We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay at Super 8” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory to your Saves list
Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   20 Stewart Street, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    44
    59
    40
    27
See reviews for
56
72
18
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Denver
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Had a room for the right price, but way too much deodorizer used. I seriously had to sleep with the window open. Never again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Durango, General Manager at Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Michael

I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us at Super 8 in Durango was not enjoyable. As we are preparing the room for our next guest for their stay with us, we use deodorizer along with other air freshener to insure the room is smelling fresh. We realize that everyone has different tolerance for smell, we wish you would have brought this issue to our attention soon as possible, we would have gladly moved you to another room that was more suitable to you. As we want to make sure all our guest are comfortable and able to enjoy their stay with us. We hope the next time you are in area you will stay with us again, and we are confident that you will have more enjoyable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benicia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The bed was comfortable, but the room was spartan. The carpets were worn, especially in the hallway. I could smell stale cigarette smoke around the property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Durango, General Manager at Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Mark,

I am sorry to hear that your stay with us at Super 8 Durango was not to your complete satisfaction. As you might be aware, we have few smoking rooms on property. As we are working on renovating the property, we are moving toward completely NON SMOKING. As we understand that smell of smoke bothers our guests, and we want to make sure all our guest are able to enjoy their stay with us. I am sure on your next stay with us, you will find this property beyond your expectation. We hope to see you again in near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green County, WI
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Ended up here as a storm was coming up and we were on a motorcycle. ERROR! A horrible place to be trapped in. (Hint to owners - if you want to make a motorcyclist happy, have some old rags/towels that can be used to wipe down the bikes). Desk clerk was either new or just clueless - very slow, and knew absolutely nothing about the area. Comforters dated back to the 80's - pilled, patched, pieces of the foam backing missing. Beds looked like they had not been changed, or if they were, the sheets were put on so fast they were pre-wrinkled and partially off the beds. Big chunk of carpeting had been cut out and replaced - I don't even want to know what happened there. Holes in the screens. Water at sink was either on full blast (like - take a shower while standing there) or not on at all. The sound of the toilet flushing was enough to probably wake up the people next door. If I was in Durango again, I would stay at one of the motels closer to the action downtown - plenty of restaurants and shopping, whereas this property is more on the highway at the outskirts. On a positive note - a sign in the lobby said this dump is being remodeled next year - can't come a moment too soon.

Room Tip: Best advice I can give is just don't stay here. there are plenty of other motels in Durango.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Durango, General Manager at Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear N R,
I am very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We usually have old rags outside so people can use rags to wipe down their bikes or clean off anything else. We bring those in if it really windy or rags needs to be washed. If you would have let us know that you required some rags, we would have gladly provided them to you. We are in process of doing renovation, so we are replacing all the furniture’s, beds, tvs, lights and carpets, as you might have seen from our poster near front desk. We are confident in your next visit to Durango, you will find Super 8 well beyond your expectation. We hope to see you again near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory

Address: 20 Stewart Street, Durango, CO 81301
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory Hotel Durango
Super 8 Durango
Super Eight Durango
Durango Super 8
Durango Super Eight

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.