We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Historical Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strater Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Strater Hotel to your Saves list
Strater Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Everyone's Local Package
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Hartford, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best Historical Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

In our travels if possible we stay in the Old Historical Hotels. Never a better than the Strater if you like elegant, Victorian, from the good old cowboy days. And there were plenty of Cowboys with their hats in the Saloon. Beautifully remodeled with keeping the charm & character of the bygone era. We had a deluxe King which featured a sink & vanity outside of the full bathroom with another sink & vanity. If you are in Durango and like the old hotels, this is a must. Off Street parking and a very good breakfast included in the room rate. And we appreciated being able to open our windows for some fresh air. First time I didn't have to get my down pillows in from our car as the bed was very well appointed.

Room Tip: Just ask for a quiet room. We were on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    196
    56
    20
    12
See reviews for
120
288
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Islip, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Took a side trip from Scottsdale AZ. Great price. Small room but with good Atmosphere. Staff was friendly and accommodating. The town itself has great places to eat and several bars. We stayed only 2 nights. They do have larger rooms with a King Bed.

Room Tip: They do have larger rooms with a King Bed at a higher price. We stayed only 2 nights.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

If you appreciate older, historical hotels, this is an excellent choice. Beautiful hotel with small but comfortable rooms and nice bathrooms. Get there early for the best parking. Easy walk to Durango and Silverton train, restaurants, and shops. We'll always be staying at the Strater when we're in Durango.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is a great hotel in the heart of historic downtown Durango. It is within walking distance of all the shops, restaurants and the train station. We arrived sooner than we expected on a busy weekend and were allowed to check in an hour early. The room was a nice size, very clean and comfortable. I loved the added touch of the journal that you could write a little about your stay that was in each room. The saloon downstairs was a lot of fun also. Great food, service and entertainment with the piano player and gunfight act. Hope to stay there again sometime soon!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockaway, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We stayed here in mid September 2013. I'll get the negatives out of the way and then write about the positives. We had a higher floor corner (two outside walls) room. Night time temperatures started dropping and we discovered that our room had no heat. We called the front desk and were told that they could either cool or heat the hotel, but not both and that they hadn't switched the system over to heat yet. This was very disappointing given that we were in a higher corner room knowing it would be one of the coldest in the hotel. We called the front desk a second time and asked if they had portable heaters. They did and brought one to our room. We spent the night toasty, but with a loud heater circulating off and on and waking us each time it did. I can understand an old hotel having an older climate control system, but would have expected the front desk to OFFER the heater to us on the first call without us having to call a second time. Better yet, they should have been proactive knowing the weather forecast and either switched on the heat or brought heaters to all the rooms (or just the cold ones...I imagine many inner rooms remain warm). The second issue we had was the hotel's lone elevator. It died on the morning of our second day. We ended up carrying luggage down a few flights of stairs. I understand that this is a historic property, but they need to have a back-up plan or a service elevator that could be used for moving luggage or for handicapped people who need to move around.

With the above out of the way, this is a beautiful old property. It's downtown and pre-dates cars, so there's no on site parking (we parked in their lot a few blocks away), but that's just something you have to deal with to stay in an old hotel. Our room was gorgeous - furnished as it likely would have been 100 years ago (but everything was in perfect working order). The bed was extremely comfortable. We dined at the hotel bar and enjoyed an old West saloon style dinner with great piano music (although some of the songs were 100 years old and others were more recent).

Definitely worth the stay and we would come back.

Room Tip: Ask for a portable heater if the room is cold but the heat isn't on yet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West hartford, CT
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is really a step back in time. The hotel prides itself on it's excellent guest service and we found that everyone went out of their way to be nice. The room we stayed in was the governor's suite and while it was comfortable and authentically decorated, it lacked a lot to justify the expensive price. The bathroom was very small, The shower was barely adequate. Both could have been in better repair and cleaner. There was only a roof to look at from the window. Really? $4.00 for a bottle of water in the room? The piano player in the Saloon was great but the food was just ok. Overall the entire experience was acceptable but certainly not exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Lovely hotel that has been well maintained and authentic. Room was beautiful and clean. So many towels we had to move some to a closet shelf. Staff friendly and helpful. Would have liked more room service options for meals in. Fan was noisy for heat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strater Hotel

Address: 699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#4 Business Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1887, the historic Strater Hotel (Historic Hotels of America Member) is a prominent downtown Durango, Colorado landmark located two blocks north of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, one hour east of Mesa Verde National Park, and in the heart of the rugged San Juan Mountains. Experience the Old West, fine dining, shopping, and many year-round indoor and outdoor activities. The hotel is home to the world's largest collection of American Victorian Walnut Antiques, the Louis L'Amour Room (designated Literary Landmark), and three unique dining establishments including Mahogany Grille specializing in fine dining. For entertainment, unwind with daily live music at the Diamond Belle Saloon and The Office Spiritorium or take in a show at the world famous Henry Strater Theatre, home to the Durango Melodrama & Vaudeville (seasonal). For those wishing to create a memorable event consider Strater Catering & Events (weddings, group meetings, special events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Strater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strater Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.