We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly, & comfortable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
Mideast U.S.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Clean, friendly, & comfortable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2011

Have to say my stay at the Durango Double Tree last week was stellar. Everything you'd expect from a hotel where most usually fall short.

- Fast, free, friendly airport shuttle available.
- Friendly & helpful front desk folks.
- CLEAN and very comfortable rooms. Great beds!
- Sparkling CLEAN hot tub and pool (this is usually where many resorts fail).

Only item I would have liked which was missing was a free breakfast or at least a voucher to reduce the cost of a kind of pricey $14 breakfast buffet. I'm sure it is worth it, but when you just need a quick meal before going skiing, that's a bit much.

It really is a short walk to downtown and I'll stay here again the next time I come through Durango.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Thank you for reviewing our hotel, the Doubletree Hotel Durango, on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and look forward to having you stay with us again your next trip to Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    289
    73
    27
    10
See reviews for
286
325
27
104
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2011

You know how staff at a hotel can make traveling with children way easier or way harder? This place makes it 100000 times harder. Did you order connecting rooms way in advance? Too bad! Need help with the stroller up the stairs? Too bad! Need help with your luggage? Sorry!

Super frustrating place. I will chalk it up to the fact that it seems like none of the people who work here have kids, but they could sure care less if you do.

They really won't help you with anything... but I guess they will tell you that nicely?.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Thank you for your review of our hotel, The Doubletree Hotel Durango. We do apologize that you had a bad experience staying with us. What you experienced is definitely not up to our standards; we love having families and children staying with us! We know the difficulties of traveling with small children and encourage our staff to be helpful. We will be talking with our staff about your review reiterating the importance of helpfulness. We do hope that you will stay with us again your next trip to Durango and give us the opportunity to show you a perfect family stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

I had high hopes for this property based upon TripAdvisor reviews. The hotel didn't quite meet my expectations, however.

The staff we encountered were all very nice and helpful. We were warmly greeted and informed that all of the rooms had been recently updated with new furniture, new beds, etc. This didn't exactly prove to be true.

The carpet in our room was well-worn and in need of replacement as was upholstery. (lining hanging from underside of 1 chair). There were readily visible ink marks on the bed sheets. Deep nicks were seen on the legs of the table holding the coffee service.

The bathroom was a bright spot as it actually had been renovated and was very nice & spotlessly clean. The entire hotel appeared to be clean which is of utmost importance to me.

We had breakfast in the hotel restaurant and it was quite good, although pricey. My husband had 1 plain waffle which came with nothing else (no breakfast meat, etc.) for $11.He jokingly calculated it at $1 per bite! The river view from the dining room is spectacular.

I brought my room issues to the attention of the desk manager who was very kind and considerate. He extended us the AAA rate that we were initially told was unavailable at check-in. He assured me that he & the staff have plans to improve the property and I believe that this hotel will be a real gem once this is done.

I recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Durango.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Thank you for your review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We definitely are in the planning stages for some renovations at our hotel. We recently completed all the requirements to be a Green hotel which is a wonderful accomplishment for us. We want you to know that we welcome you back to our hotel any time you can come.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

We stayed in two rooms at the Doubletree in Durango. The rooms were clean and large; the balconies overlooking the river were a nice bonus. At night, we could hear the neighbors above walking, dogs down the hall barking, and the heating unit. The heating unit sounded like low flying planes all night long. Housekeeping knocked on our door two mornings at 8:10 and 8:25. Normally I have the DND card out, but even the times I have forgotten, I have never had housekeeping knock that early. The restaurant was slow but good. It is a nice place to stay in Durango if you are Hilton loyal or using points. There are a couple of historic hotels downtown that would be good for a better experience.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, the Doubletree Hotel Durango on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments. We do apologize for the noise disburbance you experienced; we were totally sold out and very busy. Normally our guests have peace and quiet but due to the busy holiday there was extra noise. We do hope that you will stay with us again your next trip to Durango and give us the opportunity to show you a perfect stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2010

We came here for Christmas with our three teens and 21-year-old. We got two adjoining rooms overlooking the Animas River. Upon arrival, everyone in our family was out on the balcony taking photos of the snowy mountain view from our room, and posting on Facebook! The beds were oh-so-comfy, the bathrooms very clean. The $14 breakfast buffet was a little disappointing...only a slight step up from budget hotels' breakfasts. But on the whole, it was pure pleasure!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, December 29, 2010
Thank you for reviewing us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind remarks and your feedback. We're pleased that you had a great family stay and we welcome you back anytime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

We stayed here for one night and it was very memorable. Can't beat the chocolate chip cookies upon check-in. We were on the 3rd floor facing the river where the kids had a great time watching the rafters go by. The room was very spacious for our family. This hotel was a bit pricey, but nothing else in the area could compare. We wanted a pool for the little ones and they thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were pleasant at check-in. We had the breakfast in the restaurant as well and the buffet was great. A little bit of everything for everyone. Our only complaint we were told the wrong room at check-in. We hauled all our gear to a room only to find the maid still cleaning. Then we had to haul our gear yet again to the other end of the hotel to the correct room. Would stay here again for sure! The next day we went rafting and the kids were so excited when we floated by and they had to point out to everyone that this was our hotel!!

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, December 8, 2010
Thank you for your review of our hotel, The Doubletree Hotel Durango. We appreciate your comments and we're pleased that you had a good stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

This hotel overlooks the Animas River. The lovely room we stayed in had sliding glass doors overlooking the river with lots of green grass for our pooch. Open the door to a little deck & grass, how nice is that when you are travelling with your dog! This was my first stay at a Doubletree & I would return. Highly recommended for a big hotel chain.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, November 17, 2010
Thank you for your review of our hotel, The Doubletree Hotel Durango.
We love dogs too! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and
we welcome you and your dog back when ever you are in Durango.

Adelle Anderson
Administrative Assistant
Doubletree Hotel Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#2 Romantic Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.