We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Durango to your Saves list
Super 8 Durango
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   20 Stewart Street, Durango, CO 81303   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Grand Junction, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Never again”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

The only good thing about this hotel was they had rooms for our whole family which took 4 rooms, the hold funds on debit cards plus some extra which bounced my checking account, made a point to ask the guy at the desk and he was o no mame we don't do that, when u got back home went to back and guess what they still had a hold on my account , thank god my aunt could cover for me so now I have a lot if bounce fees that I have to pay because I them, so if u stay here don't use a debut card!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Durango, General Manager at Super 8 Durango, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Grneyes1503,

I am sorry to hear you had a bad experience while staying with us. We do not charge the credit card or debit card until you check out. The system however does put a hold on the the card for the total amount of stay, to verify there are sufficient funds at check in. The system only authorizes the hold for total amount and nothing extra/more. If you feel that was not the case please give me a call at the hotel and we can investigate and get to bottom of this issue.

We hope this clears few things up as we want to make sure every guest enjoys their stay with us.

we hope to see you again in near future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    61
    74
    52
    33
See reviews for
82
89
24
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed 2 nights - front desk was exceptional, room was clean, comfortable, and value-priced for the season. Quick drivable access to the RR, downtown, and nearby grocery store. Will definitively lodge here again next time we visit.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Durango, General Manager at Super 8 Durango, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear TMan60,

Thank you for taking time to review Super 8 located in Durango Colorado. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff exceptional, our staff works very hard to insure all our guest are comfortable and enjoying their stay with us.

We look forward to see you again in very near future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This was a good hotel at a good price relative to tourist season in Durango.

The breakfast room was good but needed more seating. Everyone arrives at once if they are riding the DSNG RR. All the Super 8's have waffle makers and a sign saying one needs to flip it to start the timer might be good. Someone will tell you eventually but for first time users a sign would help avoid the frustration.

Our stay was three days and on the first day I pointed out that there was no spindle on the toilet paper dispenser and the TP was just sitting on the tank top. It was still not fixed when we left, but that was my only negative observation. I would have expected it would have been replaced when we returned that night. The other observation was that there were two of us and only one soap was provided. Not critical, but it IS a personal hygiene item.

Room Tip: No noise issues. I never sleep late on travel as I want to maximize my daylight photo-ops, but for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Durango, General Manager at Super 8 Durango, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Roger,

Thank you for taking time from your busy schedule to write us a review for Super 8 in Durango.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us at Super 8 in Durango. We realize that not all our guest might have used the waffle maker on their previous stays, therefore for guest's convenience there are two step by step signs posted on waffle batter and next to the machine. As we want to make sure the guest are able to enjoy fresh waffles during their stay. I am sorry to hear that there was an Issue that we were not able to address it immediately. We want to make sure our guest are comfortable with their stay at Super 8. We strive to provide the best customer service possible.

We hope to see you again in near future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We first stayed at another hotel the day before and we switched the next night to the Super 8. Everything was nice the hotel , But did not try the breakfast so I can not comment on that! Check in and out is easy! You can also washing machine and dryer if you need it!

Room Tip: Good Quiet rooms for the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Durango, General Manager at Super 8 Durango, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear 07escape,

Thank you for writing a review for Super 8 located in Durango Colorado. I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We want all our guest to enjoy their and explore Durango to its fullest potential.

We hope to see you again in near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gallup
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed here and thought it couldn't be too bad to manage for one night. We were surprised over the spacious, clean, quiet room. Free wifi in room and refrigerator and coffee maker!!! Great stay and comfy bed. No complaints. Oh and free breakfast!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Durango, General Manager at Super 8 Durango, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear gkhe1980,

Thank you for reviewing Super 8 in Durango, I am glad you were able to enjoy your stay with us. Hopefully next time you will have more days to spend with us, and would get to truly enjoy the surrounding areas and the best of Durango has to offer.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here in August of 2013. The rooms were a little out dated, but they were very clean. I could care less about how new the place looks, as long as it is clean. However, for people that like a new look to their hotel, I remember a sign said they would be renovating soon. I do not know if the renovation has started, but it will eventually get a face lift.
The staff were all really nice and asked if we wanted their suggestions on places to go/ things to do. I used to live in Durango, so I declined, so I cannot comment on their suggestions.
The breakfast is a typical motel breakfast (waffle iron, cereal, yogurt).
The bed was uncomfortable to me, my boyfriend thought it was comfortable.
I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Durango, General Manager at Super 8 Durango, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Ksks1234,

We are really glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We are happy to hear you found our staff friendly.

Since your stay with us last year, we have completely renovated the rooms, we have new mattress, furniture and tvs.

We hope to see you again on your next trip to Durango.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
3.6 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#8 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
5.4 mi away
Iron Horse Inn
Iron Horse Inn
#17 of 30 in Durango
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
EconoLodge Inn & Suites - Durango
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Durango Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Durango

Address: 20 Stewart Street, Durango, CO 81303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Durango 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory Hotel Durango
Super Eight Durango
Durango Super Eight
Durango Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.