We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best desk clerk.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Durango to your Saves list
Super 8 Durango
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   20 Stewart Street, Durango, CO 81303   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead and Save 15%
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Van Buren
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Not the best desk clerk.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We arrived at this Super 8 early but had a reservation. when we got there, at 1 PM, the desk clerk took our money for the room but told us check-in time was 3 PM and she had no clean rooms. We, hardly, believed that. We dropped our motorcycle trailer where she told us to then my husband went back in to find a bathroom. She said there was no bathroom and she couldn't allow him to go into any of the rooms. This would not have been a big deal if she hadn't been so rude. When we returned at 3 PM, we were happy to see another desk clerk, who was very polite. The room was clean, we had all the amenities and it was the standard breakfast. It's amazing how desk clerks vary from Super 8 to Super 8. This motel is conveniently located and we would, probably, stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Durango, General Manager at Super 8 Durango, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review. We are sorry that you had bad experience with our front desk employee. We are going to talk too every front desk employee and make sure this does not happen again. Our goal is to provide best service possible and unfortunately we did not meet that standard. We hope to see you again in near future and we promise you will have pleasant experience.

Thank you
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    55
    65
    44
    28
See reviews for
67
79
22
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
CALISTOGA
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Back entrance was dirty and smelled of cigarettes. Halls were dirty with soiled carpet and odor.
Room was large and fairly clean and quiet.

Guests upstairs were noisy but overall we got some sleep.


  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Super 8

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Super8Durango, Manager at Super 8 Durango, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write the review, we really appreciate it. The hotel is under new management and we are working on improving property. Your review will help us on areas to focus on. We hope next time you are in area you would come visit us and find property beyond your expectation.

Thank you again
Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Super 8 Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Durango

Address: 20 Stewart Street, Durango, CO 81303
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Durango 2*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Super 8 Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Durango / Purgatory Hotel Durango
Super Eight Durango
Durango Super Eight
Durango Super 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.