We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cowboy-Era Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strater Hotel

Save Saved
You added Strater Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Strater Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Durango Melodrama Package
Ranked #5 of 30 hotels in Durango
West Palm Beach, FL
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Cowboy-Era Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I grew up watching Western movies, and the moment I stepped into the hotel, I was transported into Wild West era. From the ladies servers in a bar dressed in that era outfits, to the decor, to live music in the bar, the atmosphere in the hotel is that of a wild west. The room was not as spectacular as the lobby and bar/restaurant, but we did book the cheapest basic room instead of a more expensive (and perhaps better decorated) room. Still, it gave the same feeling of another time era. The service was great!
Overall, it was a great stay and we are looking forward to coming back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    242
    167
    52
    19
    8
See reviews for
109
236
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I love everything about this hotel! The building, room, and everything are all old fashioned including one of the bars connected to the hotel. It is called the Diamond Bell Saloon and had a great atmosphere with live music. It's located right on main st. in the middle of town. Very convenient location in a town where you can walk anywhere you want to go. The hotel restaurant is also very good but maybe a little overpriced. Definitely recomend this place to stay if you're in Durango and want somewhere overlooking downtown main street!

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking Main are great but maybe on the noisey side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in a classic king on corner of the second floor, very nice. Service was good and I loved the antiques. I would have to agree with Brixham 1, breakfast was very disappointing. They could as least have had a little variety and bacon or sausage. That being said, I would still stay there again but just plan on eating breakfast someplace els.

Room Tip: ask for a corner room, they tend to be a bit larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Our classic king on the 4th floor was ideal. The location can't be beat, the restaurant had fabulous food and the saloon had great music. We left the hotel often but you wouldn't have to! Great staff too.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancs
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The rooms are old fashioned but clean and fully in keeping with the historic hotel. When we arrived there was a personalised welcome card and small complimentary box of chocolates on the pillow which was a lovely touch. Also in the room was a journal for guests to write in their experience of the hotel. We had an excellently situated room. My husband is a steam railway enthusiast and the train ran right past our window. The only downside was the breakfast. There was very little choice, 2 cereals, fruit bowl, toast, scrambled eggs, southern stew and sweet pastries. We stayed 4 nights and every breakfast was the same with no change at all. I know it is complimentary but a little variety would have been nice. Some people took one look and went across the street to pay for breakfast.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the rear corner if you want the train to run right past your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Lunas, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I want to start off by saying that I have stayed at this facility a handful of times prior to this visit and have always had a good experience. However, on this visit the customer service we received was very disappointing. My three cousins and I had reserved a room for four adults, this was made with the hotel directly. We were told we would be in a double queen room. We arrived, checked in, and headed up to our room to find we had been assigned a room with a queen bed and a twin bed. Not enough room for 4 adults. We went to the front desk to see if they would give us another room and they said no they were full for the night. The desk clerk apologized for the error, offered us a blow up mattress, and a reduced rate at check out for the inconvenience. Not satisfied with that we continued to pursue getting a room we could fit into. This time we were offered a discount on the room we were in and a discount on an additional room. I thought they were full for the night? Since we wanted to be together, as we were celebrating a 50th birthday, one of us took the blow up mattress. To add insult to injury, when we went to check out they gave us no reduced rate claiming that they had not added in the cost of the two additional adults so that would be our compensation. This was my last visit to the Strater!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Disappointed Guest,
I am sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the solutions that were provided to you and your party. I would like to clear up a few things so that we can open the line of communications in hopes that we can continue to do better for all guest.
I reviewed your review and your situation, and was made aware of it at the time. We were sold out that evening you are referring to - we did not have larger rooms that would accomodate all four of the adults. We had smaller rooms- which is why we offered one to you at half the price of what you would have paid for that same room. This way you could have all four stayed with us at the same time- but just not all four in one room. As you know since you have visited us per your review several times- we have varied size rooms due to the historic nature. We have very few classic rooms that would accomodate four adults- so I am thinking there must have been a communication error between the desk agent and you. We did try to remedy the situation for you, but You chose to not take it. Thank you for taking the time to write a review as it all helps us become better hospitality providers. We do hope this one experience will not hurt your long time of good experiences for this one time communication issue.
Regards

Michelle Thom
GM/VP
New Strater Corp.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed at this hotel twice and would stay again -- beautiful, comfortable, great friendly staff, nice breakfast, perfect location.Only thing to check carefully is the size of the room you are booking. I booked a room with two queen beds and it was huge. Next stay I booked a room with a queen and single and it was tiny. I would stay again in a heartbeat, but I would just look carefully at the room size.

I also stayed in the General Palmer, which has a similar feel and would pick the Strater over it -- the Strater is more lively and has a better breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Strater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strater Hotel

Address: 699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Durango
#4 Business Hotel in Durango
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strater Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1887, The historic Strater Hotel is a prominent downtown Durango, Colorado landmark located two blocks north of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. Cleveland pharmacist, Henry Strater, believed Durango would thrive, and with its prosperity, it would need a grand hotel. The Strater Hotel opened after an expenditure of $70,000 and placement of 376,000 native red bricks and hand-carved sandstone cornices and sills. As the hotel evolved, it became a popular winter retreat for Durango town folk who would close their own homes during the cold months and move into the hotel. Currently, the Strater Hotel houses the world’s largest collection of American Victorian Antiques, many of which decorate its 93 guestrooms including its Louis L’Amour Room—designated Literary Landmark. The Strater Hotel is home to the Durango Melodrama & Vaudeville, Henry Strater Theatre, Diamond Belle Saloon, Mahogany Grille, Strater Catering and Events, and The Office Spiritorium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Strater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strater Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.