We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“historic warm feeling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strater Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Strater Hotel to your Saves list
Strater Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Highland Park, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“historic warm feeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

The Strater hotel is located in the heart of Durango, CO so it was a little noisy, but the location made it worth it. When you walk in to the hotel, you feel you are back in time. The rooms were decorated in a historic fashion,which is a treat compared to the typical contemporary rooms you normally encounter. The rooms were cleaned nicely and HK staff very friendly. We would have preferred a larger bed, but the room was not that large. Staff at front desk very sincere and helpful, but not as knowledgable as they could have been about the geology of the area. The price for the room was fair for the busy time of year. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank would be j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I was on a tour of Colorado and stayed at this beautiful little hotel for two nights. All the other hotels were chains and, whilst they were very nice, they were exactly what you would expect from a Crowne Plaza, Hilton and Marriott whereas this hotel you will never replicate. It is late 19th century and beautifully situated in the centre of Durango (a gem in itself). Each room is totally different and packed full of authentic period details, whilst not sacrificing air-con and comfortable beds. It totally 'fitted' Durango and was really charming. I slept better there than I did on my entire holiday and loved every moment of my stay in room 315. If you must have gigantic beds and identikit rooms then this is not for you, however if you want a hotel totally in keeping with its location which is fascinating to look around, then you will love this. Excellent service too. I would love to return.

Room Tip: They are all totally different! Room 315 has gorgeous wallpaper and views of the steam trains!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TraceyLorna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stayed here mainly out of convenience as we were already sitting in the bar and didn't want to go far. Was #1 on TripAdvisor. Rooms were a bit pricey, but we got 2 queen beds and split the $200 cost. Room 230 was very nicely decorated in a very historic style from floor to ceiling and furnished with antiques including large ornate headboards. View out window of this room is mostly roof. Continental breakfast is included, but it's all gone at 9am on weekdays. Only issue I had was a lame shower head. This could be fixed for under $10 so it pisses me off when hotels cheap out on guests this way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adamz69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We enjoyed the historic hotel. It is well kept, the room was large enough but the beds are full size not queen so it seems a bit small. The room was fairly clean. Due to the green carpet you can see dust under the bed and against head board. The white tile in the bathroom had gray grout (I think...or it was a little stained?). It was nice tho. I would recommend the Louis L'Amour room or the same room on the third floor for a little more quite. Be prepared to hear a little noise about midnight as people are leaving the bars on the street below. Some get a little loud and it echos right up the street into your room even with the window closed. The Louis L'Amour room is where the author would write his books. It is a nice spacious room and the one above it is the same. Both are nice. His room is on the second floor which I suggest because you will likely use the stairs. This was a nice place and we will surely stay there again.

Room Tip: get room 202 the Louis L'Amour room or the one above it. these are the most spacious and have q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
152 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Rooms of all sorts and prices. Historicaly done, but very modern. Staff is friendly and well informed so do not hesitate to ask. They actually have tours, so if you have some time set it up with the front desk. The web site says they charge, however, at this time they do not. It was pointed out by several staff that the web site needs some updating, so be sure and call if you have questions. They have all sorts of specials at different times of the year, so check on those as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Herman02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

entering the strater is to step back in time. the interior, especially the bar, has been meticulously preserved. in the bar, women in period dress and a talented piano "rag" player, adam swanson, added to the illusion and ambience. (as to the waitresses, my wife commented that she knew the fishnet stockings and form-accenting costumes were sexist, but they were just too cute.) across the way, another bar offered quiet with a singer in the evening with upstairs seating where we played backgammon.
as to the rooms, ours was smallish with a good queen-size bed. the bathroom was updated with a small shower and no tub (who uses the tub anyway?). parking is in three different lots but we were able to find a spot. the staff was uniformly helpful while being unobtrusive. as a bonus, the durango/silverton depot is within easy walking distance.
if you want a unique address and not a cookie-cutter chain, definitely consider the strater.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

This was a wonderful place to stay! The hotel was built in the 1800's but the rooms are very modern with central a/c & coffee pot's & everything else you would find in any other hotel. The staff was helpful/friendly. Great place!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weazy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#2 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#5 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strater Hotel

Address: 699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Durango
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1887, the historic Strater Hotel (Historic Hotels of America Member) is a prominent downtown Durango, Colorado landmark located two blocks north of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, one hour east of Mesa Verde National Park, and in the heart of the rugged San Juan Mountains. Experience the Old West, fine dining, shopping, and many year-round indoor and outdoor activities. The hotel is home to the world's largest collection of American Victorian Walnut Antiques, the Louis L'Amour Room (designated Literary Landmark), and three unique dining establishments including Mahogany Grille specializing in fine dining. For entertainment, unwind with daily live music at the Diamond Belle Saloon and The Office Spiritorium or take in a show at the world famous Henry Strater Theatre, home to the Durango Melodrama & Vaudeville (seasonal). For those wishing to create a memorable event consider Strater Catering & Events (weddings, group meetings, special events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Strater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strater Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#