We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in downtown Durango.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strater Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Strater Hotel to your Saves list
Strater Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get Lost Package
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Yuma, Arizona
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Location in downtown Durango.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great place to stay as you can walk just about everywhere from the hotel. We liked it so much we had dinner in the restaurant both nights we were there. It was fun to go to the "MELLERDRAMA' and I even got a little speaking role as a member of the audience. The rooms are very historic and ours had a little journal that you could write you impressions of the place. I leafed through the journal and discovered that a former governor of Colorado had stayed there earlier! Fun place.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    181
    54
    20
    10
See reviews for
117
265
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This was our first stay here and we really liked the hotel. Great antiques and architecture. This hotel really brings you back in time. Great location with all of the necessary updates (bathroom). Everyone at the front desk was very polite and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

By the best Durango experience. You are in Downtown Durango and can walk to all the shops. By far the best you can get! I send all my friends/family/customers to the Strater Hotel. You do not have to travel far. They have 2 bars and by far one of the best restaurants in Durango. The Mahogany Grille.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Strater several years ago. So, when we returned to Durango, she wanted to stay at the Strater again. I must say that it was nothing special this time. The place had been renovated, and the charm was gone. For example, all of the doors were replaced with flat, oak veneer doors, and the bathroom doors even had a brushed a stainless steel kick plate on them. The wainscoting was replaced with a mundane, flat veneer. All of the floors were carpeted, and did not creak. It may as well be a new hotel -- it did not seem historic at all. During breakfast, the eggs ran out and did not get replenished for a very long time. The over all selection was poor and the staff did not seem to care if we lived or died. However, on the bright side, service at check-in was very good, and the Dixie Belle Saloon was very nice. For the money, you can probably do better. I would not stay at the Strater again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer
Thank you for your feedback. I would like to take a few moments to address some of your concerns and comments regarding the property. You made reference to a few items that had been renovated. We have not replaced any of the doors in over 15 years. We also have had carpeted hallways for over 30 years, if not longer. We have replaced the carpet- this year in fact but stayed with the patterned victorian feel that is true to the period. We also have some rooms with kick plates due to those guest that have walkers or other items that might lean up against the doors to cause damage. It is not in every room however. I am unclear on your comment regarding the mundane flat veneer as that is not a product we use in the hotel itself as we stay more true to period. We have many guest that are very sensitive to noise and are much happier since our floors do not creak.
I do apologize if you felt that our staff did not care, that is not something that we strive for. I have sent your review to the staff for review and we will be addressing it at staff meeting. The Diamond Belle Saloon is also a favorite amongst many of our guest, I am pleased to hear you feel the same way.

Happy Travels

Michelle Thom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is one old tied hotel. If you want to be in the center of the action then this is your place. We had a room right on main st and during biker weekend over Labor Day this was a terrible mixture. We saw the room and it was so small and run down we left the hotel and went to a Hampton inn. If u like old hotels and don't mind small accommodations and small beds then this is the place for you.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you felt that the Strater was tired and worn down, and we understand that Historic Hotels are not for all people who are looking for contemporary accomodations. In fact, the Strater is a founding member of the Historic Hotels of America. We have been awarded for interior design and for preservation, to just name a few. We apologize that we fell short in your eyes.
As for the bike rally, this is a city wide event in town on Labor Day weekend. We have no control over the event, but will be passing along your comments to the City for their consideration. I am happy to hear that you found accomodations on the out skirts of town, away from the action.
Again, thank you for your review.

Happy Travels
Michelle Thom
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We booked a room here based on the location and were not disappointed. Our car spent our entire trip in the hotel's parking lot. It's a great home base for exploring Durango by foot. A block from the train depot, a couple of blocks from the walking path that follows the river, and of course, not to mention all the shops and restaurants along Main Avenue. The staff was friendly checking us in and out. The rooms were clean and had great historic charm. This spot may be a little more expensive than the chains in town, but in my mind worth every extra penny.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Strater in Durango, and it was the first place I booked for our trip. Very few historic hotels hold a candle to this one. From the outside, its beautiful red brick exterior dominates the main street through Durango. It is centrally located, so you can easily access the Durango & Silverton Railway. Once you park in the hotel lot adjacent to the building, you really don't have to use your vehicle again... unless you go out to explore the area. You have a multitude of great places to eat, and several breweries within walking distance. As soon as you walk into the lobby, you are blown away by the level of detail this hotel has gone through in restoration. The ceiling is adorned with gold leaf painting, and the fixtures all represent the late 1800's period. The staff is top notch, too. We booked a classic full bed room, which was cozy but not too small by any means. The bed was comfortable, and the room was quiet. The bathroom was large for this room size, in my opinion. Some may note here in reviews that the price is a bit high, but I think it is very reasonable compared to some other historic hotels in Colorado. Don't forget the idiom that "you get what you pay for." One of the things not to miss here is the Diamond Belle Saloon. This is set up to make you feel like you're walking right back in time to an old west saloon from the 1800's. Wait staff and bartenders dress in period clothing, and the place just has a great atmosphere. We took advantage both mornings during our stay in the breakfast buffet, which is served down in the amazing restaurant. The decor of this restaurant is simply incredible. Sit in one of the window tables to people-watch while you have breakfast. Of note, they usually serve an amazing Mexican posole stew during breakfast. This isn't something I typically eat in the morning, but I had a cup both days we stayed there. When you stay at the hotel, be sure to walk around the hotel and explore everything. We didn't take advantage of it, but there is a historic tour of the hotel every day. If you want to get real taste of the old west, do not miss staying at the Strater. We will return again and again to this great old hotel.

Room Tip: Do ask for a room on higher floors for a nice view of the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strater Hotel

Address: 699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Durango
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1887, the historic Strater Hotel (Historic Hotels of America Member) is a prominent downtown Durango, Colorado landmark located two blocks north of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, one hour east of Mesa Verde National Park, and in the heart of the rugged San Juan Mountains. Experience the Old West, fine dining, shopping, and many year-round indoor and outdoor activities. The hotel is home to the world's largest collection of American Victorian Walnut Antiques, the Louis L'Amour Room (designated Literary Landmark), and three unique dining establishments including Mahogany Grille specializing in fine dining. For entertainment, unwind with daily live music at the Diamond Belle Saloon and The Office Spiritorium or take in a show at the world famous Henry Strater Theatre, home to the Durango Melodrama & Vaudeville (seasonal). For those wishing to create a memorable event consider Strater Catering & Events (weddings, group meetings, special events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Strater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strater Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.