We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This historic gem makes for a lovely stay in Durango.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strater Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Strater Hotel to your Saves list
Strater Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Everyone's Local Package
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“This historic gem makes for a lovely stay in Durango.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We combined a stay at the Strater with a ride on the D&SNGRR and it made for a wonderful weekend totally immersed in history! ThIs landmark hotel will take you back in time and yet still provide the modern amenities that are needed. It was worth it to us to spend a little extra inorder to stay in a suite with a view and wonderful period decor. The morning breakfast was a pleasant suprise, good variety and quality - we loved the posole! Don't miss the shoot out at the Diamond Bell Saloon downstairs and a old time show at the Henry Strater Theater! The vaudeville act is great fun! The cast really pours their hearts' out - especially if you Boo, hiss and cheer! (it is a Victorian thing...) Long live the glorious Strater!!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    197
    56
    20
    12
See reviews for
123
293
13
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rio Rancho, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the "larger" room and it was still a little small. We missed having a fridge and coffee pot also. The staff was awesome and super friendly! The stay was a bit spooky which added to the charm!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berthoud, Colorado
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We happened to stay at the Strater during Cowboy Poetry Weekend, this made the crowd very unique. The lobby and bar were really crowded so we didn't hang out at the hotel. It's in great condition for its age and the location can't be beat. We also heard some fun rumors about hotel ghosts and history as a brothel. This hotel is definately a part of western history!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Its like stepping back in time, truly great hotel. The decor is wild west era. We stayed in a basic room. It was also furnished in period style. Food and Bars are also excellent! One small issue is the proximity of the train. It was not an issue for us as we were up reasonably early but it is quite noisy when in the station and when going by.

Room Tip: Rooms nearest the front are furthest from the train but nearer the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Celebrating 125 years of welcoming guests, the Strater Hotel offers a glimpse in the Old West. Enjoy the patterned wallpaper, velvet curtains, carved Eastlake furniture, and tufted chairs reminiscent of the Gold Rush days. (Author Louis L'Amour stayed in Room 222 so he could hear the honky tonk music!) If you like historic properties with a friendly staff, stay at the Strater!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

By pure coincidence we stayed at the Strater during the Durango Cowboy Poetry Gathering and the atmosphere was brilliant, like a step back into a western movie.
The reception staff were friendly, check in smooth and we were allocated a room on the 4th floor - thank god there was a lift.
The room was possible slightly over decorated with furniture but was clean and comfortable with a view over the side street and mountains in the distance.
We dined in the Mahogany Grille, were welcomed by our waiter with pre meal liquers, the food was excellent and presentation perfect.
Our mealtime clashed with the Friday night gunfight re-enactment in the Diamond Belle Saloon so unfortunately I missed that but when we went around to the saloon later for drinks the entertainment was tremendous in this bustling bar, it was however noticeably quieter on the Saturday night and lacked the buzz of the previous night.
This historic hotel is in an excellent location with adjacent car parking. Would certainly stay again if re-visiting the area.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on the 4th floor for a quieter stay and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Travelling with two small kids we wanted to experience what it was to travel in the last century. We gave ourselves a treat and stayed in a suite and were absolutely fascinated by the original ambience and attention to detail. The room was very spacious and well maintained, however preserving it's authentic charm. The same can be said about the Saloon and the dining room and so altogether you really feel like in another time.
However, when it comes to service and breakfast, you feel again in 2012 America. Friendliness is not outstanding (standard in the US according to our experience) as you arrive and the breakfast should be considered a lost opportunity: such a wonderful setting should be matched by a more inspired menu and better quality.
All in all we nevertheless felt great staying in the Strater and would come back anytime.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Strater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strater Hotel

Address: 699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Durango
#4 Business Hotel in Durango
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1887, the historic Strater Hotel (Historic Hotels of America Member) is a prominent downtown Durango, Colorado landmark located two blocks north of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, one hour east of Mesa Verde National Park, and in the heart of the rugged San Juan Mountains. Experience the Old West, fine dining, shopping, and many year-round indoor and outdoor activities. The hotel is home to the world's largest collection of American Victorian Walnut Antiques, the Louis L'Amour Room (designated Literary Landmark), and three unique dining establishments including Mahogany Grille specializing in fine dining. For entertainment, unwind with daily live music at the Diamond Belle Saloon and The Office Spiritorium or take in a show at the world famous Henry Strater Theatre, home to the Durango Melodrama & Vaudeville (seasonal). For those wishing to create a memorable event consider Strater Catering & Events (weddings, group meetings, special events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Strater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strater Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.