We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming but loud” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Strater Hotel

Save Saved
You added Strater Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Strater Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Lost Package
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming but loud”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

We drove to Pasadena from Michigan this trip so we stayed at many different hotels. This part of the trip was for skiing. Durango is a cute town and the hotel is very historic and charming. Convenient to the slopes. The bar/restaurants in the hotel were great to grab a drink and relax in after a long, cold day outside. My problem here is the noise level. We could hear everything in the hallways and the kid bouncing off the walls above us.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    178
    54
    19
    9
See reviews for
116
262
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

This is an historic landmark, built in the 1880's with drop dead gorgeous woodwork throughout. The rooms even have genuine antique furnishings that match the building. You will feel like you have stepped back into a more genteel, relaxed time. They installed indoor plumbing in the 1920-30s thank goodness. The shower was hot, the water in the sink faucet actually tasted very good so I didn't have to purchase a bottle of water to take medicine with. You have to remember that this is a building over a century old. It is not a hotel built last year. If you appreciate it for what it is and not hold it to an impossible standard for it's age, you will enjoy your stay here. Remember your grandma isn't as young and spry as your children. But she is much more interesting to be around and hear stories from and about -- just like the Strater.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Had a wonderful stay with you all for this past New Years! Really fell in love with your beautiful hotel. I did a short blog about my trip there and shared a few great shots from The Strater here http://janethephilosopher.com/durango-co/ - thank you for making our stay with you memorable. Such a beautiful and history rich hotel!

Room Tip: Our room was facing the train station/railroad and it was so much fun to see the train going by, esp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We recently gave the Strater another try. Our first visit was plagued by very loud, drunk guests walking and screaming through the halls until 4am. This visit was no different. The nearby bars attract the party crowd + street noise = you shouldn't expect to get a good night's rest! The front desk staff seem uninterested in enforcing quiet hours. It really is a shame that our stay at this beautiful old hotel was ruined by drunk people with no respect for other guests and every insecure male with a loud truck exhaust system who wants to demonstrate his superiority on the streets of Durango! We'll take our money elsewhere next time. The Strater can keep the party crowd.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

This is a beautiful old hotel, full of history. The entire hotel, but particularly the Diamond Bell Saloon, was like stepping into a western movie. We were lazy and didn't get down for breakfast for the first 2 days. We did find a great French bakery just down the street that served all kinds of delicious menu items, including fantastic breakfasts.

The Office Spiritorium and the Saloon were both popular places and stayed pretty full in the evening. Had to wait a few minutes to be seated at the Office for a drink, but I did get to try an absynthe drink. (Not for me.) We had a nice lunch the next day in the Saloon with no wait. Service was good in both places.

Ours was a "classic" room which was quite nice with a brass bed, American Victorian style furniture, and some beautiful wallpaper. Bed was quite comfortable, and we had lamps on each side - that's a must for us readers. However, we do generally like a little more space, so we'll probably upgrade to a deluxe or premium room next time. We thought we were going to be short of counter space in the bathroom until we found a medicine cabinet behind the mirror. First time I've seen that in a hotel, but it made the room much more useable.

I normally want a cup of coffee as soon as my feet hit the floor. There was no coffeemaker in our room, but the hotel provided coffee on the buffet on each floor. I threw my coat over pj's, walked down the hall, & grabbed two cups.

One of the bellmen, (Landon?) gave us a tour of the hotel, including some of the deluxe and premium rooms. These were gorgeous - - and many were huge! Every room we saw was different and was furnished with unique pieces. He also pointed out some of the hidden openings (hidey-holes) in the woodwork at the hotel & told us interesting tales - - about the handgun that was discovered in a bureau by a guest, etc., etc.

We made it to breakfast on the last day. Food, service, and coffee were all good. I only had coffee, juice, and pastry, but my husband had the full upgrade. Was a nice surpise to have that breakfast included.

Next time we will give the Mahogany Grille a better try. Just didn't work out this trip for us to have an evening meal there. Would like to have breakfast offered a little later since we tend to be lazy on vacation. Staff was very helpful and friendly. We are definitely recommending it and want to go back.

Room Tip: If you like large, spacious rooms, I would recommend a deluxe or premium room instead of a classic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

Great location. Beautifully old restored hotel. Helpful staff. Only complaint is that the room was small. We were forewarned so I should complain. Ask for the AAA or senior discount. The continental breakfast that was included in the price was adequate. The did offer an upgrade for the breakfast that was reasonable, but we did not find the need.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you,

Michelle Thom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le Cannet, France
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We loved this hotel. An old and beautiful building on main street. A warm atmosphere, antic furniture. We may think we are one hundred years back. Rooms are comfortable with nice furniture. You can have diner in the small bar with music and western waitress. A very good breakfast buffet in the morning. A place to remember and to come back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you,

Michelle Thom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strater Hotel

Address: 699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Durango
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strater Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1887, the historic Strater Hotel (Historic Hotels of America Member) is a prominent downtown Durango, Colorado landmark located two blocks north of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, one hour east of Mesa Verde National Park, and in the heart of the rugged San Juan Mountains. Experience the Old West, fine dining, shopping, and many year-round indoor and outdoor activities. The hotel is home to the world's largest collection of American Victorian Walnut Antiques, the Louis L'Amour Room (designated Literary Landmark), and three unique dining establishments including Mahogany Grille specializing in fine dining. For entertainment, unwind with daily live music at the Diamond Belle Saloon and The Office Spiritorium or take in a show at the world famous Henry Strater Theatre, home to the Durango Melodrama & Vaudeville (seasonal). For those wishing to create a memorable event consider Strater Catering & Events (weddings, group meetings, special events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Strater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strater Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.