We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Durango Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Durango Hotel to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Durango Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3777 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early-Save up to 15%
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersBronze level
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

This is a great little property. Easy to find and easy access to anything that you may want to do in Durango. Great breakfast selections each morning and different hot selections each morning. The beds were very comfortable. The staff was very accommodating and the general manager was present each and every morning during breakfast interacting with each guest. That is a big plus in my books. If my travel ever takes me back to Durango I will consider this hotel first.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    231
    149
    43
    13
    4
See reviews for
155
150
23
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is a little further from the downtown than I had realized and all of the restaurants nearby seemed to close quite early, but the young women at reception were very helpful in recommending a place to eat downtown and giving us directions. The room was dependably nice though I'm beginning to think that Hamptons all use a cleaning product with a strong fragrance that can be an issue for those with sensitivity. Overall, a good choice if you don't need to be right in town.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Had a nice stay at the Hampton Inn. As others have said, the hotel is not at all new but is in very good condition and clean. Looks like it has been updated not too long ago. Not in town but on the Northern outskirts. Amenities typical of most Hampton Inns. Greeted nicely at Check In late in the evening but morning front desk guy couldn't seem to muster a smile or a pleasant hello. Didn't seem he really wanted to be at work. The folks keeping the breakfast area tidy though were very nice. Parking was easy, I would stay again. You don't have too many view options as you can mostly look at a parking lot or apartments.

Room Tip: West side rooms probably quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We had a good time. Very clean and very friendly and helpful staff. We would come back next time we come to Durango. Maybe a bit more seating for the breakfast area would be helpful. It was packed on Sunday Morning. But staff brought extra chairs out when we asked them.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Booked two rooms for a family get-away weekend and called ahead to be sure we would have a mini-fridge and microwave in the rooms so we could heat some of our home-made meals and avoid eating out on the busy Mother's Day weekend.

Problem: neither room had a microwave. The manager on duty said she'd find one in another, empty room and have it sent to one of our rooms. Didn't happen. Spoke with the day manager and she said none of the rooms have microwaves and that I'd been misinformed--by at least two other members of her staff. Not the end of the world, but for our purposes, the misinformation caused an unnecessary problem. They made amends by allowing us to use the microwave in their complimentary breakfast kitchen.

Rooms have been remodeled; very clean, nice layout in the bathrooms and the new tile was a nice touch. Plenty of hot water and decent water pressure but the highly-touted "massage shower head" was abysmally broken and impossible to adjust.

Walls were a bit thin, so hall noise and room-to-room noise was noticeable, but we left the bathroom fan on to provide some white noise.

Thermostat worked well and the desk had plenty of plug-ins and lights. However the complimentary internet access was a convoluted mess to access and the front desk was no help at all in resolving the issue. Patience and perseverance eventually prevailed, though we had to use a little different method every time to make it work--all we can really say is good luck.

Complimentary breakfast was actually quite good, and the hostess was a pleasure to talk with. Hot eggs, bacon, waffles, oatmeal with numerous toppings, toast, juice, etc--actually exceptional in the world of complimentary breakfasts.

Overall, a decent place to stay but they lost significant points on the details. Misleading information prior to and at check-in is unacceptable; shower head is a key item that needs work and the internet access fiasco all hurt the score.

Room Tip: Get to the end of a hallway and away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Staff, amenities, and cleanliness are the best. I will always stay here when I go to Durango. It is convenient and on the road to Silverton. We enjoyed our stay very much. The Hilton Hotel chain always makes me feel welcome and the personnel are trained very well.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Hotel seems a bit old - but not at all 'beat-up'. The rooms are a bit small vs. some of the newer Hamptons - but again, nothing to complain about. Probably will need an upgarde in a couple years. Breakfast the usuall Hampton fare (very good). Quite a bit of room in the breakfast area - which is good for an older Hampton. Also a lot of room for sitting/eating.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Durango Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Durango Hotel

Address: 3777 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#1 Family Hotel in Durango
#2 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Durango Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Hotel in Durango, Colorado. Whether you are traveling to Downtown Durango or have a day trip planned to Mesa Verde National Park, we've got you covered.Enjoy free Wi-Fi, free breakfast daily and free parking at the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. Step back in time with a ride on the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad.Find great hotel rates, specials and packages all online for the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Durango Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Durango
Durango Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Durango Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.