We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turn back time and experience the Strater” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strater Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Strater Hotel to your Saves list
Strater Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Turn back time and experience the Strater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Celebrating 125 years of welcoming guests, the Strater Hotel offers a glimpse in the Old West. Enjoy the patterned wallpaper, velvet curtains, carved Eastlake furniture, and tufted chairs reminiscent of the Gold Rush days. (Author Louis L'Amour stayed in Room 222 so he could hear the honky tonk music!) If you like historic properties with a friendly staff, stay at the Strater!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rusha_sams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

By pure coincidence we stayed at the Strater during the Durango Cowboy Poetry Gathering and the atmosphere was brilliant, like a step back into a western movie.
The reception staff were friendly, check in smooth and we were allocated a room on the 4th floor - thank god there was a lift.
The room was possible slightly over decorated with furniture but was clean and comfortable with a view over the side street and mountains in the distance.
We dined in the Mahogany Grille, were welcomed by our waiter with pre meal liquers, the food was excellent and presentation perfect.
Our mealtime clashed with the Friday night gunfight re-enactment in the Diamond Belle Saloon so unfortunately I missed that but when we went around to the saloon later for drinks the entertainment was tremendous in this bustling bar, it was however noticeably quieter on the Saturday night and lacked the buzz of the previous night.
This historic hotel is in an excellent location with adjacent car parking. Would certainly stay again if re-visiting the area.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room on the 4th floor for a quieter stay and great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthumberlandTopCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Travelling with two small kids we wanted to experience what it was to travel in the last century. We gave ourselves a treat and stayed in a suite and were absolutely fascinated by the original ambience and attention to detail. The room was very spacious and well maintained, however preserving it's authentic charm. The same can be said about the Saloon and the dining room and so altogether you really feel like in another time.
However, when it comes to service and breakfast, you feel again in 2012 America. Friendliness is not outstanding (standard in the US according to our experience) as you arrive and the breakfast should be considered a lost opportunity: such a wonderful setting should be matched by a more inspired menu and better quality.
All in all we nevertheless felt great staying in the Strater and would come back anytime.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pascal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I attended a conference in Durango at the Doubletree but wanted to stay somewhere more interesting. The Strater Hotel was a quick walk from the DT and the Animas River. I am so glad I chose it. The antique-filled room was beautiful and very comfortable with modern WiFi, flat screen TV and nice toiletries. The coffee service in the hallway and the excellent breakfasts were a great way to start the day. Parking was convenient, staff were attentive, and the location can't be beat. You are on Main Street for strolling, and right around the corner from the free trolley that goes to both ends of town. The Diamond Belle has great food, great local beers and great entertainment. Durango is a cool town--everyone seems happy, healthy and friendly. I was pretty sad to have to leave.

Room Tip: You can see the Silverton-Durango train from rooms facing 7th street: nice view and not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharlyn1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
158 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This place has character. Staff was wonderful. Room is really comfortable and clean. Other places we stayed in during this trip should spend time here and see what customer service means. I feel at home here. GREAT LOCATION

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chienee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We booked our room last-minute and got quite a small one with an antique-sized bed which didn't quite accommodate my 6'3" husband. The room was very charming, though, with old fixtures and tiles in the bathroom, antique wallpaper and furniture. We both got a strange vibe from the place and didn't sleep very well - maybe those ghost stories are true - but it was fun to stay there anyway. There were a few big groups there, which I find annoying, being an individual traveler myself, and of course it's a huge tourist attraction, so there's not much peace and quiet in any case. Downtown Durango is cute and quaint, though, and this is a great location as a base for exploring the area on foot.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingcello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at the Strater and will happily stay there again. It is a nice historical hotel with local feel and history. The hotel is right on the main historical area strip where there is lots of shopping and great restaurants. The river walk is only 4 blocks away. And it is a 3 minute drive to Ft. Lewis. They have nice restaurants and a bar right there (with local beers). The price was very good and included a nice continental breakfast (better than most). Incredibly quiet rooms, especailly for an historical hotel. Check in is at 4:00 and I called ahead on a Saturday and they accomodated a noon check-in which was extremely appreciated
Business travellers: Not an ideal place for business as the wifi is spotty at best and the desk not very large.


.

Room Tip: Suggestion: both times I came I was travelling alone. The first time I got a room with a double bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.1 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#2 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#5 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strater Hotel

Address: 699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Durango
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1887, the historic Strater Hotel (Historic Hotels of America Member) is a prominent downtown Durango, Colorado landmark located two blocks north of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, one hour east of Mesa Verde National Park, and in the heart of the rugged San Juan Mountains. Experience the Old West, fine dining, shopping, and many year-round indoor and outdoor activities. The hotel is home to the world's largest collection of American Victorian Walnut Antiques, the Louis L'Amour Room (designated Literary Landmark), and three unique dining establishments including Mahogany Grille specializing in fine dining. For entertainment, unwind with daily live music at the Diamond Belle Saloon and The Office Spiritorium or take in a show at the world famous Henry Strater Theatre, home to the Durango Melodrama & Vaudeville (seasonal). For those wishing to create a memorable event consider Strater Catering & Events (weddings, group meetings, special events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Orbitz, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Strater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strater Hotel Durango

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing