We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, if you don't need to be downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Durango Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Durango Hotel to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Durango Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3777 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early-Save up to 15%
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
204 hotel reviews
Reviews in 182 cities Reviews in 182 cities
778 helpful votes 778 helpful votes
“Very nice, if you don't need to be downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

From the outside the hotel didn't look anything special, but from the inside it was very nice. The check-in was extremely friendly and all of my requests about the room location were granted. We got a top floor room with a mountain view. This really is a parking lot view with some valley view. But hotel room view is one of the last factors I consider when choosing accommodation, so I didn't pay much attention to this. The room was very nice, clean and nicely prepared. There were even some welcome cookies, salty snacks and water bottles waiting for us on the beds. The rooms aren't the newest but are in good shape and obviously constantly updated. This year they must have changed the shower curtains as it was brand new. The rooms are a bit smaller than usually in the States which might be a problem if you come for a longer period of time and with more luggage. We used the coin laundry facility and found it clean and cheap. We were there for 2 nights and the hotel seemed to be completely full. This could be noted by the pool being constantly (over)occupied, so we didn't get the chance to use it, and with the parking lot totally full when we returned from a show downtown late in the evening. However it was quiet in the hotel during the night. Breakfast is average continental + some hot items, the real problem is the breakfast room. I estimate there are only between 8 and 12 tables, even these are crammed into a tiny corner, so we were having troubles getting in and out and the area filled up completely soon after they started breakfast. In such a busy destination with all year season they should adequately plan the breakfast area. This hotel is far north of downtown Durango, so you really need a car to get downtown. Paid slightly below 90 USD a night, which I found quite appropriate and would gladly visit again.

  • Liked — Good housekeeping
  • Disliked — Crowded and too small breakfast area
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    156
    45
    13
    4
See reviews for
160
157
26
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
willard, ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

the best hamton inn i've ever stayed at. wireless internet worked, beds were super. good tv channel selection. ac worked great.

  • Liked — room was clean and modern
  • Disliked — breakfast selection
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2007

We stayed at the Hampton for 7 nights at the end of June. The rooms were okay, but I expected more for the rate we paid. The breakfast was okay, but the breakfast seating area was very cramped.

We needed assistance from the front desk staff on a couple of occassions and had to find another hotel staff member to track down the front desk staff. One time the manager came out to help, and she seemed particularly clueless.

Their Mountian View rooms overlook the parking lot and very busy Main Ave. The alternative is looking at run down buildings or an alley, so I guess the parking lot view is better.

The hotel is located to far from the river or downtown to walk, you will need a rental car to get around.

  • Liked — the beds were comfortable
  • Disliked — the rooms were not well insulated so you could hear hallway noise and people above and next to you
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2007

This hotel was slightly above average. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean. They have those hot duvets in sheets but I asked for blankets which they did have. The windows do open and it was quiet on the backside of the hotel. The breakfast bar was average, adequate. Cookies in the evening. It was fine. All the hotels in a remote areas like this are over-priced for what you get. We enjoyed Mesa Verde very much and going one way on the train and one way on the bus was a very good idea. Durango is very nice, good restaurants, just fun to sit on the benches and watch the world walk by.

  • Liked — quiet but convenient location
  • Disliked — duvets
  • Stayed June 2007
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

Who would have thought this little roadside hotel would be so nice? The bed was awesome! Very, very comfortable. The room very clean. Staff was friendly and nice. Wonderful cookies offered in the evening. A little night light in the bathroom was a nice touch! Air conditioner quiet and no hallway/other guest room noise. Good free breakfast with a well-maintained eating area. I would recommend to anyone visiting the Durango area. The only drawback would probably be that it is further from the town area than most of the other hotels. But I'm still glad we chose to stay there. I'm pretty picky and found this place to be very nice.

  • Liked — The beds! Very comfortable.
  • Disliked — Nothing.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurst, Texas
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2006

Enjoyed a non-eventful three-night stay at this inn. The desk staff was particularly helpful in securing and booking passage on the Durango to Silverton narrow gauge railroad. Breakfast was a bit too crowded for my tastes, and liking hot breakfast much better, (and willing to pay for it) I elected to forego the free breakfast and took up Denny's on their offerings. Had no difficulties with the room, staff, or common areas. I would return to this inn and would recommend it to others.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Overcrowding in free breakfast service area
  • Tips/Secrets — Ignore testimonials - they are all briberies.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holladay, Utah
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2006

I have stayed at Hampton Inns many times and find them to be consistently above average. Unfortunately this location had a problem with their "fire alarms" inadvertantly sounding at various odd times including in the middle of the night. Also, the AC in our room was noisy and needed attention. I brought these items to the attention of the desk clerk. They have a 100% satisfaction policy and so she was happy to "comp" our stay for the night. That would be robbery on my part, but I did accept a small adjustment on our bill. For the most part our stay was very pleasant. I can recommend this location and the entire Hampton Inn chain.

  • Liked — Hampton Inn consistent quality
  • Disliked — Fire Alarms malfunctioned
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Durango Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Durango Hotel

Address: 3777 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Durango
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#2 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Durango Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Hotel in Durango, Colorado. Whether you are traveling to Downtown Durango or have a day trip planned to Mesa Verde National Park, we've got you covered.Enjoy free Wi-Fi, free breakfast daily and free parking at the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. Step back in time with a ride on the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad.Find great hotel rates, specials and packages all online for the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Durango Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Durango
Durango Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Durango Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.