We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate, but pretty shabby” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Travelodge Durango to your Saves list
Travelodge Durango
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   2970 Main Avenue, 30th & Main, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Simi Valley
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Adequate, but pretty shabby”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Well, I'm really not very fussy, but this was just an adequate place. It was clean, however, and the bathroom worked, so we were OK. Plusses: microwave and refrigerator in room, easy to find right on main highway. Problems: only one set of towels in the room and we were told that they didn't have any more. Front desk clerk did manage to find one extra bath towel and a couple of washcloths. Sort of creepy. Continental breakfast was the barest minimum items plus a waffle maker. However, I do know that Durango is a tourist destination and we were trying to avoid paying tourist prices, so I guess we can't complain too much.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMTripleHHospitality, Manager at Travelodge Durango, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Sorry for the inconvenience that you had to deal with at our hotel. That is NOT how we deal with our linens/terry. We did have a small linen fire which caused the storage. Since that time we have received new linen and terry and are making changes to our housekeeping staff as well. If you would give us a second chance if you come back to the area, Please call us directly and speak with our Regional Manager Hannah and she will make sure that your given a special deal. Again we apologize for the inconvenience that you had to deal with and we always want our guest happy and have the adequate linens/towels and supplies for your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    37
    61
    39
    30
See reviews for
68
57
25
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Wahoo
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Enjoyed the room & location, just had problem connecting to the internet. Maybe it was my computer, although I did not have any problems the whole week we were on the trip.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramada5157, General Manager at Travelodge Durango, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for the kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay despite the issue with connecting to the Wi-Fi. We only hope that should you find yourself back in Durango, you would consider staying with us again. Thank you again for the kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

The only reason to stay here is that you dont want to pay a lot; the others in this price range were reviewed worse. Personally I would not stay here again. LOCATION: On MainSt. not far from fun historic downtown & a trolley is across the street. FURNISHINGS: tired looking and old. Place mostly clean except few strains of long hair. One blanket had hard spots and lots of moth holes. Weird thick pillows but ok. A/C small & didnt cool whole room. Some furniture pieces cracked; or switches not working. Could see easily thru door jam to the outside. Sheets didnt fit right and/or not tucked in. 1 towel per bed. Soft/ok mattress. MANAGERS: all want to help, but say their hands are tied (by owners). Why does a MAJOR CHAIN NOT have a night manager--for ck. in; complain about noises; get supplies etc. FOOD: I went in June & the "May review" said there were eggs & biscuits/gravy but mgr. said NO. Every day we went in for breakfast an hour before B-fast closing, and everything was sparse: about 4 mini-muffins & 4 slices thin bread, and huge canister of 2 cereals. Hot waffle was good. NOISE: Construction going on in front & back of bldg. at 8am; birds nesting in several designs features, chirping begin. at 5am; big tours -and- "laborers" use this cheap hotel so lots of noise in mornings when they leave early. The plumbing system rattles every time used by anyone. Maid woke us up despite "Do Not Disturb" sign. BRING ear plugs. WEB SITE Confirmation --they lost it; bring your receipt! We were almost literally put out on the street, but clerk kept searching for solutions.

Room Tip: The rooms at the foot of the property having efficiencies (where we were), but are being converted i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramada5157, General Manager at Travelodge Durango, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
First I would like to apologize for the horrendous experience you had at our hotel. Yes, it was noisy, as there was work taking place in the alley way to patch holes that were in dire need of being filled. We do in fact like many other hotels host group tours at our hotel and yes we must confess, even the occasional construction worker/contractor. Incidentally, without them we would not have the civilization and progress we so nonchalantly enjoy today. So please don't knock them, or those who provide their lodging, they also need a place to stay to while traveling in the course of their jobs. Our housekeeping staff and laundry staff is in the process of being re-trained and/or replaced with those who take much more pride in their work. Our Towel inventory is in short supply due to having a dryer fire that scorched a fair porton of our Towels and washcloths and we are in fact waiting on a re-supply. Several issues are in the hands of the Partnership that own the property, such as the Night Audit/Manager, and the furnishing and remodel, surely we don't have an open checkbook or credit line as Management or employees to upgrade whenever we see or our guests see fit. Not exactly sure why you even make that a point in your concerns. Furthermore, we do not nor have we ever advertised that we offer Biscuits and Gravy or any meat products with our extended Continental Breakfast. There was ONE review in May from a guest that mentioned they enjoyed it, which is an obvious error. We do apologize that you found the COMPLIMENTARY Continental breakfast items sparse, any number of reasons can be attributed to why that would be (i.e. large number of people earlier on depleting the day's supply, the Front Desk clerk having been busy with checkouts, etc. etc.). We do apologize for being disturbed by the Housekeeping staff, ESPECIALLY with the DND sign on the door. That issue has indeed been addressed with our staff. Again, our apologies for the disturbance. We are curious to know however, how in the world did they wake you up at the ungodly hour of 8:30a.m. or later (the Housekeepers generally start @ 8:45 to 9:a.m.) with all that racket and noise going on?
We are genuinely sorry for the inconvenience you did suffer while staying with us, and we will certainly strive to improve upon the things that are within our power and ability.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there a few days ago to take the train to Silverton. The room was a double queen. It was small and the furniture old. The room is dated but the important thing is that is was very clean. The beds were comfortable!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ramada5157, General Manager at Travelodge Durango, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Yes, we are dated and the furniture is a little 'tired' as some have stated, however we are glad that overall you did enjoy your stay. Thank you again for your kind review and we hope that you will join us again if ever back in the Durango area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Travelodge Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Durango

Address: 2970 Main Avenue, 30th & Main, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Durango 2*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Travelodge Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Durango Hotel Durango
Travel Lodge Durango
Durango Travelodge
Durango Travel Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Travelodge Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.