We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Historic Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strater Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Strater Hotel to your Saves list
Strater Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Manager's Special
Ranked #7 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
Houston
Level Contributor
440 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 267 helpful votes
“Great Historic Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

We've been to Durango many times over the past 30 years. Stayed several places there from camping to motels and hotels in downtown Durango. The WORST was The General Palmer! The BEST was our last two stays at the Strater. Great! Some folks don't understand what to expect from a historic hotel. It won't be the Park Plaza or even a HI-Express. IT IS OLD. And that's the charm. The Starter folks seem to have tried to update the hotel commensurate with the original charm. Not so at the General Palmer.

We are going to Durango again in October and look forward to staying at the Strater. Not going to ride the train again - been there and done that three times - but I can walk out down the street from the Strater and see that big 'ole steam engine belching smoke as it pulls out for Silverton.

I grill a pretty mean steak, but one of the best I have ever had was at the Mahogany Grill. The pear and walnut salad is no slouch.

Depends on what you expect from a historic hotel how you'll react to your stay. Martha and I have stayed at many historic hotels across the country and the Strater is one of the best. (Only The Grand Hotel on Macinac Is. is superior - so to speak!)

J.T.
Houston

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    225
    69
    23
    15
See reviews for
142
351
17
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NEW MEXICO
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

The Strater Hotel and Durango is one of our favorite places to visit in this part of the country! Our most recent stay was very pleasant! I disagree with some of the negative comments about the Strater but also realize there are "exceptions to everything". Our room was on the third floor, quite adequate and clean. Contrary to some comments about not having the usual complimentary items in a room...we did have an iron, hairdryer, flat screen TV, chocolates on our bed upon arrival, etc. There are no coffeemakers in the rooms however coffee/tea is available on the second floor every morning (no charge) and during the day there is a selection of teas in the lobby along with a scone or some other small treat. The continental breakfast provided is good and each morning a "hot breakfast item" is offered. Of course those of us who love our "Posole" were delighted to see this item offered every morning...in fact, people not familar with this traditional New Mexican dish were asking for the recipe (which the staff had available upon request). The "Office Spiritorium" offers a nice atmosphere before dinner and we always find the staff very pleasant and have never had a problem with drinks or anything we ordered with our drinks. The Diamond Belle Saloon within the Strater is one of the most popular "hangouts" in Durango and lots of fun if you like a typical western atmosphere and the music that goes with it:). Needless to say, we will return to the Strater again and allow ourselves to be taken back in time and also have a great time!!!

Room Tip: Third floor rooms are always our choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grover Beach CA
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

We stayed one night and enjoyed the hotel. The room was small but clean and had everything we needed.
Went to the theater/melodrama at the hotel and it was fun. The saloon had great drink deals and good food at fair price. The servers were dressed up and they were fun.
The hotel is right downtown, so it was easy to walk and shop. Little over a block to the train.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Titusville, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

The helpful staff, beautifully decorated rooms, good breakfast and old-time atmosphere make for good memories...... We will definitely return.

Room Tip: Each room is decorated differently
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

A well-located hotel in downtown Durango, with plenty of South-Western atmosphere. Ask for a quiet room (not above the saloon bar). The breakfast selection was fairly dismal. The staff at reception were helpful with advice on what to do/see, but other services were less than one would expect in a hotel of this price range.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angleton, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

I actually stayed here the first time with my mom and stepdad in September 2010. My husband and I stayed one night in March 2011. I absolutely love this place. The location is great, and I absolutely love the decor of the hotel. The staff was friendly, and attentive. I thought the breakfast they provided was quite nice, and really had a variety of things offered. I had a lovely cosmopolitan at the restaurant there....so delicious!!! Overall, I had a very memorable experience, and truly hope I get the chance to return!!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul, Afghanistan
Level Contributor
94 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2011

We expected disappointments, having read other reviews, but were charmed. Thank you Strater for preserving a wonderful piece of Durango's history so well. To those who claim poor value, we stayed here for half the price of a similar room in Quebec City's Chateau Frontegnac. We felt he Strater has just as much charm and a much more intimate feel.

Ok, lets start with the downside. $187 got us a very small bedroom, the smallest of the hotel's rooms. So small that it was a challenge finding places for all our luggage. There is wonderful antique furniture which unfortunately restricted the space more. There is a cupboard, but too small for any but the smallest bag - a broom closet.

That was the only negative: we loved the cute little bathroom. The room had a wonderful warm feel, and seats for two. No the TV wasn't big, but we never watched it. The service was very warm and pleasant from everyone we dealt with: an uncommon feat. The meal in the restaurant was very good too, and just dining in their booth tables was a sumptuous experience. There was an excellent pianist playing in the bar. Thank you, Strater for our memorable stay, and particular thanks to the nice people in the restaurant.

One last point, the breakfast included in the price is, as they say, a continental breakfast. But we know what that means: other reviewers may not.

Room Tip: Spend the extra for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
2.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 561 reviews
0.1 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#5 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#2 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 174 reviews
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Rio Grande Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Strater Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strater Hotel

Address: 699 Main Ave, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#6 Family Hotel in Durango
#6 Business Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strater Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1887, the historic Strater Hotel (Historic Hotels of America Member) is a prominent downtown Durango, Colorado landmark located two blocks north of the Durango & Silverton Narrow Gauge Railroad, one hour east of Mesa Verde National Park, and in the heart of the rugged San Juan Mountains. Experience the Old West, fine dining, shopping, and many year-round indoor and outdoor activities. The hotel is home to the world's largest collection of American Victorian Walnut Antiques, the Louis L'Amour Room (designated Literary Landmark), and three unique dining establishments including Mahogany Grille specializing in fine dining. For entertainment, unwind with daily live music at the Diamond Belle Saloon and The Office Spiritorium or take in a show at the world famous Henry Strater Theatre, home to the Durango Melodrama & Vaudeville (seasonal). For those wishing to create a memorable event consider Strater Catering & Events (weddings, group meetings, special events). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your Strater Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strater Hotel Durango

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strater Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.