We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but out of town location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Durango Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Durango Hotel to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Durango Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3777 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early-Save up to 15%
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersBronze level
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Great hotel, but out of town location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed two nights here and were more than happy with the hotel, which is very clean, spacious and comfortable. The only downside is its location which is right on the edge ot town heading out to Silverton, so getting downtown is a trek, but there is a free bus service that picks up close to the hotel and runs into the downtown area.
The included breakfast buffet was standard fare, but well presented.
The bedroom was spacious with a good bathroom and the included WiFi worked well.
There is no restaurant at the hotel so an evening meal does mean a trip out, but there is plenty of choice downtown.
All in all, happy to recommend this hotel which works hard to provide a good welcome and great service

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    156
    45
    13
    4
See reviews for
160
157
26
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen Park, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

The staff was very friendly and helpful w/all our questions. The room was clean and the entire hotel looked recently remodeled. Our 1 room suite was what I would expect - not huge but perfect for what we needed. If you want walking distance to train depot this is not the place. This hotel is located at the other end of Main Ave., but a quick 5 minute drive. Durango is not that big, Would definitely recommend this hotel and stay there again.

Room Tip: Wasn't interested in fitness center. Didn't see or use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, MO
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My wife and I were on vacation to the durango area, looking for a nice place to stay after an exhausting trip to Mesa Verde. We assumed wrongly it would be easy to find a comfortable, clean, new-ish hotel (not motel) in the durango area since this is such a popular tourist destination. It turns out however there are only 2 hotels in town that don't have doors that open outside. The hilton was nearly $200 a night, so that left the Hampton at around $150. Overpriced, but not for the area where everything is overpriced. We were not disappointed though! The rooms were all recently redone, and very comfortable. There was a trolley stop out front that we could take downtown so we didn't have to worry about parking downtown. The sign out front said "the finest rooms in town," and besides the hilton, I'm sure this is true.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Ida, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We made a quick trip to Durango to try a squeeze a summer vacation in before school started back in August. I spent hours on here trying to find the best hotel to stay at. Please - DO NOT let the fact that this one is not rated #1 fool you. We travel a LOT - and this was by far one of the GREATEST hotels we have stayed at - and we have stayed at some 5 stars!
The staff was super friendly, accommodating, and took care of you with a smile! The morning breakfast bar was really terrific. They kept it fresh, with LOTS of different foods to choose from - from hot oatmeal, "do-it-yourself waffles", eggs, bacon, sausage, breakfast pizza to cold cereal, yogurt, fresh danishes,and bagels. Plenty of juices, milk, coffee, hot tea or hot cocoa too. And there was an attendant there to keep everything clean and take your plate when you were done. And they also provide freshly baked cookies in the evenings!
We stayed in a queen suite. It had a main bedroom with 2 queen sized beds - VERY comfy beds, and a separate living room area with a pull-out couch, 2 TV's, 2 closets, a mini frig that has a small freezer ( that came in handy when I couldn't eat all of my ice-cream from the Cold Stone Creamery!) a microwave, coffeemaker, everything you can imagine!! The pool area was great, it is indoors, with a shower, stacks of fresh towels, and a great big jacuzzi tub.
If we go back to Durango - I am definitely booking with this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed this hotel. Friendly staff and clean hotel. My family enjoyed the indoor pool and jacuzzi. There is a complementary breakfast...and cookies in the afternoon. The free city trolley picks up in the front of the hotel...no need to drive to the historic main street to eat.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We like Hamptons because they have good beds, linens, are clean and staff is professional. This was as expected; no unpleasant surprises. Check in clerk could have been a bit more personable but she did her job efficicently. This hotel is on the north side of town, which we liked as it was away from the hustle. The trolley system works great to get downtown and back, and the stop is right in front of the parking lot.

Room Tip: Back side rooms may be quietier but we were on street side and it was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Hampton did a good job updating the hotel. We stayed in the 1BR suite, with two queens and a sleeper sofa. The sleeper sofa was a tight fit between the other furniture. Hotel was very quiet. New sheets every day of our stay. Wifi worked flawlessly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Durango Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Durango Hotel

Address: 3777 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Durango
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#2 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Durango Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Hotel in Durango, Colorado. Whether you are traveling to Downtown Durango or have a day trip planned to Mesa Verde National Park, we've got you covered.Enjoy free Wi-Fi, free breakfast daily and free parking at the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. Step back in time with a ride on the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad.Find great hotel rates, specials and packages all online for the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Durango Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Durango
Durango Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Durango Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.