We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strater Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Strater Hotel to your Saves list
Strater Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Everyone's Local Package
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Monument, Colorado
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“This hotel is beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Take sometime., and enjoy this classic Western hotel., the rooms are done with period pieces., and the author Louis D'Amore., wrote western novels from one of the rooms facing the street., it is a beautiful historical landmark., that is wonderful. Spacious dining room., and if you are looking for great Colorado western fun., you have to stop by the Saloon, downstairs, it is a kick., to say the least., good food., prices are right., the gals in western outfits., and music., by locals., it in itself., is enough to make you want to come back., The streets are lined with wonderful stores., with unique gifts to take home., We had made a special trip.,for a Black Bear., for the back of our couch., and found it there, love it. Bye, for now

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    196
    56
    20
    12
See reviews for
120
288
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas Tx
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My husband & I stayed here for a few days on our way to Telluride. It was a good decision. Lovely old hotel. Not fancy ( they do have some fancy rooms) lovely furniture reproductions with original antiques out in the hallway. Wonderful desk clerks! Great saloon grill with live music all the time.
Main Street was a lot of fun. Great restaurants but not cheap. Love to go back.

Room Tip: Corner rooms may have more windows, we only had one. Shower only in our queen bed room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed here with my fiance and cannot rave enough about it. We felt like we'd entered another time in the Old West, on our way back to Denver from Monument Valley. Live music in the evenings and incredible cocktails - try the Cosmos - and potstickers (!) in the lounge in the evening. Highly recommended>

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

In our travels if possible we stay in the Old Historical Hotels. Never a better than the Strater if you like elegant, Victorian, from the good old cowboy days. And there were plenty of Cowboys with their hats in the Saloon. Beautifully remodeled with keeping the charm & character of the bygone era. We had a deluxe King which featured a sink & vanity outside of the full bathroom with another sink & vanity. If you are in Durango and like the old hotels, this is a must. Off Street parking and a very good breakfast included in the room rate. And we appreciated being able to open our windows for some fresh air. First time I didn't have to get my down pillows in from our car as the bed was very well appointed.

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room. We were on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Islip, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Took a side trip from Scottsdale AZ. Great price. Small room but with good Atmosphere. Staff was friendly and accommodating. The town itself has great places to eat and several bars. We stayed only 2 nights. They do have larger rooms with a King Bed.

Room Tip: They do have larger rooms with a King Bed at a higher price. We stayed only 2 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you appreciate older, historical hotels, this is an excellent choice. Beautiful hotel with small but comfortable rooms and nice bathrooms. Get there early for the best parking. Easy walk to Durango and Silverton train, restaurants, and shops. We'll always be staying at the Strater when we're in Durango.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a great hotel in the heart of historic downtown Durango. It is within walking distance of all the shops, restaurants and the train station. We arrived sooner than we expected on a busy weekend and were allowed to check in an hour early. The room was a nice size, very clean and comfortable. I loved the added touch of the journal that you could write a little about your stay that was in each room. The saloon downstairs was a lot of fun also. Great food, service and entertainment with the piano player and gunfight act. Hope to stay there again sometime soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strater Hotel

Address: 699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Durango
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1887, the historic Strater Hotel (Historic Hotels of America Member) is a prominent downtown Durango, Colorado landmark located two blocks north of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, one hour east of Mesa Verde National Park, and in the heart of the rugged San Juan Mountains. Experience the Old West, fine dining, shopping, and many year-round indoor and outdoor activities. The hotel is home to the world's largest collection of American Victorian Walnut Antiques, the Louis L'Amour Room (designated Literary Landmark), and three unique dining establishments including Mahogany Grille specializing in fine dining. For entertainment, unwind with daily live music at the Diamond Belle Saloon and The Office Spiritorium or take in a show at the world famous Henry Strater Theatre, home to the Durango Melodrama & Vaudeville (seasonal). For those wishing to create a memorable event consider Strater Catering & Events (weddings, group meetings, special events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Strater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strater Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.