We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best places in Durango” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Durango to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Durango
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3777 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points!
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“One of the best places in Durango”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

This is a great place to stay in Durango. Its on the North end of town, minutes away from the Historic center of town. You can take the public trolly from the stop just outside the door. Saved us on finding parking downtown on a busy evening. Its only a 25 minute drive to the ski area. The rooms were very clean for being an older Hampton Inn, and the staff was really friendly and very helpful. The breakfast is the usual Hamton offerings, but the staff was really friendly and made the breakfast experience really fun and informative. I've stayed in other hotels in Durango and find the Hamton to be the best, one of the cleanest and compaired to the costs per night at other hotels, its a great value for the services and the included breakfast. We plan on coming back this winter to go skiing and will stay at the Hampton because of its close location to downtown and the easy drive to the ski area.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    194
    57
    15
    6
See reviews for
211
211
30
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Similar to other Hampton's as far as room size, beds, breakfast, etc. Different in that they seem to always have sports teams, bands and other loud, young people staying here. One night, we got put under the stairs and we didn't sleep a bit, but did get our money back. The staff was friendly and with some urging will take care of you, if you complain enough. We plan on staying here one night in December, and hopefully there won't be too many loud teams staying. Compared to most places in the Durango area it's a pretty good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Rockies
Level Contributor
140 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Typical, friendly Hampton Inn. Front desk staff extremely friendly and knowledgable about local area. Halls a bit depressing, seemed like an older motel in appearance, but nothing "wrong" that I could put my finger on.

Standard Hampton Inn Breakfast fare (sadly, the cut fruit is too full of artificial preservatives for me, as is in all Hampton Inns, not enough gluten free choices, but whole fresh fruit is available) but hubby was thriled to find Bisquits and Sausage Gravy on the menu (they don't serve it in East Coast Hampton Inns and not something I care for anyway). Many people LOVE the full breakfast buffet choices however, if they're "typical American processed food eaters!"

Great "locals" self-serve BBQ place a few doors down, and the hotel had "free drink with sandwich" coupons - $23 dinner for 3 people! Huh? Yep! The smoked brisket was so good we got extra for snacks the next day.

Enjoyed the pool and hottub too.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
133 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

Pluses:
Friendly and helpful guy at receiption.
Good breakfast - slightly above the average of other chain motels
Plenty of parking.
Free internet access (service dropped a lot at busy times).

Negatives:
Well out of town - about a 12 minute drive.
Slightly dated room and bathroom - but within the range of acceptable.

Summary
Good value and a good standard for Durango. The Durango hotel market isn't very dynamic and hotels tend to charge above average rates - the Hampton Inn provided a good room for the price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampK9, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Durango, responded to this review, January 28, 2011
Thank you for your review of the Durango Hampton Inn. We're glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and are pleased that you would recommend us to your friends.

I would like to make a clarification as to our location and proximity to town. Durango's Main Street is approximately 4 miles long. We are located on the North end of Main, only 2.2 miles or 5 minutes from the heart of the Historic District and 3 miles from the Durango/Silverton Narrow Gauge Railway station. It may be too far for most people to walk, but the city provides a free trolley service to the Historic District. The trolley stop is located just outside our front door. The advantage to this free service is the elimination of needing to find parking and then paying for it once you've found it. Many of our guests use the service to avoid the all day parking fees while riding the train.

We may not be in the heart of the Historic Distict but our central location makes it an ideal spot for those who have activities in the Downtown area, Fort Lewis College, Durango Mountain Resort, Mesa Verde or plan on riding the train. Being located on the North end of town makes our location a bit quieter in the morning when the train starts running at 7:30 in the morning and the hustle and bustle of towns activites get underway at the start of the day.

Thank you again for your nice review and allowing me to explain where we are located.

The Management-Durango Hampton Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sedona, Arizona
Level Contributor
166 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

Typical Hampton Inn. Clean and neat rooms. Good breakfast. Overall a good value.

What almost ruined our visit was that a tour group was staying there at the same time we were. Tour groups are a royal pain. The people mill around at all hours, cover up the breakfast area, and cause traffic jams at the front desk area upon their checking in and leaving. Honestly, we got up around 530AM, packed, and left shortly after 615AM to avoid the tour group.

I'm sorry if that comment about tour groups offends anyone, but we simply dread staying at a hotel when there is a tour group there also.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2010

My wife has allergies and the room set them off. We had to leave the window open. The hotel gave you the feeling of an older hotel that is heavily used and is struggling to stay up. We looked at rooms at some of the other hotels and they did not appear to be much better.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

Located away from the downtown hustle & bustle (it's only 10 minutes away), the motel offers well equipped, clean rooms, a good included breakfast, and decent value. Higher priced "mountain view" rooms are not always worth the premium unless you like the parking lot between you and the mountains. Swimming pool and spa are well maintained although the outside patio is very small. Staff was very friendly and competent.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
4.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#8 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
2.6 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 707 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#1 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Durango

Address: 3777 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#1 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Business Hotel in Durango
#3 Green Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Durango 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Hotel in Durango, Colorado. Whether you are traveling to Downtown Durango or have a day trip planned to Mesa Verde National Park, we've got you covered.Enjoy free Wi-Fi, free breakfast daily and free parking at the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. Step back in time with a ride on the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad.Find great hotel rates, specials and packages all online for the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.