We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back into history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strater Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Strater Hotel to your Saves list
Strater Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Longmont, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Step back into history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Lovely hotel that has been well maintained and authentic. Room was beautiful and clean. So many towels we had to move some to a closet shelf. Staff friendly and helpful. Would have liked more room service options for meals in. Fan was noisy for heat.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrandpaJMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Concord, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We loved every minute of our stay at the Strater. The rooms were comfortable and quiet, the food was great, and the historical elegance of the hotel was awesome. The location downtown offered many great restaurants and shops nearby and the train to Silverton is conveniently close.

Room Tip: You can stay in rooms that Louis L'Amour wrote books/stories in or stay in the room the Gerald F...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jjrides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
209 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The hotel is historic and well preserved. It truly feels like you have stepped back in time. We were told later it was haunted. We loved the location and could walk to everything we needed. The breakfast Posole was unique and served over eggs, heightened the breakfast level. The staff are attentive and dressed appropriately. We made a point to stick around for the gun fight and were a little disappointed. There was not much that happened in the Saloon and then it moved out onto the street. Could have skipped that. The Cowboy Poetry Weekend was in fulll swing and it really felt authentic with all the western apparel.

Room Tip: The elevator was out one day. We were on the third floor and it was a trek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JeriLG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lone Tree, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Went to Durango to ride the Durango to Silverton historic railway and booked this hotel on a lark. What a find. We accidentally arrived for the Heritage Celebration (historic costumes, events, etc) which is totally unknown as far away as Denver. They were especially helpful in getting us one of the last rooms, on short notice. Very accommodating on a sold-out weekend.

A chance white-out driving across Wolf Creek Pass made for a gorgeous journey with snow in the fields, but the fall colors on the trees. The conductors on the train trip said it was a one-in-a-thousand fall foliage ride. The train ride is worth the trip alone.

The hotel has 3 venues for consumption: a several-star dining menu in the main dining room, excellent presentation and only a little expensive; just plain old good food (I had pot roast, not common in our travels) in an historic saloon on the other side of the hotel; and an office "spiritorium" for late-night drinks with loveseats in front of a fireplace, etc. My wife may have been overserved with the $6.50 cosmos -- almost half price compared to Denver. If Greg is strumming his guitar that night, he's got a fantastic CD he gives away. Great rendition of Marty Robbins' El Paso.

The room was big (fourteen-foot ceilings, 3 chairs in the room, walk-in closet, a queen and a single), the air conditioning controls worked great and the last train whistle (from the old-fashioned steam engine) ends at 9:00, thankfully. The only down side was the complimentary 'breakfast' which was totally oversubscribed by all the Heritage Celebration costumed characters from other hotels; entertaining, but they need a second place to order a-la-carte and get service.

Now that I know about the Heritage Celebration, we'll be back. And we'll stay at the Strater.

Room Tip: If you are a Pet person, they only have 2 pet-friendly rooms (next to the train tracks). Call early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugenious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

First, it has the best location for hanging in historic Durango. The staff is awesome and really makes the stay special. Especially loved the breakfast....better than most breakfast included places....hot and cold items included...especially loved the "Posole", and Chef David even gave me the recipe. The rooms are fairly small but nicely furnished with antique items and the modern conveniences as well. One item that might bother some....the heat is centrally controlled so you better be happy with the staff controlled setting. It was a little cool for my Florida beach baby, so they brought us a space heater. Highly recommended !!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryandmiller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAMFORD
Level Contributor
133 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

The Strater is pretty cool! It's totally packed with the oddest assortment of Old West historical item, and dripping with every sort of architectural embellishment. There's a "gunfight" in the Saloon every night at 7, & the staff all dress in period costume.
The standard room wasn't spacious, but it was very clean, and interestingly decorated and furnished. Each room features hand painted walls and various antique pieces.
The staff was quite helpful, & very pleasant.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ofglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We spent a wonderful 3 nights in the Strater Hotel, Durango. From the room, which was decorated authentically, to the saloon bars, to the entertainment - everything was great. We went to a Bluegrass Concert in the theatre in the hotel and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. The local people were dressed in costumes of the era when the hotel was in its hay day and the guests even dressed up for breakfast. All in all a great break.

Room Tip: Some rooms are on the small side. You should ask for a larger room when you are booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DycerJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#2 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#5 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strater Hotel

Address: 699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Durango
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1887, the historic Strater Hotel (Historic Hotels of America Member) is a prominent downtown Durango, Colorado landmark located two blocks north of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, one hour east of Mesa Verde National Park, and in the heart of the rugged San Juan Mountains. Experience the Old West, fine dining, shopping, and many year-round indoor and outdoor activities. The hotel is home to the world's largest collection of American Victorian Walnut Antiques, the Louis L'Amour Room (designated Literary Landmark), and three unique dining establishments including Mahogany Grille specializing in fine dining. For entertainment, unwind with daily live music at the Diamond Belle Saloon and The Office Spiritorium or take in a show at the world famous Henry Strater Theatre, home to the Durango Melodrama & Vaudeville (seasonal). For those wishing to create a memorable event consider Strater Catering & Events (weddings, group meetings, special events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Venere, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Strater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strater Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing