We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a ski town....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free Shuttle & WiFi
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Durango
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Washington Court House, Ohio
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value for a ski town....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

Enjoyed our stay ...comfy king size bed, free hotel shuttle, good complimentary hot breakfast, and overall nice room. Within walking distance of the historic downtown district. Will stay there again when in Durango.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buckeyenutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We're pleased that you enjoyed your ski trip to Durango and that you stayed with us. We'd love to have you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
New Mexico
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Stayed (and will stay) at this hotel multiple times in the past 5 years. This hotel offers newer amenities than the rustic old historics on main street, and is within walking distance to all the attractions of downtown. The staff is always very polite and helpful, and have made me feel welcome on each occasion. Although not brand new by any means, this hotel has done well to take care of their property and rooms, and have recently upgraded the fitness center with nice, new equipment. The price will fluctuate depending on tourist season, but I'd certainly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiznessClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback and we are pleased that you are staying with us when you come to Durango. We are in the planning stages for a guest room renovation and will be doing a model room soon which we are very excited about. We look forward to having you stay with us again your next trip to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, New Mexico
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2011

Found the room to be blah, the bed to be very uncomfortable, and the restaurant to be marginal. Expected much more from Doubletree.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PecosRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, February 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. We apologize for the experience you had while staying with us. We've asked our maintenance staff to check out the bed in the room you stayed, most of our guests love our feather beds, down comforters etc. A few guests prefer firm beds and if we know this, we are happy to remove the feather beds, etc and provide normal bedding and a bed board under the mattress to give a firmer bed. We recently rolled out new menu's in our restaurant with more choices for our guests. We do hope that you will stay with us again to give us the opportunity to show you a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Upon arrival of booking a room with a balcony well in advance we were provided a room without a balcony that reeked like cigar smoke and had specifically asked for non smoking. We notified the front desk and their service was great as they immediately upgraded us for free to a clean room, that didn't smell, with a balcony. I must say the customer service was great. However the rooms were dated with the exception of the newer bathrooms. The hotel needs updated but the location is within a short walk to downtown. I expected more for a doubletree. Don't eat in the restaurant it is NOT worth the money with all the good restaurants a short walk away. Go to Ken and sues for dinner instead great food for the same price. The breakfast buffet was horrible. All in all it's ok and a good location but I expected more for the price and name behind doubltree 3 stars try a different hotel for the price

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snowonthepines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 19, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your feedback. We want you to know that we are rolling out new menus for our restaurant this week with more entree choices and lower prices We apologize for the reservation mixup, we are happy that we were able to upgrade you to a room that you were pleased with. You mention that our hotel needs to be updated; we want to make you aware that we are in the planning stages for a guest room renovation at this time. We do hope that you will stay with us again and give us the opportunity to show you a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mideast U.S.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Have to say my stay at the Durango Double Tree last week was stellar. Everything you'd expect from a hotel where most usually fall short.

- Fast, free, friendly airport shuttle available.
- Friendly & helpful front desk folks.
- CLEAN and very comfortable rooms. Great beds!
- Sparkling CLEAN hot tub and pool (this is usually where many resorts fail).

Only item I would have liked which was missing was a free breakfast or at least a voucher to reduce the cost of a kind of pricey $14 breakfast buffet. I'm sure it is worth it, but when you just need a quick meal before going skiing, that's a bit much.

It really is a short walk to downtown and I'll stay here again the next time I come through Durango.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kitertodd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree Hotel Durango, on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and look forward to having you stay with us again your next trip to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

You know how staff at a hotel can make traveling with children way easier or way harder? This place makes it 100000 times harder. Did you order connecting rooms way in advance? Too bad! Need help with the stroller up the stairs? Too bad! Need help with your luggage? Sorry!

Super frustrating place. I will chalk it up to the fact that it seems like none of the people who work here have kids, but they could sure care less if you do.

They really won't help you with anything... but I guess they will tell you that nicely?.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NMNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Thank you for your review of our hotel, The Doubletree Hotel Durango. We do apologize that you had a bad experience staying with us. What you experienced is definitely not up to our standards; we love having families and children staying with us! We know the difficulties of traveling with small children and encourage our staff to be helpful. We will be talking with our staff about your review reiterating the importance of helpfulness. We do hope that you will stay with us again your next trip to Durango and give us the opportunity to show you a perfect family stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

I had high hopes for this property based upon TripAdvisor reviews. The hotel didn't quite meet my expectations, however.

The staff we encountered were all very nice and helpful. We were warmly greeted and informed that all of the rooms had been recently updated with new furniture, new beds, etc. This didn't exactly prove to be true.

The carpet in our room was well-worn and in need of replacement as was upholstery. (lining hanging from underside of 1 chair). There were readily visible ink marks on the bed sheets. Deep nicks were seen on the legs of the table holding the coffee service.

The bathroom was a bright spot as it actually had been renovated and was very nice & spotlessly clean. The entire hotel appeared to be clean which is of utmost importance to me.

We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant and it was quite good, although pricey. My husband had 1 plain waffle which came with nothing else (no breakfast meat, etc.) for $11.He jokingly calculated it at $1 per bite! The river view from the dining room is spectacular.

I brought my room issues to the attention of the desk manager who was very kind and considerate. He extended us the AAA rate that we were initially told was unavailable at check-in. He assured me that he & the staff have plans to improve the property and I believe that this hotel will be a real gem once this is done.

I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Durango.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Thank you for your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We definitely are in the planning stages for some renovations at our hotel. We recently completed all the requirements to be a Green hotel which is a wonderful accomplishment for us. We want you to know that we welcome you back to our hotel any time you can come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Durango hotels
2.2 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Durango
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Durango
Hampton Inn Durango
#3 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 657 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rochester Hotel & Bar
Rochester Hotel & Bar
#2 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Strater Hotel
Strater Hotel
#6 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 767 reviews
0.2 mi away
General Palmer Hotel
General Palmer Hotel
#5 of 30 in Durango
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Durango Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing