We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A taste of west” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strater Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Strater Hotel to your Saves list
Strater Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Le Cannet, France
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“A taste of west”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We loved this hotel. An old and beautiful building on main street. A warm atmosphere, antic furniture. We may think we are one hundred years back. Rooms are comfortable with nice furniture. You can have diner in the small bar with music and western waitress. A very good breakfast buffet in the morning. A place to remember and to come back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you,

Michelle Thom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

629 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    210
    61
    21
    15
See reviews for
131
316
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Midland, Canada
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

On a recent trip to ride the rails we stayed at the Strater Hotel situated in Historic Downtown Durango. The hotel was built in 1887 and you can feel the Old Wild West inside its lobby. The Strater is jam packed with antiques and memorabilia and has the largest collection of American Walnut Victorian furniture. The Hotel also has a Louis L’Amour Room, The Diamond Belle Saloon, The Office Spiritorium and The Mahogany Grille. Lots of things to do if you so choose.
We arrived at dinner time and the streets were lit up and were filled with tourists.
The lobby had a welcoming beverage station with citrus water, scones ( they were doughy and decorated in red and green) coffee and tea.
True to its claim, the lobby was packed and decorated in memorabilia and antique furniture that was made when people must have been much shorter! There were all sorts of display cases filled with antiques and a small seating area with a gas fire place.
The Strater lobby was bustling and lots of skiers and tourists filled the halls and the adjoining bar and restaurant Mahogany Grille were packed and noisy. The sad fellow playing a guitar made me decide to avoid having a cocktail- I still cant understand why so many middle aged men insist on strumming- they were no good as youths and the passing of time has not improved their music nor their voice. Be forewarned that the elevator is small so dont bring any over sized lugagge.
The bedroom was smaller than what I am used to -On the antique table there were 2 glasses and 3$ bottled water for sale. There was no mini fridge or microwave. It was decorated to reflect the Wild West when cowboys were so tired they didn't sit in any of the furniture- for if they did they would not be fit to saddle up the next morning! The bed was a queen and was comfortable - not enough blankets!! There was one chair and one desk chair that was wobbly and did not fit the table so it blocked the door. The door itself was nearly impossible to open. As for the bathroom-please don't make the toilet paper into a point!The bathroom was sparse with no amenities -No hairdryer and no coffee maker and coffee service outside the room shuts down at nine!! Too early for me.

That evening we decided to try out the Strater restaurant and went to the Mahogany Grille for dinner - When we arrived the dining room was almost empty.- Never a good sign.
Here is the Mahogany Grille's self description:
“Mahogany Grille specializes in the art of steak and seafood, and offers a vegan and vegetarian menu. Enjoy handcrafted cuisine while stepping back in time. Experience the ambiance of the Victorian Old West as we serve you an array of eclectic culinary specialties”

Be forewarned - Durango is EXPENSIVE- Also take into mind in the winter most restaurants close at 9 p.m.! I looked at the menu and was surprised at the pricing- Yet I took in mind that it was attached to the Strater Hotel and understood that these types of restaurants are more costly.
We started with Pomegranate Crab Cakes- They were well presented and looked inviting.
Jumbo Lump Crab, Frisee, Roasted Corn Coulis. The 2 crab cakes were flavourful and hot - the pieces of crab were not consistent with lump crab meat. The corn was right out of the fridge and there was not enough sauce on the plate. This was the one item that was well executed.

As for Entrees - For $24.00, The Potato Crusted Chicken Breast; Port salut and prosciutto stuffed chicken breast, rainbow chard, roasted red pepper coulis, basil reggiano cream.-Prior to ordering I asked if the dish came with starch or vegetables - the server said yes red peppers - when the plate arrived it was a teaspoon of red pepper coulis, no vegetables and the starch was the burnt hash browns that coated the chicken. I sent mine back- it was cold and yet burnt. I did not get it replaced.
On the positive side - the manager removed the dish from the bill. He explained the culinary misstep- The kitchen was worried the chicken was not cooked and left the chard on the plate and re- dropped the chicken in oil. By the end of his description my appetite had vanished.
I tried the house wines - chardonnay and Cabernet and neither were worth the price tag. The pour was too small for the $10.00 they charged me per glass. Alcohol is cheap in The United States and lots of places offer half price wine. I felt gouged.
My dinner companion ordered Gold Canyon Pork Porterhouse:-Butternut squash risotto, grilled escarole, sundried apricot gastrique, Black Mission fig butter. $24.00. The Risotto was undercooked and apricots should never make their way into this dish- Another example of the constant liberties ‘Chef’s “ take that result in disaster. The grilled escarole was a good concept but was cold and dry. The pork chop was unevenly butchered which impacted both the texture and the flavour. There was no suggestion of dessert or coffee. I was grateful I was spared. I felt rushed as the wait staff was busy cleaning the dining room- a sure sign to hurry up and pay the check.All in all the meal was an "eclectic"expensive disaster.

The view from the bedroom was gorgeous- mountains and the Historic buildings. We were headed to the nearby Durango Silverton narrow gauge train ride to the San Juan Forest. We headed down to breakfast. Unfortunately it had not been clearly explained to us and we were harassed by a server checking to see if we had eaten “the Upgrade” and if so pay up! Oddly enough they had pure granola on the cheap side and the pedestrian cereals were in the upgraded room. Here is one hint to the managers- you need to have more than one cook making omelettes or at the very least have one that can prepare 3 or more at a time. On the positive side the fruit was fresh and the coffee fresh.
We stayed for a second night and when we were woken up by overly aggressive cleaning staff on walkie-talkies the breakfast beverage station outside our room was gone. I called the front desk and was promised that a thermos would be brought up- it never arrived. I called again and they took 20 minutes to hand deliver two cups that tasted like petrol.
All in all it was an average hotel experience - The. The dining was a blend of a great appetizer and a failed chicken dinner. The Strater Hotel was a trip back into the Wild West and as such it succeeded- I feel it needs to put more effort into details and service.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the mountains! Get a room on the Fourth Floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We are glad that you chose to stay with us and experience a trip back into the true Wild West. Our hotel was built in 1887 and has been in operation as a hotel ever since. We pride ourselves on our attention to detail and authenticity. As such, we have filled the hotel lobby and guest rooms with authentic period antiques. As in back in the day, the rooms were not made for modern day amenities, so some rooms will not fit such things as coffee pots and mini-fridges. In fact in the mid 1900’s we went through a total renovation to include bathrooms in every room and closets. Back when the Strater was built, they only had outhouses and no closets. There are hairdryers currently in every room, in the dresser, bottom drawer. I am sorry you did not see the note on your check in documentation that stated that. We should have mentioned it at check in. I am sorry that we fell short in that area. We are going through a transition with our breakfast program and I am sorry for the miscommunication as we are still working out the finer details of this new program. We have gotten rave reviews so far, but understand that at times we do miss the mark.
I apologize for falling short of your expectations in the Mahogany Grille. We strive to make our menu unique which might not always be to everyone’s taste. I was glad to hear that the Manager on Duty stepped in and removed your entre from the bill. Again, thank you for staying with us and I hope that next time we can exceed your expectations.
Michelle Thom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
509 reviews 509 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 262 cities Reviews in 262 cities
503 helpful votes 503 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This hotel is like a page from the past. We stayed in the Will Rogers room where we had 2 double beds in 2 different alcoves. We were celebrating our anniversary so they gave us a box of Rocky Mountain chocolates to celebrate. The registration desk is like those of the Wild West all in wood. The price we paid included a continental breakfast with cereals, yogurt, breads, etc in the Mahogany Grill. The only downside is that there is no parking and you have to park at Dennys. It is in a good location right on the Main Street, a few blocks from the Railroad, but walkable. It was not cheap, but it is an historic hotel and has 2 restaurants, Mahogany Grill and Diamond Belle.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you,

Michelle Thom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jefferson, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

The Strater is a time-honored establishment and you will not find all the amenities available listed on their website. In fact there are many more. It is a living museum and there is a Saloon, a Cocktail Bar, and a Restaurant on site along with nightly live music. The acts they bring in are quality entertainment, no amateurs here. The staff is sincere and accommodating, like much of the service industry staff in Durango. This alone is worth the trip. You will find many sweet old accoutrements in the wall display cases to peer at. There is a private hot tub. The coffee is absolutely awesome. Our room was 324, which overlooked Main Street and a candy shop, a toy store and a pool bar, all of which had happy individuals shrieking at all hours (maybe because the Broncos won). We felt very much at home, although we did not have the most restful sleep. We were provided with a little plug-in noise neutralizer, so this is not the most quiet and still room to stay in as there is plenty of celebratory activity nearby. This would be the perfect place to meet friends or family for a party weekend as it is very conducive to meetings and gatherings with the attached establishments. We got a real deal too, an Everyone's a Local Special. You can walk to a variety of shops and restaurants from this hotel and you will never get lost, anyone and everyone knows "the Strater." It is an establishment very important to the local history. I would rate this five stars if there was a light in the dark closet, and higher quality bedding. There was plenty of room to place our luggage and the room was well equipped with furniture. A room service menu was available for certain evening hours and fresh water and tea were available in the lobby in the afternoons. All of the staff were very kind to us. The shower water was hot and one of the windows opened for fresh air.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

When you walk in the door you realize you are not in a chain hotel - the lobby harks back to every western movie you've ever seen. The staff are welcoming and accommodating. As another reviewer mentioned, the amenities are functional but not posh. Our queen room was acceptably clean and furnished with interesting reproduction furniture. The room was quiet - room 232 is at the end of a dead-end hall. The decor had us expecting Marshall Dillon and Miss Kitty to walk around the corner at any moment. The hotel location is very convenient for walking Durango's Main Street. We opted for the continental breakfast which was very good. If you want your hotel experience to include an indoor pool, a huge elevator and underground parking look elsewhere. If you want the type of stay in which you video the lobby and room to share with your family back home, then give the Strater a try.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Wing, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Don't expect modern conveniences like quick elevators or convenient parking.

But if you are tolerant of the nuances of old hotels (small rooms and even smaller sinks) you will enjoy this hotel.

It is well preserved and very reminiscent of an old hotel from the Wild West. Lots of nooks and crannys. Fun!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Staff are great, bar and entertainment was really good with a real fun aspect, restaurant had impeccable service, food ok, room was tiny and not what booked ,bed was a tiny double with no support, nice for me but uncomfortable for partner

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting Durango and choosing the Strater Hotel to host you during your recent visit. We are pleased to have received your positive feedback and insightful comments.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to allow us the opportunity to learn about your recent experience.
All of us here at the Strater Hotel look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Strater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strater Hotel

Address: 699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#5 Family Hotel in Durango
#6 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1887, the historic Strater Hotel (Historic Hotels of America Member) is a prominent downtown Durango, Colorado landmark located two blocks north of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, one hour east of Mesa Verde National Park, and in the heart of the rugged San Juan Mountains. Experience the Old West, fine dining, shopping, and many year-round indoor and outdoor activities. The hotel is home to the world's largest collection of American Victorian Walnut Antiques, the Louis L'Amour Room (designated Literary Landmark), and three unique dining establishments including Mahogany Grille specializing in fine dining. For entertainment, unwind with daily live music at the Diamond Belle Saloon and The Office Spiritorium or take in a show at the world famous Henry Strater Theatre, home to the Durango Melodrama & Vaudeville (seasonal). For those wishing to create a memorable event consider Strater Catering & Events (weddings, group meetings, special events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Strater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strater Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.