We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you were dissapointed, give it a second chance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strater Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Strater Hotel to your Saves list
Strater Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Everyone's Local Package
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wrightwood, California
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“If you were dissapointed, give it a second chance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

We have visited the Starter several times and have always loved it. But I see some reviews, from people perhaps more accustomed to luxury than historic ambiance, that have voiced some disappointments. Our recent visit revealed a number of changes which should make the more critical guests more comfortable.

The old single pane windows which allowed street noise and train sounds to be heard have been replaced with modern, easy to open, dual pane windows which are much quieter. They can still be opened fully to allow fresh air and train whistles in if you choose. The new windows also help with room temperature, and this is made even more comfortable by the upgrade to new electronic thermostats which offer accurate temperature control.

The WiFi was always painfully slow and that has been corrected more than adequately. Internet speed now screaming fast.

One of my minor issues was the lack of a full breakfast in the hotel, and as a frequent Durango visitor (future resident) I have found several good alternatives to the Starters continental breakfast. But this visit we arrived on the first day of full breakfast service, a few kinks to work out, but the food was excellent. Depending on the package you have booked, your stay may now include continental, or free full breakfast, or I believe you can order and pay for a meal as a non guest.

So with new windows, new thermostats, great WiFi, and a new breakfast meal plan the Strater is better than ever.

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms on the 7th street side. A room with a Queen and Twin is much larger than a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    201
    58
    21
    15
See reviews for
126
300
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We were so impressed with this historic hotel. Friendly staff, beautiful rooms, yummy breakfasts,central location, plus it's just a gorgeous hotel. 'And very reasonably priced!We can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

How long has it been since we stayed at a hotel with character, maintained faithfully to it's origins, and yet modern and convenient? Well, the budgets, the chains and the box hotels cannot compare to this lovely lady at 135 years old. She is very well maintained, with antiques, nooks, and music in an old bar room.The furniture in our room was antique furniture, with matching woodwork, all matched with unusual pieces scattered around. The lobby with wonderful, the interior stairway is right out of a movie, and the hotel is even situated in the middle of the charming town of Durango on a block or so that makes use of their western heritage. There are ghosts here, for extra interest. The staff was very attentive, and proud of their place, it was obvious. They were so accommodating that we felt very well treated. The room came with a slightly upgradable free breakfast, and the $5.00 charge for that was minimal for the great breakfast that we got. All of this is worth saying - Don't miss this place, if you are in the four corners area, for Mesa Verde, or other needs.Great place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We pass through Durango about once a year and always stay here because of the quaint hotel and rooms. It's old but quaint and just fun to think of years gone by. Also comes with breakfast and priced reasonably too.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the older sections of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

First, I must say that I fancy antique hotels. They are so much more fun than new boring hotels that have about as much character as an operating room.

Living near Durango, I had never stayed in the Strater until this week. I needed to be up very early for work and stayed at the strater.

The Strater is among the best. I frequently stay at the Oxford in Denver which is the closest comparison I can come up with. Still the Strater feels nicer, and is much quieter than the Oxford. It has all the fun of a antique hotel, but the floors are quiet. The rooms are full of antiques. They have fun log books in the rooms that people write their experiences and messages to future occupants in. There were many funny things in the book in my room, including a bunch of entries about a fictional (hopefully) fish that someone left under the bed.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bed was amazing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We drove to Pasadena from Michigan this trip so we stayed at many different hotels. This part of the trip was for skiing. Durango is a cute town and the hotel is very historic and charming. Convenient to the slopes. The bar/restaurants in the hotel were great to grab a drink and relax in after a long, cold day outside. My problem here is the noise level. We could hear everything in the hallways and the kid bouncing off the walls above us.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This is an historic landmark, built in the 1880's with drop dead gorgeous woodwork throughout. The rooms even have genuine antique furnishings that match the building. You will feel like you have stepped back into a more genteel, relaxed time. They installed indoor plumbing in the 1920-30s thank goodness. The shower was hot, the water in the sink faucet actually tasted very good so I didn't have to purchase a bottle of water to take medicine with. You have to remember that this is a building over a century old. It is not a hotel built last year. If you appreciate it for what it is and not hold it to an impossible standard for it's age, you will enjoy your stay here. Remember your grandma isn't as young and spry as your children. But she is much more interesting to be around and hear stories from and about -- just like the Strater.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Strater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strater Hotel

Address: 699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#5 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1887, the historic Strater Hotel (Historic Hotels of America Member) is a prominent downtown Durango, Colorado landmark located two blocks north of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, one hour east of Mesa Verde National Park, and in the heart of the rugged San Juan Mountains. Experience the Old West, fine dining, shopping, and many year-round indoor and outdoor activities. The hotel is home to the world's largest collection of American Victorian Walnut Antiques, the Louis L'Amour Room (designated Literary Landmark), and three unique dining establishments including Mahogany Grille specializing in fine dining. For entertainment, unwind with daily live music at the Diamond Belle Saloon and The Office Spiritorium or take in a show at the world famous Henry Strater Theatre, home to the Durango Melodrama & Vaudeville (seasonal). For those wishing to create a memorable event consider Strater Catering & Events (weddings, group meetings, special events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Strater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strater Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.