We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service and bugs” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Durango to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Durango
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3777 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points!
Ranked #2 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Poor customer service and bugs”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My family stayed for three nights at the beginning of June. AC unit failed on one of the hottest day ever recorded in Durango, 95+. Staff's response to our concerns about the AC unit was to blame us for over using the system. They told us to turn it off for several hours and deal with the heat. The room was so tiny that a portable unit or fan could have cooled it off in 10 minutes... no other rooms available and no additional remedies suggested. Quality customer service….

Finally, of the course the stay my son noticed bug bites on his legs, arms and head. We thought it was just from us for hiking and walking around Durango and no one else had bites, until the last day when I started to see bites show up on me. My son and I are the ones that slept in the bed by the window and stayed on that side of the room. We were the only ones bit. Not cool, probably bed bugs.

Never again will we stay in a Hampton Inn and you are warned.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampK9, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Durango, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
It will go without saying that all hotels take the report of bed bugs extremely seriously. We are surprised that neither you, nor anyone else has reported this discovery to the front desk staff. Since your review we have requested that our pest control company come for an inspection immediately. They inspect our property once a month. Also surprising about your bed bug accusation is that the mattresses were replaced during our recent remodel and the beds were inspected during our spring cleaning and thoroughly gone over while rotating and flipping the mattresses. It is with regret that you did not notify us immediately so that we could have started the investigation process sooner.

It is very clear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and for this we are very sorry. It is our hope that all our guests have the best experience possible and thoroughly enjoys their stay with us. As much as we try to keep everything working and in excellent condition, sometimes things break down and need to be repaired or replaced. Depending on the day of the week or the time of the day a report is made can greatly influence how quickly the repair can be made. We regret that your air conditioner was not fixed quickly and the staff did not seem empathetic to your discomfort. If the hotel was full we would not have had the ability to switch you to another room. We will of course address this issue and make it a goal that no other guests are inconvenienced by a similar situation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

511 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    168
    49
    13
    6
See reviews for
183
172
27
63
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
placerville, ca, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Excellent breakfast with good choices, even waffles the room was nice and the bathroom large with a nice shower really the only thing was I thought It is a little far out of down town area for our purpose .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We stay at Hampton Inns across the country. We expect a nice, large, comfortable room. Not in Durango. The rooms here are small and cramped. Yes, the rooms have been given a modern update look very nice. But you can't make the rooms larger. Beds were clean and comfortable. The Hotel was packed and parking was challenging. This hotel is the furthest from the center of town. You can't walk to the historic old town of Durango.

Over all, this is a good hotel. The Breakfast is very good (typical of Hampton Inn).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampK9, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Durango, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Osodoro thank you for your review of the Hampton Inn- Durango. As you pointed out in your review the remodel accomplished many things including a clean, comfortable and fresh look. What we lack in size is more then made up for by a friendly accommodating staff, clean rooms, very fast free high speed internet and a breakfast selection that beats the competition. You might not have been aware that we have several suites available for those who need a bit more room to stretch out. On a return visit please ask for one of these rooms if size and space are important to you. Again you point out that we are on the north end of town. A very quick 5 minute drive will have you arriving in the Historic District or you can always take advantage of the free trolley available right out side the front door. Within walking distance is our state of the art rec center and the ever popular river walk trail. For those who are a bit more ambitious, you can get to the historic distract on this beautiful trail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Kilbride, Scotland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

The wee map on Tripadvisor is a bit misleading because we were surprised at how far from the centre the hotel is. However, the room was spotless and attractive and ...... well, it was a Hampton Inn and they are formulaic. The distance from the centre of town isn't really a problem because nobody seems to walk in the USA anyway and there are plenty parking spaces in the lovely town centre. Breakfast was perfectly adequate and the staff were all lovely and friendly, with the manager keeping his cool when some idiot set off a fire alarm at 8:15 by (we heard) smoking in a non-smoking room. We all stood outside wanting the culprit put in stocks, but the manager handled it well. We'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, Colorado
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Not your standard Hampton Inn. Rooms are small and cramped. No exercise room! And not close to downtown entertainment area. Simply not your usually reliable Hampton Inn. They should not advertise this property as consistent with the rest of the hotels in the system.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with some natural light
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampK9, Public Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Durango, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Lewis S we are very disappointed that we were not able to meet your needs and that you were disappointed in your stay with us. For those that are reading this review, we would like to address a few of your concerns. You are right that we passed on providing you a dismal excuse for an exercise room so often found at hotels, and instead offer you free passes to our state of the art, 15 million dollar recreational center. The center meets the needs for all interested in exercise opportunities. It is located half mile from the hotel and is accessible by taking a 3 minute ride on the free trolley. For those interested in the historic downtown area, the 5 minute ride by trolley will take you there as well, “free”. If you want to drive, its 1.5 miles to the downtown center and 2 miles to the train depot. It is a bit baffling how the north end of town is no longer considered part of Durango. It is also worth noting that the Hampton Inn-Durango is consistently rated as one of the top 25% Hampton Inn’s in the country. Sometimes it is not possible to please everybody, but we sure welcome you back and please consider taking advantage of our recreational opportunities, the beauty and quiet of the north end of town, easy access to town, the river trail, and Durango Mountain Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Clean, friendly, and a good value. Rooms were better than I expected for a Hampton and the breakfast was good as well. The location is very convenient to the mountains and a short drive into downtown. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taos, New Mexico
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We are Riding the Colorado Rockies and have been staying in hotels every night in various Colorado Mountain towns. This is a Gem among hotels: quiet, comfortable, CLEAN, friendly and helpful staff. They handled their full hotel as if each customer was important. I am so impressed, I wish we could stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Durango

Address: 3777 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Green Hotel in Durango
#3 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Durango 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Hotel in Durango, Colorado. Whether you are traveling to Downtown Durango or have a day trip planned to Mesa Verde National Park, we've got you covered.Enjoy free Wi-Fi, free breakfast daily and free parking at the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. Step back in time with a ride on the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad.Find great hotel rates, specials and packages all online for the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, EasyToBook and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.