We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Kept Secret in Durango” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Durango Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Durango Hotel to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Durango Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3777 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early-Save up to 15%
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersBronze level
Centennial, Colorado
1 review
“The Best Kept Secret in Durango”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I've stayed in many of the hotels in Durango over the years, but none offering the overall quality of this Hampton Inn. All of the bedding felt clean and fresh, the front desk staff was more than qualified, and the "continental" breakfast surpassed most in-house restaurants. This will now be my hotel of choice in the Durango area. Couldn't ask for anything more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    156
    45
    13
    4
See reviews for
160
157
26
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Argyle, Texas
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

The rooms are adequate -- nothing fancy, but it comes with a free breakfast and is close to the attractions of Durango. Would definitely recommend it for the value. The front desk was also quite helpful when recommending restaurants and activities. Top notch.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

My stay at the Durango Hampton couldn't have been better. My primary judgment always comes from the quality of the beds and how well I slept at night. I slept better than I do at home! While this hotel is located on the main road through Durango, it is far enough from town that it was very quiet at night. Yet you can be in the heart of downtown Durango after only a several minute ride on the (free!) trolley that stops right in front of the property.
Everything else about this hotel is top-notch. The cleanliness is superb, the staff, including the general manager, is accessible and couldn't be friendlier. The free, hot breakfasts were varied and very tasty wth a wealth of choices from yogurt and fresh fruit to different hot slections each day. I also enjoyed the times I spent in the pool and hot tub. I commented to the staff on the lack of the ever-present chlorine odor that I usually encountered in the pool area of other hotels. I was told that this was because they use a care and filtration method that employs salt instead of chlorine. Since both were crystal clear, I thought this must be a better alternative as I certainly didn't miss the smell.
The decor in the rooms is very tasteful,the lighting is good and the bathrooom sparkled each day. It was obvious that everyone associated with this hotel took great pride in it and the service it provides to its customers. This is definitely my go-to place when I return to Durango.

Room Tip: No fitness center other than the pool, but get a pass to the rec center down the road offering a lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

We stayed at the Hampton Inn for a couple of nights during a mother/daughter road trip to visit the Great Sand Dunes, Mesa Verde and Santa Fe. I reserved a room based on trip advisor reviews and so glad that I did. We were given a first floor room that was obviously recently remodeled. It was very nice and clean. The room was relatively quiet in the evening and very comfortable for sleeping. I found the people at the front desk to be friendly and helpful, offering up restaurant recommendations and directions. The free breakfast in the morning was sufficient to help start off our day and the evening cookies and coffee in the lobby was a relaxing way of ending a day of walking and hiking. I found our entire stay to be quite pleasant and will not hesitate to stay there again if we decide to return to Durango!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hamptom Inn for 10 days to attend a family reunion. The rooms were newly renovated and quite pleasing to the eye, The western decor was appreciated. We were in a 2 bedded queen room and found it to be just fine for my husband and 2 children. The beds were comfortable and clean. The TV was large and offered premium channels and games. We had a small refridgerator where we kept water, milk etc. The bathroom was large, it included a hair dyer, coffee maker and iron. The room was spotless, the maids were attentive , friendly and brought extra towels as requested. We enjoyed the free wifi as we used our ipads and ipods daily in the room rather than having to go to the lobby.
We thouroughly enjoyed the free breakfast, with 2 kids breakfast can get quite expensive and the selection was great, eggs, waffles, cereals, breads, yogurt, oatmeal etc. Everyday there was a different hot meal offered. There were enough seats for the many guests and you could choose from either indoor or outdoor seating. The location was great, away from the hustle and bustle of downtown but only a short 2 minute drive or trolley ride away. We enjoyed the indoor pool and hot tub and used it mainly at night to wind down from our daily activities. We also made use of the recreation center passes where we enjoyed the full gym, pools, slides, children's play area, rock wall, pool table and ping pong.. This was a nice surprise and kept us entertained.
Beyond the physical ammenities of this hotel I don't think you will find a friendlier staff anywhere. Everyone we encountered was extrememly pleasent and helpful. They went above and beyond any hotel staff we have encountered before.
WE WILL DEFINATELY BE RETURNING HERE AND HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS LOVELY HOTEL.
Jeanine

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waukegan, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

All the rooms in this hotel have been recently renovated and are beautifully, tastefully done. The beds were extremely comfortable and bathroom exceptionally clean. The staff was very friendly and we were greeted each time we walked by front desk.
Also really enjoyed the pool, it is large and very clean and the temperature of main pool and hot tub were perfect.
Was impressed with "green" emphasis which even included a divider in trash can to keep recyclables separate from regular trash. I have never seen this before and was very pleased!
Located short, easy drive from downtown and free shuttles run on regular basis.
Overall very pleased with this Hampton Inn and can definitely recommend it. Hope to return someday soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

My family and I stayed here for a short vacation stay the hotel is situated with beautiful views and has a trolley stop just steps from the front door Quiet rooms, comfy bed. Front desk staff extremely friendly. Excellent breakfast selection. Close enough to town For easy access. Definitely our choice when visiting Durango!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Durango Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Durango Hotel

Address: 3777 Main Ave., Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Durango
#1 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#2 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Durango Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hampton Inn Hotel in Durango, Colorado. Whether you are traveling to Downtown Durango or have a day trip planned to Mesa Verde National Park, we've got you covered.Enjoy free Wi-Fi, free breakfast daily and free parking at the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. Step back in time with a ride on the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad.Find great hotel rates, specials and packages all online for the Hampton Inn Durango Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Durango Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Durango
Durango Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Durango Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.