We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical Gem in Durango” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strater Hotel

Save Saved
You added Strater Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Strater Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Durango Melodrama Package
Ranked #5 of 30 hotels in Durango
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Historical Gem in Durango”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Have stayed at the Strater twice. Love the historical aspect of the hotel, and enjoy the individually decorated rooms. Breakfast is very nice, staff is excellent. Only complaint is that the lighting in the rooms is inadequate for reading no matter where one sits.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    244
    168
    54
    19
    8
See reviews for
111
243
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
albuquerque
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Gorgeous room this year...prettier than the one we stayed in two years ago. So much better than the typical "vanilla" hotel or motel room. The ceiling was elaborately decorated, the furniture was lovely antiques. Nice view of the snowy hillsides too. Felt like we were special. Dining was one of the most pleasurable experiences I'd ever had. Food was delectable and just not the usual menu. The chef is creative and knows how to do it well. Breakfast buffet was better than usual as well.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor on the same side as the train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel itself must be well over a 100 years old. The renovation was tastefully done 1850's decor. The front desk associates provided great service and were eager to assist. The bar was decorated in period fixtures. Live music on Friday and Saturday night. The waitresses were dressed in period garb and were very attentive considering the huge crowd. They serve a local brew that has to be one of the best beers I have had anywhere.
The hotel is located in the heart of Durango on what looks like "Main St.". Could not ask for a better location. Plenty of restuarants within a 2 block walk. I had dinner at Ken & Sue's. Great service and food. Strongly recommend.
The negatives and room size (very small with sitting area) breakfast not being served except for a meager buffet offering. I hoped for table service since I was too busy with business matters to hunt for a breakfast place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I ski a lot in NM, but usually try to get to Durango at least 2 weekends a year. The Strater is ALWAYS my first call. It's like stepping into the 90's - the 1890's! Everything is just gorgeous, the rooms are all differently decorated and the Diamond Belle Saloon is really fun (live music nearly every night!). Yes, it's a 30 minute drive to the slopes, but staying in town is WAY more fun and the Strater is pretty much in the middle (all the cheap motels are NOT within walking distance of the many downtown bars and restaurants). The hottub is wonderful after a day on the slopes, and the free breakfasts are usually just what we need to get going. The only time I had trouble there was on a particularly busy weekend, and I was put into a "full" bed. Full means my legs were sticking out of the end. But the people downstairs figured out some way and suddenly I was transferred to a beautiful queen room. Other than that, absolutley NO problems! But book early cuz they are always the FIRST hotel to sell out.

Room Tip: Rooms that look out to the main street are nice but usually more expensive because they are the bigg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is a great hotel but recently the customer service was terrible. We have a ranch just outside of Durango and stay in town when we are there. There was an error on our reservation that we inquired about and were never called back. We are quite disappointed. When the agent was unable to help us she passed me to the manager. I left a message and my husband went in to inquire and there was never a follow up on their end.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mthomgm, General Manager at Strater Hotel, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to review the property and voice your concerns. We always strive to do what we can, and realize we fall short at times and want to make it better.
In your review you said that you notified management, however I am the General Manager and never heard anything about this until you posted it on Facebook and on Tripadvisor. I immediatly sent you a reply on Facebook, and never heard back from you. Hopefully this message will reach you and I can help solve the issue. Can you give me more specifics of what the glitch in the reservation was, did we make the mistake? A third party booking engine or an oversight somewhere else? Sometimes if we can back track we can figure it out and get everyone moving in the same direction. Again, we do want to help, and hope you will reach back to me so we can solve this issue together.

We always try to go above and beyond in our service and our rooms. We receive many high alcolades and ratings reviewing our service and our product in that arena, so my apologies if in this area we fell short for you.

Regards
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We had a 2 night stop at this hotel in December - we had started in San Diego and were looping our way through Monument Valley, Arches, Canyonlands via Moab, Ouray and this was our next stopping point whilst making our way back to San Diego.

We had checked out the hotel on-line and on Trip Advisor and we liked the look of it's old world charm. We managed to get a room for a couple of nights and although one of their smaller rooms it was quite adequate (a little re-arrangement of a table and chairs to fit in our large suitcases). The room was clean, comfortable, quaint and characterful. The bed was very comfy and we slept very well. The complimentary breakfast was quite good with plenty of options to fill you up and keep you going for a few hours.

The location in Durango was excellent with an easy walk to all shops, bars and restaurants and the famous railway. We thought Durango was a great place and it would have been nice to be able to stay a bit longer and had it been a few degrees warmer - it went very cold while we were there and we decided to leave for Prescott, Arizona before the snow came.

The staff we came into contact with were very pleasant and helpful. A really nice place to stop when in Durango and a lovely change from the usual chain hotels.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norman, ok
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed in the Strater last summer on a trip to Durango and it was wonderful! We stayed on the top floor and it was very quiet. Our room had a plaque with a name on it, as we had noticed several others had, and later found out that these plaques let you know of some important person who had stayed there, or event having transpired there. The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly, we got a lot of good info about hiking in the area from the concierge. The hotel is located right in the heart of all the fun things to see and do in Durango, restaurants, shops, so once you've parked your car you can just walk everywhere. The complimentary breakfast is superb! You get to eat in the connected restaurant and it feels like a pricey meal, much better than any complimentary breakfast I've had elsewhere ( of course it's only complimentary so far as its included in the price, but even then I would guess my husband and I would have spent $20-$30 on an equal meal elsewhere). The rooms were lovely! Old fashioned and very period specific, but with the bathroom updated and tv and all modern amenities. On the third floor we were pleasantly surprised to find they set up a little coffee bar, so you could just walk out, grab a cup, and return to your room until you were ready to go down for breakfast. We also tried the connected saloon which was very fun. It had a hint of that touristy feeling, but not much and it really is a historic building so sometimes it's just fun to indulge in those tourist types. There did seem to be quite a few locals when we went. Overall the Strater is charming and worth the money. We are usually cheapos so the $160 a night was a little pricey, but I definitely think it was worth it and made our stay in Durango that much more fun!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Strater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strater Hotel

Address: 699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#4 Business Hotel in Durango
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strater Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1887, The historic Strater Hotel is a prominent downtown Durango, Colorado landmark located two blocks north of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. Cleveland pharmacist, Henry Strater, believed Durango would thrive, and with its prosperity, it would need a grand hotel. The Strater Hotel opened after an expenditure of $70,000 and placement of 376,000 native red bricks and hand-carved sandstone cornices and sills. As the hotel evolved, it became a popular winter retreat for Durango town folk who would close their own homes during the cold months and move into the hotel. Currently, the Strater Hotel houses the world’s largest collection of American Victorian Antiques, many of which decorate its 93 guestrooms including its Louis L’Amour Room—designated Literary Landmark. The Strater Hotel is home to the Durango Melodrama & Vaudeville, Henry Strater Theatre, Diamond Belle Saloon, Mahogany Grille, Strater Catering and Events, and The Office Spiritorium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Strater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strater Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.