We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Hotel, Perfect for Polar Express” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strater Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Strater Hotel to your Saves list
Strater Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get Lost Package
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Magical Hotel, Perfect for Polar Express”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Stayed at the Strater during our stay after riding the Polar Express train. This historic hotel makes you feel as if you're stepping back in time - everything from the tiny elevator, to the memorabilia, to the Old West style saloon and Victorian style furnishings give his historic hotel an authentic feel. In fact, we were told that the Saloon next door has the same original wallpaper. We had the best room in the place and every room is decorated differently; excellent view of the Polar Express train below from both windows which my son absolutely loved. The fact that it snowed during our trip made it all the more magical. The staff were a little cold - fitting for the weather - but not fitting for a tourism based business. Breakfast is complimentary (which they did not mention upon arrival) and included posole, fruit, breads and cereal. The bathtub was backed up but manageable. Our overall impression was very good and I would recommend it for someone not only because it's conveniently located right in the center of the action but, who doesn't want to experience a piece of history? Plus, doesn't hurt that the train is within walking distance and the breakfast is free.

Room Tip: Great view of train from third floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    189
    54
    20
    12
See reviews for
118
275
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

If you're looking to truly experience the Old West of southwest Colorado, be centrally located in Durango, have great hotel bar and restaurant options, some romance, and just a great time for truly not an abundance in cost... go to the Strater Hotel... it's fantastic! When you walk in the front doors, it just feels like you've stepped back in time and get to experience the Victorian age of grace as well as the Old West mayhem! I love it there!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We actually stayed in August 2011 and it was very warm at that time of year. We loved staying at the Strater! This historic hotel is right in the middle of the old downtown and it is easy to walk around and shop. The details of the hotel are beautiful. The staff can even give "tours" explaining some of the hidden storage places in the lobby area - that is fun for the kids to discover. We went to the evening summer melodrama performance and that was a lot of fun. Good place for families. This was a great location, with parking, to explore the other activities in Durango.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We took my grandson to Durango for a ride on the Polar Express (the annual North Pole ride on the D&SNGRR). We had a corner room which offered a view of the departing and arriving trains. The room was spacious and offered a fantastic view. Mother Nature added a beautiful snowfall, making for a winter wonderland in a historic hotel setting. The lobby was nicely decorated for Christmas, which added to the overall atmosphere. The breakfast was enjoyable and we were able to look out and appreciate the beauty of the snow without leaving the hotel.

Room Tip: My daughter and her husband had the corner room. We had a smaller room on another floor which was n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The Strater Hotel is a beautifully restored historic hotel right on Main Street in Durango. Everything is within walking distance. We had a wonderful stay here. The rooms are redone to a traditional feel with antique furniture. The bathroom is a tad small. There is a very nice continental breakfast each morning serving tasty scones, breads, yogurts, egg, juice and coffee. The Hotel was quiet and the employees were very helpful and kind.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I loved that this hotel was "unique" compared to any other I've stayed. If you are looking for the generic cookie cutter chain hotel - this is not it. We stayed at other top rates trip advisor hotels and they were nice.... But not unique. The stay is an experience in itself. I've been giddy about everything I saw here. The free breakfast didn't have any meats but we took a left leaving the hotel and headed for carver's brewing co. for breakfast. It was great as it was yesterday. Try the spinach / feta / sauté onion eggs with hollandaise sauce... Awesome!

When you check in - reserve the private hot tub. You don't have to walk down in your swimwear because you can change in the hot tub room.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We combined a stay at the Strater with a ride on the D&SNGRR and it made for a wonderful weekend totally immersed in history! ThIs landmark hotel will take you back in time and yet still provide the modern amenities that are needed. It was worth it to us to spend a little extra inorder to stay in a suite with a view and wonderful period decor. The morning breakfast was a pleasant suprise, good variety and quality - we loved the posole! Don't miss the shoot out at the Diamond Bell Saloon downstairs and a old time show at the Henry Strater Theater! The vaudeville act is great fun! The cast really pours their hearts' out - especially if you Boo, hiss and cheer! (it is a Victorian thing...) Long live the glorious Strater!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strater Hotel

Address: 699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Durango
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1887, the historic Strater Hotel (Historic Hotels of America Member) is a prominent downtown Durango, Colorado landmark located two blocks north of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, one hour east of Mesa Verde National Park, and in the heart of the rugged San Juan Mountains. Experience the Old West, fine dining, shopping, and many year-round indoor and outdoor activities. The hotel is home to the world's largest collection of American Victorian Walnut Antiques, the Louis L'Amour Room (designated Literary Landmark), and three unique dining establishments including Mahogany Grille specializing in fine dining. For entertainment, unwind with daily live music at the Diamond Belle Saloon and The Office Spiritorium or take in a show at the world famous Henry Strater Theatre, home to the Durango Melodrama & Vaudeville (seasonal). For those wishing to create a memorable event consider Strater Catering & Events (weddings, group meetings, special events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Strater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strater Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.