We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excelent period hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strater Hotel

Save Saved
You added Strater Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Strater Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Durango Melodrama Package
Ranked #6 of 30 hotels in Durango
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excelent period hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Its like stepping back in time, truly great hotel. The decor is wild west era. We stayed in a basic room. It was also furnished in period style. Food and Bars are also excellent! One small issue is the proximity of the train. It was not an issue for us as we were up reasonably early but it is quite noisy when in the station and when going by.

Room Tip: Rooms nearest the front are furthest from the train but nearer the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    257
    174
    55
    19
    9
See reviews for
117
255
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Celebrating 125 years of welcoming guests, the Strater Hotel offers a glimpse in the Old West. Enjoy the patterned wallpaper, velvet curtains, carved Eastlake furniture, and tufted chairs reminiscent of the Gold Rush days. (Author Louis L'Amour stayed in Room 222 so he could hear the honky tonk music!) If you like historic properties with a friendly staff, stay at the Strater!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

By pure coincidence we stayed at the Strater during the Durango Cowboy Poetry Gathering and the atmosphere was brilliant, like a step back into a western movie.
The reception staff were friendly, check in smooth and we were allocated a room on the 4th floor - thank god there was a lift.
The room was possible slightly over decorated with furniture but was clean and comfortable with a view over the side street and mountains in the distance.
We dined in the Mahogany Grille, were welcomed by our waiter with pre meal liquers, the food was excellent and presentation perfect.
Our mealtime clashed with the Friday night gunfight re-enactment in the Diamond Belle Saloon so unfortunately I missed that but when we went around to the saloon later for drinks the entertainment was tremendous in this bustling bar, it was however noticeably quieter on the Saturday night and lacked the buzz of the previous night.
This historic hotel is in an excellent location with adjacent car parking. Would certainly stay again if re-visiting the area.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on the 4th floor for a quieter stay and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Travelling with two small kids we wanted to experience what it was to travel in the last century. We gave ourselves a treat and stayed in a suite and were absolutely fascinated by the original ambience and attention to detail. The room was very spacious and well maintained, however preserving it's authentic charm. The same can be said about the Saloon and the dining room and so altogether you really feel like in another time.
However, when it comes to service and breakfast, you feel again in 2012 America. Friendliness is not outstanding (standard in the US according to our experience) as you arrive and the breakfast should be considered a lost opportunity: such a wonderful setting should be matched by a more inspired menu and better quality.
All in all we nevertheless felt great staying in the Strater and would come back anytime.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I attended a conference in Durango at the Doubletree but wanted to stay somewhere more interesting. The Strater Hotel was a quick walk from the DT and the Animas River. I am so glad I chose it. The antique-filled room was beautiful and very comfortable with modern WiFi, flat screen TV and nice toiletries. The coffee service in the hallway and the excellent breakfasts were a great way to start the day. Parking was convenient, staff were attentive, and the location can't be beat. You are on Main Street for strolling, and right around the corner from the free trolley that goes to both ends of town. The Diamond Belle has great food, great local beers and great entertainment. Durango is a cool town--everyone seems happy, healthy and friendly. I was pretty sad to have to leave.

Room Tip: You can see the Silverton-Durango train from rooms facing 7th street: nice view and not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This place has character. Staff was wonderful. Room is really comfortable and clean. Other places we stayed in during this trip should spend time here and see what customer service means. I feel at home here. GREAT LOCATION

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We booked our room last-minute and got quite a small one with an antique-sized bed which didn't quite accommodate my 6'3" husband. The room was very charming, though, with old fixtures and tiles in the bathroom, antique wallpaper and furniture. We both got a strange vibe from the place and didn't sleep very well - maybe those ghost stories are true - but it was fun to stay there anyway. There were a few big groups there, which I find annoying, being an individual traveler myself, and of course it's a huge tourist attraction, so there's not much peace and quiet in any case. Downtown Durango is cute and quaint, though, and this is a great location as a base for exploring the area on foot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Strater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strater Hotel

Address: 699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Durango
#4 Family Hotel in Durango
#5 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strater Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1887, The historic Strater Hotel is a prominent downtown Durango, Colorado landmark located two blocks north of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad. Cleveland pharmacist, Henry Strater, believed Durango would thrive, and with its prosperity, it would need a grand hotel. The Strater Hotel opened after an expenditure of $70,000 and placement of 376,000 native red bricks and hand-carved sandstone cornices and sills. As the hotel evolved, it became a popular winter retreat for Durango town folk who would close their own homes during the cold months and move into the hotel. Currently, the Strater Hotel houses the world’s largest collection of American Victorian Antiques, many of which decorate its 93 guestrooms including its Louis L’Amour Room—designated Literary Landmark. The Strater Hotel is home to the Durango Melodrama & Vaudeville, Henry Strater Theatre, Diamond Belle Saloon, Mahogany Grille, Strater Catering and Events, and The Office Spiritorium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Venere and Otel so you can book your Strater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strater Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.