We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Durango to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Durango
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3777 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn 2X HHonors Points!
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Columbia, MO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You get what you pay for...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My wife and I were on vacation to the durango area, looking for a nice place to stay after an exhausting trip to Mesa Verde. We assumed wrongly it would be easy to find a comfortable, clean, new-ish hotel (not motel) in the durango area since this is such a popular tourist destination. It turns out however there are only 2 hotels in town that don't have doors that open outside. The hilton was nearly $200 a night, so that left the Hampton at around $150. Overpriced, but not for the area where everything is overpriced. We were not disappointed though! The rooms were all recently redone, and very comfortable. There was a trolley stop out front that we could take downtown so we didn't have to worry about parking downtown. The sign out front said "the finest rooms in town," and besides the hilton, I'm sure this is true.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    183
    56
    14
    6
See reviews for
201
197
30
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mount Ida, Arkansas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

We made a quick trip to Durango to try a squeeze a summer vacation in before school started back in August. I spent hours on here trying to find the best hotel to stay at. Please - DO NOT let the fact that this one is not rated #1 fool you. We travel a LOT - and this was by far one of the GREATEST hotels we have stayed at - and we have stayed at some 5 stars!
The staff was super friendly, accommodating, and took care of you with a smile! The morning breakfast bar was really terrific. They kept it fresh, with LOTS of different foods to choose from - from hot oatmeal, "do-it-yourself waffles", eggs, bacon, sausage, breakfast pizza to cold cereal, yogurt, fresh danishes,and bagels. Plenty of juices, milk, coffee, hot tea or hot cocoa too. And there was an attendant there to keep everything clean and take your plate when you were done. And they also provide freshly baked cookies in the evenings!
We stayed in a queen suite. It had a main bedroom with 2 queen sized beds - VERY comfy beds, and a separate living room area with a pull-out couch, 2 TV's, 2 closets, a mini frig that has a small freezer ( that came in handy when I couldn't eat all of my ice-cream from the Cold Stone Creamery!) a microwave, coffeemaker, everything you can imagine!! The pool area was great, it is indoors, with a shower, stacks of fresh towels, and a great big jacuzzi tub.
If we go back to Durango - I am definitely booking with this hotel again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012 via mobile

We really enjoyed this hotel. Friendly staff and clean hotel. My family enjoyed the indoor pool and jacuzzi. There is a complementary breakfast...and cookies in the afternoon. The free city trolley picks up in the front of the hotel...no need to drive to the historic main street to eat.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
253 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We like Hamptons because they have good beds, linens, are clean and staff is professional. This was as expected; no unpleasant surprises. Check in clerk could have been a bit more personable but she did her job efficicently. This hotel is on the north side of town, which we liked as it was away from the hustle. The trolley system works great to get downtown and back, and the stop is right in front of the parking lot.

Room Tip: Back side rooms may be quietier but we were on street side and it was ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Hampton did a good job updating the hotel. We stayed in the 1BR suite, with two queens and a sleeper sofa. The sleeper sofa was a tight fit between the other furniture. Hotel was very quiet. New sheets every day of our stay. Wifi worked flawlessly.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed in a two queen bedroom + sofa bed. The beds turned out to be in two seperate rooms, which was very convinient for us. The room and bed quality was excellent. The matresses were firm and povided the basis for a good night´s sleep. The bathroom was clean and spacious. The room was equipped with everything, what a traveller needs. Breakfast was included and a good selection of food was offered. The hotel is located on the southern city limits on the road to Silverton. The price was not cheap, but justified through a good hotel experience. Compared to other hotels of a similiar hotel category in Durango you get definetly more for your money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I've stayed in many of the hotels in Durango over the years, but none offering the overall quality of this Hampton Inn. All of the bedding felt clean and fresh, the front desk staff was more than qualified, and the "continental" breakfast surpassed most in-house restaurants. This will now be my hotel of choice in the Durango area. Couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
4.6 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.7 mi away
Quality Inn Durango
Quality Inn Durango
#8 of 30 in Durango
4.0 of 5 stars 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#7 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 686 reviews
2.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
3.9 mi away
Comfort Inn and Suites Durango, Colorado
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Durango

Address: 3777 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#2 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Green Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Durango 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Hotel in Durango, Colorado. Whether you are traveling to Downtown Durango or have a day trip planned to Mesa Verde National Park, we've got you covered.Enjoy free Wi-Fi, free breakfast daily and free parking at the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. Step back in time with a ride on the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad.Find great hotel rates, specials and packages all online for the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your Hampton Inn Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Durango Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.