We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Here in Durango” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Durango to your Saves list
Residence Inn Durango
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   21691 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Saint Louis, Missouri
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Stay Here in Durango”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This is a very nice hotel in Durango. High rise, interior corridors, elevators, great breakfast and a very good buffet in the evening. Conveniently located but not in the historic area. We had a very roomy two bedroom suite. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    71
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
78
48
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We haven't found a Residence Inn we don't like yet and this is no exception.
Always good ammenities.
Great breakfast.
Comfortable rooms.
Wonderful pool and fitness center. And we love the convenience of watching the kids in the pool from the fitness center.
Price is high, but is to be expected from a Durango hotel unfortunately.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We spent 5 nights in a 1st floor king suite with a view of the building's a/c unit. (There is not a "view" hotel, anyway). That aside, we loved the hotel and the area. The hotel is comfortable, well maintained and about a mile from downtown Durrango. There are other hotels within a couple blocks of downtown but we have stayed in many Residence Inns and always find them consistantly good.
The only negative was that our housekeeper never replenished the amenities until the day before we left. We were out of shampoo and our soap was in 3 pieces before we received new (The day before it was in 2 pieces and still didn't get any). Normally you don't have to ask for it at Residence Inns.
The front desk staff was very pleasant and helpful and the breakfast crew was very upbeat and attentive.
We took the Durango to Silverton train round trip. In retrospect, I would recommend taking it one way with the bus back. It is a long trip with a lot of movement and gets very tiring on the way back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The rooms were spacious, quiet, clean and nice, we even had sleeper sofas in the living rooms and a kitchenette. Recommended for lnger stays. The hotel is in walking distance to downtown Durango which is LOVELY! zhere is a river and rverwalk nearby for nice morning runs or walks. The indoor pool is okay, the gym not sufficient but as I said, you can always enjoy nature and workouts outside. Gust laundry facilities were much appreciated! The hotel offers free coffee and breakfast in the mornings, it's a bit crowded at peak times but in a family-like style and therefore very enjoyable. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

This was certainly not my first stay at a Residence Inn, but it was clearly my best Residence Inn experience.

Rooms are what you would expect. ( I have yet to have a bad room at a Residence Inn.) What you need to know is that the staff at the hotel will treat you like family. Although it's a self serve breakfast bar, the crew is quick to clear your plate and restock everything. Not once in five days did I encounter an empty serving dish, dried up food or a frown. Additionally, the folks that serve you are happy to share their vast knowledge of the local area. The front desk is equally friendly and helpful.

I loved the location and the outdoor basketball court was a bonus for our 13 year old son.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Stayed here one night after renting a home on the river for a week for just a little more. Plus-rooms clean, Internet worked well, breakfast staff excellent. But... Air conditioner was loud, did not ventilate well. Front desk service was average. Not a good location (a good walk to river or town), no view. Overpriced for what you get. Just kind of blah. Staying more than a few days? Check out leasing from private owners, lots to chose from for around the same money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABQ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have stayed at this Residence Inn in Durango a couple of times in the past, and it has been recently renovated so carpeting, etc. is new. Very good location, even though it's off the main drag. Clean property with friendly staff. My biggest complaint isn't really against this property - it's just that it's really expensive -- but we knew that and made the reservation anyway - that's how bad we wanted to stay in Durango. The only other hotel I'd consider is the Doubletree, but I don't know if it's been recently renovated - and if not, it's an older property. We enjoyed the stay - had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite, which is part of the reason for the expense - had the pool to ourselves Sunday morning. The complimentary breakfast helps defray the cost, and the selection and quality of food is pretty good, with very attentive staff. So Residence Inn, if you could just bring your rates down by about $100, you'd still be expensive but more in the range of what someone should pay for a hotel in a small southern Colorado town. Durango is charming and usually filled with tourists, but it doesn't feel rowdy even at its busiest. I'd stay again but would want to try to catch a deal on the rate if at all possible. Only "problem" I had (other than paying out the wazzoo) was a small group of kids who were racing through the halls Saturday night well after 10pm -- but all I had to do was ask them to stop, and fortunately they did.

Room Tip: again, price is nuts, but a 2 bed 2 bath is quite spacious and well laid-out
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Durango

Address: 21691 US Hwy 160 W, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Durango
#6 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Durango 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Durango Hotel Durango
Durango Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;