social-hour snack in the evening meant I didn't need all I had purchased. My room came with maintenance issues this time. One of the windows was cracked and some of the windows wouldn't close or lock properly, allowing a small draft. The weather was quite cold and the little furnace room is directly adjacent to the bedroom, making it difficult at times to sleep clear through the night. Once I caught on, I cranked up the heat before I went to bed, put an extra blanket on the bed from the closet, and turned the heat way down. Slept like a log, or something like that. I recommend this place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is a newer Residence Inn property ( or recently updated ). Nothing beats a new carpet and bed and a new coat of paint. I have seen a lot of older Residence and they get nasty with age. This property is definitely above average. The location is a little odd at a main road backing up to a mountain. The one thing I noticed that in opposite to most of this kind of mid-end hotels the staff was actually attentive and easy to talk to. Part of the Residence Inn concept is daily cheap free wine and food. The free junk-food was actually fun because of the mixed crowd and engaging staff members. We were there during a fire and that may have had to do with it since the hotel was packed with news people and firemen. The third criteria that moves this place above average ( condition and staff were 1 and 2 ) was the full size pool. Most of the time you end up with a Kitty pool which is hardly usable for preteen kids. Their pool is nicely sized and the kids spend every day at the pool for 1-2 hours - most of the time nobody else was there. They had actually more fun at that pool than at other resort style pools which were crowded and undersized...So if you want to go to Durango with your family and your kids like to swim - this is a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
austin,tx
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a typical RI and provides a good value for room size, amenities,etc. I would not stay here again due to the noise level. Walls seem VERY thin, could hear road noise, hallway doors opening/closing and next door coughing, talking, being intimate and every time the upstairs room walked it sounded like a herd of elephants. More soundproofing is needed!

Room Tip: Ask for third floor away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

We booked our Durango visit through the Texas golf trail concierge which was very helpful. The residence inn in Durango was consistent with other residence inns. It was convenient to main street Durango and easy to find. The staff was great event hour it was Christmas eve. The room was spacious enoug for 2 adults and 2 teenagers. We got a roll away bed and had plenty of comfortable sleeping. The wet area was great. We needed more towels and that was arranged easily. We will be back.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Durango

Address: 21691 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Durango
#9 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Durango 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Durango Hotel Durango
Durango Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.