We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“verry verry good. can,t wait until my next birthday... they were great.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Durango Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Durango Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Durango Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3777 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early-Save up to 15%
Ranked #2 of 30 hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersBronze level
Greeley, Colorado
1 review
“verry verry good. can,t wait until my next birthday... they were great.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

whent skiing for my birthday. long time since i've been... if it wasnt for the wonerfull hot tub and great swimming pool i'd still be in bed. the maintenance guy even gave me a ride to the spa for a massage. couldn't ask for a better place to stay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    203
    130
    41
    12
    4
See reviews for
143
127
19
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My family and I made this hotel our base for our trip to Mesa Verde National Park. It is a little bit of a drive, but well worth it because Durango is such an interesting and charming city. The hotel was under renovation, so there was some minor inconvenience, but our room was clean and comfortable as we expect from Hampton Inns. The front desk staff was terrific, very knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. The breakfast area was rather crowded because of the construction, but the courteous and friendly staff made up for it. They add nice touches such as fresh cookies each night. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Fitness center was not available due to renovation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I am the primary caregiver to my father as he lives with me in Austin, TX. My father fell ill on Christmas Eve while visiting my brother. I flew into Durango to deal with it and bring Dad back home when he got discharged. Hampton was wonderful! They gave me a quiet room on the third floor at the end of the hall. They allowed me to use the microwave to make my dinners. The day I got Dad discharged one of the maids helped me get him into the room. As I was unable to plan anything they worked with me so much.They even allowed me to have a late check out as to not to move Dad until it was time for our flight.

Everything is standard Hampton. The white sheets and comforters. The yummy breakfast. Pool and hot tub. Very clean and updated. TV has enough channels. Little refrigerators to keep snacks.

The staff here is what made the difference for me. THANK YOU so much. Little angles on Earth to make one very stressed person comfortable. If I am back in the area I will stay no where else.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hempstead, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We've stayed at a few Hampton Inns over the past few months. This one was being renovated while we were there, as was one that we stayed at last month. Whereas the owners of the previous property we stayed at went out of their way to offset the renovation. This property did nothing. All the floorboards had been removed, there were plastic curtains hanging, there was a bit of construction dust. At least there was an indoor pool and hot tub -- both in good condition. The pool is large and the temperature perfect, even in winter. The location is quite far away from downtown, so you need to have a car to get to the historic area. The room was very clean and the bathroom looked new. The biggest disappointment to me is a lack of an exercise room. If you want to work out, you need to head mile down the road to a recreation center. So, all in all, not as good as any of the Hampton Inns we have stayed at recently, and hopefully once the renovation is complete it will be more up to par.

Room Tip: You do NOT want to be above the pool -- it may be noisy....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the Durango Hampton Inn to take our kids to the local Polar Express train ride. My children are 3 years old and 18 months, and my nieces are 4 and 2 years old. We received two noise complaints, one at 7:30 am in room, from lower residence and another at 11 am in pool from residence above. We researched our room booklet for the policy of "quiet hours" and did not find any company policies. When we approached the hotel manger, "Heather" regarding what the noise rules were, she handled situation so unprofessionally, I was dumbfounded. She immediately advised us that she did not think we would get offended at her approaching us, instead of explaining to us the policy then proceeded to tell my family and I that "we were the loudest guests she has ever experienced." I was truly offended at that remark. When I contacted main Hampton corporation they did not provide any assistance and stated it was up to us if we wanted to go to another hotel. We have yet to find the noise policy. I understand we may have been a bit noisy, but anybody with kids will state kids will be kids. I absolutely disagree with the pool complaint, because it was in the middle of day. Also, this is my kids vacation and I am not going to just sit my children on a couch. I don't complain at people slamming doors at 5 am, these are things you accept when staying at a high occupancy establishment. Whether you agree or do not, I have never been treated so unprofessionally and I have never ran into this situation at other hotels. Also Hampton may want to look into proper insulation. Do not stay if you have young kiddos, they did not make us feel it was a family friendly corporation.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed at the Hampton Inn Durango Sunday night 12/25/12. It was late when we checked in and the desk clerk, Josh, went out of his way to make us feel welcome. It looked as if the renovation was almost complete and and property has lots of nice details. The morning staff was as friendly as Josh was and the breakfast was great. We look forward to staying there again soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

First, the staff was very friendly and the management is going out of its way to avoid any inconvenience to its guests during the remodel. They schedule the workers between 10 AM and 5 PM to avoid noise, dust or disruption. We never saw them. That being said, the property definitely needs an overhaul and it is great that they are doing that. The decor was dated; the shower had weak water pressure and wouldn't hold the temperature (hot-cold-hot...you know the type.) The breakfast was a little disappointing compared to other Hampton Inn's we have frequented: not much variety or selection on the days we were there. I thought it was great that a coffee/tea/hot chocolate "bar" was set up for guest use throughout the day/evening and they served fresh cookies in the evening (that go VERY fast!). It's a bit out of the way for the Durango-Silverton train but it is in a quieter location away from downtown. And it didn't take long to drive to the train depot.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn Durango Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Durango Hotel

Address: 3777 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Durango
#2 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Business Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Durango Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Hotel in Durango, Colorado. Whether you are traveling to Downtown Durango or have a day trip planned to Mesa Verde National Park, we've got you covered.Enjoy free Wi-Fi, free breakfast daily and free parking at the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. Step back in time with a ride on the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad.Find great hotel rates, specials and packages all online for the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Tingo, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Durango Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Durango
Durango Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Durango Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.