We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful for the Holidays!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strater Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Strater Hotel to your Saves list
Strater Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Manager's Special
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Collins, CO
Level Contributor
123 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful for the Holidays!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

If you want something special and Christmasy, this is the place for you.

They dress up nicely for the holidays, with beautiful decorations accenting a naturally beautiful hotel.

If you're looking for new, modern amenities, skip it. But everything is still comfortable. It's almost like staying at your grandparents' house. Big antique furniture, lumpy beds, and 20-30 year old bathrooms. It all makes for a nice break from the usual and a fun trip back in time.

We were in town to ride the Polar Express with a 2.5 year old. Don't miss that one if you have kids! It's only two blocks away.

Lots of shopping and restaurants about 5 seconds out the door. I highly recommend the little French place at the other end of the block as you make a right out the front door for breakfast, and make a stop at the hotel's saloon for lunch.

Tip: unload in their loading space out front and then get directions to free parking. Don't fight for a street spot when it's busy.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

661 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    216
    67
    22
    15
See reviews for
135
340
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kailua
Level Contributor
51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2011

Good hotel hot tub downstairs was nice, room decent, charming and old. Nice touch was the notebook in the room where people shared their stories. Most of them were even tasteful. Bar downstairs was nice; overall a good experience.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

We were looking for an adventure and found it at the Strater. You feel like you can step back in time when you enter the lobby. Carved wood and classic details for a time gone by. The beds were very comfortable and rooms are clean and charming. We loved the touch of the diary that the hotel provided to leave your mark on this historic hotel. The Office is a great place to go and have a few drinks. We enjoyed the friendly staff and complimenry breakfast, especially the quiche and pisole.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
okc
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

Great hotel if you want an old fashioned antiquey kind of place, which we did. We were in the newer addition but it still had the old time look & feel. Breakfast buffet was much better than your average chain hotels. Location is right in the center of the historic area.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

We stayed at the Strater in 2009 for our anniversary, based on friends' recommendations. We loved our stay. The staff was so courteous, the room was gorgeous, dinner at the Mahogany Grill was exquisite, the location is perfect and the entire hotel has such charm! Room 233 was huge and gorgeous. It felt like a museum.

We decided to return for our 2010 anniversary and it was as wonderful as we remembered. We stayed in 332, which was didn't have the sitting area, but was still beautiful. We loved lying in bed, looking at the beautiful ceiling and wooden molding. We had another unforgettable meal at the Mahogany Grill (Brian was a great server), a wonderful brunch at the Golden Belle Saloon, and again, the most courteous service from the entire staff.

We cannot wait to return. We're happy to have this as our anniversary tradition.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

This place was really nice, the beds were comfortable, and the room was clean. The front desk staff was very helpful as well. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

This is a cool place to stay!. It's like returning to the wild west of the late 1800s and staying in the best hotel in town (with 2010 amenities of course). Everything about this hotel is charming--saloon with servers in appropriate costumes, happy hour bar, entryway, even the rooms with very nice antiques. It was fun just to hang out in the hotel.

We stayed in a standard room, which is a bit small. The bed is a full size bed, which is small. The room has period antiques and decor. The TV is maybe a 27 inch flatscreen and there are two sitting chairs and a table. Lots of counter space in the bathroom.

Continental breakfast is good, mostly the basics--cereals, juices, fruits, breads. Staff are very friendly and helpful.

The hotel is maybe two blocks from the historic train station and there are lots of good restaurants within a few blocks.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Strater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strater Hotel

Address: 699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#6 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1887, the historic Strater Hotel (Historic Hotels of America Member) is a prominent downtown Durango, Colorado landmark located two blocks north of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, one hour east of Mesa Verde National Park, and in the heart of the rugged San Juan Mountains. Experience the Old West, fine dining, shopping, and many year-round indoor and outdoor activities. The hotel is home to the world's largest collection of American Victorian Walnut Antiques, the Louis L'Amour Room (designated Literary Landmark), and three unique dining establishments including Mahogany Grille specializing in fine dining. For entertainment, unwind with daily live music at the Diamond Belle Saloon and The Office Spiritorium or take in a show at the world famous Henry Strater Theatre, home to the Durango Melodrama & Vaudeville (seasonal). For those wishing to create a memorable event consider Strater Catering & Events (weddings, group meetings, special events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Strater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strater Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.