We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stop on the way to the Grand Canyon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Durango to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Durango
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X HHonors Points
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Durango
GreenLeadersGold level
Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great stop on the way to the Grand Canyon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

We stayed here for one night and it was very memorable. Can't beat the chocolate chip cookies upon check-in. We were on the 3rd floor facing the river where the kids had a great time watching the rafters go by. The room was very spacious for our family. This hotel was a bit pricey, but nothing else in the area could compare. We wanted a pool for the little ones and they thoroughly enjoyed it. The staff were pleasant at check-in. We had the breakfast in the restaurant as well and the buffet was great. A little bit of everything for everyone. Our only complaint we were told the wrong room at check-in. We hauled all our gear to a room only to find the maid still cleaning. Then we had to haul our gear yet again to the other end of the hotel to the correct room. Would stay here again for sure! The next day we went rafting and the kids were so excited when we floated by and they had to point out to everyone that this was our hotel!!

Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, December 8, 2010
Thank you for your review of our hotel, The Doubletree Hotel Durango. We appreciate your comments and we're pleased that you had a good stay with us. We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you are in Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    423
    275
    70
    25
    10
See reviews for
274
300
23
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

This hotel overlooks the Animas River. The lovely room we stayed in had sliding glass doors overlooking the river with lots of green grass for our pooch. Open the door to a little deck & grass, how nice is that when you are travelling with your dog! This was my first stay at a Doubletree & I would return. Highly recommended for a big hotel chain.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, November 17, 2010
Thank you for your review of our hotel, The Doubletree Hotel Durango.
We love dogs too! We're glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and
we welcome you and your dog back when ever you are in Durango.

Adelle Anderson
Administrative Assistant
Doubletree Hotel Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

My husband and I came to Durango for a long weekend and we were very pleased with the hotel and the location. The Doubletree is located a block from town where there is a lot of good shopping and restaurants. The hotel room was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and had all the amenities. We faced the parking lot but we had a huge room! If you book a room in the back of the hotel you have a really nice view of the Animas river. The hotel is only about 20 minutes from the Durango airport and about 1 hour from Mesa Verde National Park. The only negative thing about the hotel was the breakfast. The food was not very good. Go into town for a really good meal if you don't mind the short walk.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

This was a one night stay after a week in Pagosa Springs to catch an early flight out in the morning. I really wanted to stay at the old, elegant Strater Hotel right in the middle of downtown but was out voted by "as long as the beds aren't 'old" too"; "what about street noise?"; "they don't have a pool." Oh well...next time. As it was, the Doubletree was perfectly fine and cost a bit less than the Strater would have. The 2 rooms we had overlooked the river and walkway and were very quiet. Check-in was very efficient and friendly but the directions to our rooms..."It's probably best to park at the end of the building, enter through the end double door, take the elevator up and to the room." Well, yeah it worked...but we went in the end of the building, walked the entire corridor to the elevator and then walked almost the entire length back. It certainly would have been better to have been directed in through the main entrance since the elevators are just off the lobby. The menu in the restaurant looked good and I would have been happy to have dinner there but we wanted to take a walk and find a restaurant on Main Street which is easily accessible once you cross a 6 or 8 lane highway. They put only coffee out in the morning, and barely early enough for those of us leaving for early flights out. The rooms were very clean, the bedding comfortable. In room coffee machines are excellent and they provide real cream! The pool is pretty small and not for serious swimming. The large lobby is very comfortable with several TV's. There are two computers, each with its own printer, in the "Business Center." Overall, a very pleasant place for a not unreasonable price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, November 10, 2010
Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind remarks and pleased that you had a good stay with us. We welcome you back anytime you are in Durango.


Adelle Anderson
Adm. Asst. to the General Manager
Doubletree Hotel Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

We were passing through with a travel trailer and wound up with no place to stay due to a mix up with our campground reservation. The Doubletree was the easiest place to locate where there was both availability and room to park the rig. The desk clerk was very understanding & had us in a room quickly. We checked in after 10 PM, checked out around 8 AM and were there just long enough to shower, sleep and notice the room was next to the Animas River in the morning before departure. It was a lovely place, very plush accomodations as expected from a Doubletree. Just terribly expensive for one night's bed and bath.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, November 10, 2010
Thank you for your review of our hotel, The Doubletree Hotel Durango. We were sorry to learn of your reservation mixup at the campgrounds and happy that we could accommodate you for the night. We gladly welcome you back any time your are in Durango.

Adelle Anderson
Adm. Asst. to the General Manager
Doubletree Hotel Durango
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

The Double Tree Hotel in Durango was great! It is right across the street from the main street of the town which puts it a short walk away to a wide variety of shops and restaurants. The check in process was very smooth and the staff was super friendly. We got a free breakfast buffet or $8.95 toward a breakfast menu item because we are part of Hilton Honors, which is free so I would recommend joining before you make your reservations. The breakfast was great with lots to choose from and the waffles and made-to-order omelets were fantastic. The whole hotel was very clean and smelled nice (they shampoo the hallways once a week as far as I could tell by the smell of the cleaner in the hallway which was very nice!) The rooms were large and very clean as well! All in all, this is a nice, clean, and friendly hotel and we will definitely stay here next time we visit Durango, CO!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel, the Doubletree Hotel Durango. We're pleased that you had a good stay with us. We work hard to keep our hotel neat and clean for our guests. It was nice that you noticed. We hope you will staywith us again your next trip to Durango.

Adelle Anderson
Adm. Asst. to the General Manager
Doubletree Hotel Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2010

This hotel is amazing. It is located right next to the river. It is quiet. Service is excellent. Rooms were great, comfortable, and kid friendly. The pool was awesome - went almost every day and no one was there! Will definitely be visiting again!!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdelleAnderson, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, responded to this review, October 27, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to respond to our survey. We appreciate your kind comments about our hotel -The Doubletree Hotel Durango. We're pleased you had a good and relaxing stay with us, that's our goal for every guest. Come back and stay with us again soon.

Adelle Anderson
Adm. Asst. to the General Manager
Doubletree Hotel Durango.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Durango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Durango

Address: 501 Camino Del Rio, Durango, CO 81301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Durango
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Durango
#1 Green Hotel in Durango
#2 Family Hotel in Durango
#3 Romantic Hotel in Durango
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Durango 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel set on the banks of Animas River at Highways 160 & 550; convenient to Fort Lewis College & tourist attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hilton Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Durango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Durango
Durango Doubletree

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Durango, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.