We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, Hampton reliability” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Durango Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Durango Hotel to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Durango Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3777 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early-Save up to 15%
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wisconsin
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great value, Hampton reliability”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Always reliable Hampton value and quality. Professional, friendly staff. Great WiFi. I can always count on a clean comfortable bed and pillows and a good night's sleep. Blah, blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah blah. Have I hit 200 characters yet?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    156
    45
    13
    5
See reviews for
160
158
26
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

I've been skiing in Durango for over 15 years and I always stay at this hotel. Last year the owner did an extensive remodel. Not only does this hotel look better than any other Hampton Inn I've ever stayed in, the owner paid special attention to wheelchair accessibility. There's plenty of handicap parking outside but the best part is the accessible bathrooms. There's lots of legroom under the sink, grab bars near the toilet, and there is a great roll-in shower with multiple temperature controls, shower heads, and grab bars as well as a wall-mounted fold-down padded bench. The desk in the bedroom also provides plenty of legroom and the closet has a lowered hanger bar. I've been using a wheelchair for 23 years and I travel extensively. This may be the most wheelchair friendly hotel I've ever stayed in...especially the bathrooms!

Green Features: This is definitely a hotel that is owned and managed by environmentally conscious folks.
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Durango Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for reviewing your experience at Hampton Inn in Durango, and for the assessment of our accessibility features. Our owner put a lot of consideration into the remodel and our guests have noticed. We do hope you will visit our property again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I’ve stayed here twice, both times while in town to ski, and have been extremely pleased both times. First, as far as location, the Hampton Inn is on the North side of town on the road to Durango, which makes it considerably closer to the mountain than many of the other hotels of equal price and quality in Durango. Second, I cannot think of another hotel that I’ve stayed at that has had a better complimentary breakfast selection. Lots of hot food options that really get your morning off to the right start. As for the rooms, clean would be the best description, not that they are not also comfortable. In fact, on the latter point, the beds make for a perfect place to collapse onto after a long day of fresh powder skiing at Durango. Lastly, for the quality of the room and my stay, I’d have to say that I was extremely pleased with the price and value. This location is well above the average Hampton Inn, which as chain hotels go, tend to be better than most to begin with. Only potential downside is that I think they could do a better job of salting and removing ice from immediately in front of the doors to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

The Hampton Inn provides good service, clean and modern rooms and excellent proximity to ski locations. The price for the night at the Hampton Inn is quite good, and while not particularly unique, our stay at the Hampton Inn was relaxing, comfortable and enjoyable. The hotel and rooms were decorated in a modern and tasteful style. There was free coffee available at all times, and the breakfast buffet was quite good. It was a great way to start the morning before skiing. In short the Hampton Inn Durango is pleasant and comfortable at an accessible rate.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Hotel and room were both very clean. Staff was friendly and curteous. The fitness center was located at a gym down the street. It was a little inconvenient but a nice facility. Only complaint, the walls were a little thin at night but other thanthat the hotel was very nice and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Durango Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing Hampton Inn for your recent visit to Durango! Thank you also for reviewing your stay on TripAdvisor. The Community Recreation Center, just 10 blocks south of the hotel is a well utilized and popular amenity for our guests. The offerings of the facility outway the travel time for most guests. We do hope you will visit our community and hotel again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We were pleasantly surprised by the quality of our stay in Durango at the Hampton Inn. There were many hidden bonuses. At first we were hesitant to stay so far away from Downtown as we like to walk around but then it was quiet and more family friendly. The recreation center passes were a wonderful amenity. We enjoyed the restaurants within walking distance as well as the market. A first rate experience and we will return. Thank you.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Durango Hotel, responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Thanks for staying with us and for taking the time to review your experience on TripAdvisor. We are just 2.5 miles from historic downtown Durango offering a quieter setting without compromising convenience. The City of Durango offers a complimentary trolley service with stops every 20 minutes. They stop just in front of the hotel and provide access to downtown-a great way to avoid the hassles of parking! The Rec Center passes are popular with our guests and the river trail is easily accessible as well. We do look forward to having you as our guests again, hopefully soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We were on a family business trip and wanted a clean, quiet place that we could get a good night's sleep, a warm breakfast and hit the road. The Hampton Inn fit the bill. It's on the main drag up to the ski slopes and on a February long weekend, there were some skiiers there, but it was still quiet, the room was clean and well appointed and breakfast was hot and ready first thing. The young man at reception was pleasant and helpful even the next morning after an extended shift. If you're not looking for something unique, if you just want a good place to stay, this fits the bill.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barb R, General Manager at Hampton Inn Durango Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for selecting Hampton Inn Durango for your recent visit! We do appreciate your business and thank you also for reviewing your stay on trip advisor. We are pleased that you were satisfied with your stay and hope that you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Durango Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Durango Hotel

Address: 3777 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#1 Family Hotel in Durango
#2 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Green Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Durango Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Hotel in Durango, Colorado. Whether you are traveling to Downtown Durango or have a day trip planned to Mesa Verde National Park, we've got you covered.Enjoy free Wi-Fi, free breakfast daily and free parking at the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. Step back in time with a ride on the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad.Find great hotel rates, specials and packages all online for the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Durango Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Durango
Durango Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Durango Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.