We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Durango Visit - little "outside" the downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Durango Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Durango Hotel to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Durango Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3777 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early-Save up to 15%
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great for Durango Visit - little "outside" the downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Stayed here for a single night in this charming Colorado town. Durango has a wonderful vibe and this hotel was a great place to stay for the evening. Its location is a little outside of the main downtown area so be prepared to drive but it is only a few minutes away and during the time of the year we went (late March) traffic is a breeze. Hotel was extremely quiet and they really weren't that busy so got a great nights sleep. Breakfast was very good and well stocked and the front desk attendant in the evening was VERY helpful about suggesting local sites and food options. Durango is a great place to visit and I would recommend this hotel again!

Room Tip: If you have triple A definitely use it to book your hotel as we got about $15 off the rate with ours...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    156
    45
    13
    5
See reviews for
160
158
26
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Typical Hampton Inn, efficient, courteous, clean, nice amenities and most things working well. Minor annoyances in relation to people in hallway but they ended with a simple request. Definitely choose a room away from the road.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road which is quite noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Great place to stay & convenient location. Upgrades were great with a good price---we stayed during spring break, so prices could have been higher, but they weren't. Hotel was quiet in spite of many guests w/children. Breakfast was very good with a wide variety of choices. The staff was really good about replenishing the breakfast buffet. We will definitely stay here the next time we are in Durango.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

I have stayed at this Hampton property in Durango twice when heading up for ski trips, and this property does not disappoint. First off, the location is on the far north end of Durango, a short drive from downtown. If you are skiing, it is in a great location since you don't have to drive to town to get out before driving up to the resort.

The property is very well kept, from the lobby and breakfast area, to the pool and rooms. The rooms are in great condition, with comfortable bedding and a nice modern design. The pool area is what you would expect in a property like this, and the spa is great to soak your legs in after a day on the slopes.

The breakfast service is what you would expect from a Hampton. There is an attendant dedicated to taking care of the breakfast area in the mornings, so everything is kept well stocked and the area is kept clean. The breakfast is always a great value added to staying at Hamptons, and this property is no different.

I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a great value when staying in Durango. While it doesn't have the charm of the Strater, it is considerably cheaper and you will be well taken care of here.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Always reliable Hampton value and quality. Professional, friendly staff. Great WiFi. I can always count on a clean comfortable bed and pillows and a good night's sleep. Blah, blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah. Have I hit 200 characters yet?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I've been skiing in Durango for over 15 years and I always stay at this hotel. Last year the owner did an extensive remodel. Not only does this hotel look better than any other Hampton Inn I've ever stayed in, the owner paid special attention to wheelchair accessibility. There's plenty of handicap parking outside but the best part is the accessible bathrooms. There's lots of legroom under the sink, grab bars near the toilet, and there is a great roll-in shower with multiple temperature controls, shower heads, and grab bars as well as a wall-mounted fold-down padded bench. The desk in the bedroom also provides plenty of legroom and the closet has a lowered hanger bar. I've been using a wheelchair for 23 years and I travel extensively. This may be the most wheelchair friendly hotel I've ever stayed in...especially the bathrooms!

Green Features: This is definitely a hotel that is owned and managed by environmentally conscious folks.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Durango Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your experience at Hampton Inn in Durango, and for the assessment of our accessibility features. Our owner put a lot of consideration into the remodel and our guests have noticed. We do hope you will visit our property again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I’ve stayed here twice, both times while in town to ski, and have been extremely pleased both times. First, as far as location, the Hampton Inn is on the North side of town on the road to Durango, which makes it considerably closer to the mountain than many of the other hotels of equal price and quality in Durango. Second, I cannot think of another hotel that I’ve stayed at that has had a better complimentary breakfast selection. Lots of hot food options that really get your morning off to the right start. As for the rooms, clean would be the best description, not that they are not also comfortable. In fact, on the latter point, the beds make for a perfect place to collapse onto after a long day of fresh powder skiing at Durango. Lastly, for the quality of the room and my stay, I’d have to say that I was extremely pleased with the price and value. This location is well above the average Hampton Inn, which as chain hotels go, tend to be better than most to begin with. Only potential downside is that I think they could do a better job of salting and removing ice from immediately in front of the doors to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Durango Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Durango Hotel

Address: 3777 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Durango
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#2 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Durango Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Hotel in Durango, Colorado. Whether you are traveling to Downtown Durango or have a day trip planned to Mesa Verde National Park, we've got you covered.Enjoy free Wi-Fi, free breakfast daily and free parking at the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. Step back in time with a ride on the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad.Find great hotel rates, specials and packages all online for the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Durango Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Durango
Durango Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Durango Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.