We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newly Remodeled...great stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Durango Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Durango Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Durango Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3777 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early-Save up to 15%
Ranked #2 of 30 hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersBronze level
Canyon, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Newly Remodeled...great stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Just passing through Durango to pick up daughter from camp. Quite a surprise when we ran across this hotel. Used Hilton points. Newly remodeled and a great breakfast. Will plan on staying here again. BTW, at the end of the trolly stop so it worked great.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    207
    134
    41
    12
    4
See reviews for
146
129
21
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Canyon, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel choice was a hit or miss when I booked. I was pleasently suprised with the quality. I have stayed many times with another hotel brand that I love. This hotel was just as nice. Saline pool, great breakfast, and clean neat rooms. There was a mix of families and business travelers. Thank you for a great stay. We enjoyed our vacation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I have read the reviews and have to say that I go along with the 5 star, especially with the choices you have here. There are no "big hotels" ie no Marriott, Hilton, etc at least the high end ones.

We actually had a reservation at the Knights Inn Midtown and when we drove up and asked to check in early THANK GOODNESS they didnt have a room available. My kids were literally scared to stay there!

So we went to Starbucks as had no wifi or cell service and booked a last minute AAA rate which was $175, more than I wanted to pay but knew that we needed a good night sleep and we wanted a pool.

The hotel is obviously older but has been remodelled in what I always call the "W" style as I think they were one of the first to adopt the dark wood/granite type accomodations.

Yes the rooms are small but I would especially in the smaller cities such as this a smaller room with GREAT beds and updated interior. We are travelling and there were enough outlets for us to charge 3 cell phones and 2 ipads.

Again remember that in Durango your choices are VERY limited - these level which are probably B+ hotels are THEIR A++ hotels, most of the other motels

Would definatley return!!!

Room Tip: ask for one with a view - the corner rooms dont have much of a view- we were in 325
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very comfortable, very clean and staff very helpful! The beds are true Queen size and very comfortable. The hotel's location in town is easy access to many activities we did while on vacation. Would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hotel was recently renovated and beautifully done. Location is convenient to visit popular places in/near Durango. Continental breakfast was ok, very convenient with young children. Overall hotel was clean and fresh.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parker, Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel. The room was a bit small, but the beds were comfortable...until we found a bug (a stink bug) on one of the beds on the day we were checking out. A good thing since I would not have stayed in that room if I had found it earlier.

My main concern is that when I brought it up at the front desk while checking out, nothing was done about it, no apologies no discount offered. I was under the impression this was not the first time it happened. For $200 a night, we were expecting better!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute when we decided an 8 hour drive after a 3 day backpacking trip would be nearly impossible. As soon as we walked in there was a table of coffee, tea, hot chocolate and a plate of yummy cookies. I appreciate little perks like this! Our room was clean, had a very comfortable bed and a nice bathroom - just what we needed for the night. The staff was also extremely friendly (noticeably so) which I appreciate as well. The free breakfast in the morning was nice although just your generic continental hotel breakfast. Everything looked brand new and clean. My husband and I were very impressed with this hotel and plan to stay here if we are ever in Durango again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Durango Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Durango Hotel

Address: 3777 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#1 Family Hotel in Durango
#2 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Green Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Durango Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Hotel in Durango, Colorado. Whether you are traveling to Downtown Durango or have a day trip planned to Mesa Verde National Park, we've got you covered.Enjoy free Wi-Fi, free breakfast daily and free parking at the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. Step back in time with a ride on the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad.Find great hotel rates, specials and packages all online for the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Durango Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Durango
Durango Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Durango Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;